We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quirky find”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kildonan Lodge Hotel
Ranked #11 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 November 2011

We stayed there as part of a group for a work related event. Everyone seemed to enjoy the friendly staff, the honesty bar, and the rooms were well maintained. Breakfast was a typical Scottish breakfast, but nicely served. The sitting room was cosy and welcoming, but i'm sure the Hotel Inspector might have suggested a bit of decluttering.
For value for money it was a great find, and on the bus route into Edinburgh, with a bus every few minutes. I would be happy to stay here again

Room Tip: As the hotel faces onto a busy main road it may be an idea to ask for a rear facing room, or a lodge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crew-Sing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (587)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

383 - 387 of 587 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2011

We selected this B&B because of its proximity to Pollock Halls. The location is fine. The staff is friendly and helpful. We needed a converter and they kindly lent one. We enjoyed the breakfasts but, they were not as nice as many others. As for our room, it was not what we had expected. It was on the 3rd floor and it was a bit small yet, they had a queen bed and a single for our son. In all the value was fine - just, nothing to be excited about. Will we return? I don't know. I will look around at other B&B's and see what is out there.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loventravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

A lovely hotel - great decor, very clean, with attention to detail. A frienly and warm welcome with lots of information given about the hotel and our stay. There was a complimentory decanter of sherry in the room, and the four poster bed and spa bath were fantastic. Everywhere was clean and well maintained. The breakfast was freshly prepared and service was quick, friendly and faultless. I would stay here again and would also recommend this.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank ZedAbdn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2011

Excellent,it seemed to be like coming home. This was our fourth time at the Kildonan lodge. The room was spotlessly clean and spacious and the staff were more than helpfull. We tried the full Scottish for breakfast and it was perfectly cooked and ample. The honesty bar was a real bonus after visiting the theatre and we had time to relax with a few others and talk about our annual trip to Edinburgh.
The house is an adorable Edinburgh villa with ample parking and regular busses to the nearbye city centre.
All in all a pleasant stay and we will be back.

Room Tip: Middle rooms are our favourites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2011

Good location, handy for taking the bus, but beds were uncomfortable and dinner service was very slow.

Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
Thank kels09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,898 reviews
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#8 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,438 reviews
Hotel Ceilidh-Donia
#4 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stockbridge & Dean Village
The Raeburn
The Raeburn
#2 of 151 in Edinburgh
690 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,092 reviews
West End
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#12 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kildonan Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kildonan Lodge Hotel

Address: 27 Craigmillar Park | Newington, Edinburgh EH16 5PE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#15 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#21 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: AU$129 - AU$320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kildonan Lodge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kildonan Lodge is an elegant Victorian 4* small hotel located close to Edinburgh city centre, only 1.5 miles from Princes St with frequent bus services opposite the hotel. It offers individually designed ensuite bedrooms, free wireless internet access, private car parking, full Scottish breakfasts, Mathew's Restaurant, honesty bar and a warm and friendly atmosphere. Romantic four poster beds and spa baths are also available to compliment any special occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Agoda, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Kildonan Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kildonan Hotel Edinburgh
Kildonan Lodge Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing