We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Second best to the Caledonian”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor
Ranked #119 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
376 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 768 helpful votes
“Second best to the Caledonian”
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Very close to Haymarket overland rail station. (so if you are coming by train from London, get off here and not Waverly) This Hilton is comfortable, although the carpets in the townhouse room I had were a little tired. Also only having a shower and no bath in a delux room is pretty poor. There are good bars close by, but you are better off heading to the centre of town.

The staff were good and the breakfast like most Hiltons was good. This hotel is a bargin for the price and location, and I can recommend it. Just make sure that the towel heater is on in winter

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank undercoverelephant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grosvenor_Edinburgh, General Manager at Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us.

Thank you for recommending the Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor and I am glad that overall your stay with us was enjoyable. I note your comment regarding the Townhouse carpet; all carpets and furniture were replaced in the townhouse annexe last April, when the Townhouse building received a full £1.3 million refurbishment.

I was delighted to read your comments regarding our staff – they really do go above and beyond to make every guest feel special!

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,503 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    491
    832
    649
    327
    204
See reviews for
249
987
179
616
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (388)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Nice, France
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Unless you have sleeping pills as I did do not book a single room here as you land up overlooking the main road with a lot of buses. Noisy in one word. Restaurant was not worth eating and the breakfast was dire. WIFI only available free in reception areas at £110 a night this is not aceptable.

Room Tip: Book a room at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean_Reynolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grosvenor_Edinburgh, General Manager at Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of the hotel.

I am truly sorry that your sleep was disrupted; unfortunately due to the Tram works around the city, traffic was diverted along our usually quiet street, this is something which, I’m afraid, is beyond our control, and I am sorry for the inconvenience this caused you. I can now confirm that, due to a new set of diversions, traffic is no longer being diverted along Grosvenor Street.

Wi-Fi access in the hotel is free to our guests in the lounge/lobby areas, and our Diamond and Gold Hilton honours members can enjoy this complimentary service in their room.

I am sorry that you did not get to experience our true breakfast standards; our breakfast generally receives high praise from guests especially for our chefs who cook foods to order for individual guests, I do hope that we get the chance to welcome you back in the future to put this to right.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Edinburgh hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 2nights and by the end of the 1st night we could hardly walk after sleeping in the beds there.Took us a few days afterwards to recover from it the beds very very uncomfortable especially for a hilton hotel.Also the room needing to be upgraded to get in tow with the other hilton hotels around.We have stayed in many hotels and this was the worst by far

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sitabl3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grosvenor_Edinburgh, General Manager at Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

I am sorry you found the beds to be uncomfortable – our beds are Hilton Serenity beds, they are a not too hard, not too soft variety to accommodate a wide spectrum of sleepers. All beds are equipped with mattress toppers also for added comfort, had we been made aware of your discomfort at the time of your stay with us, we would have offered an additional topper of a move.

All rooms in hotel are Hilton standard; they each have their own unique layout – rooms in the main building were refurbished in 2008 and the Townhouse annexe has just undergone a full £1.3million refurbishment in February last year. Again had we been made aware of this issue at the time of your stay last April – we would have done all we could to rectify this situation to ensure a more satisfying stay for you.

Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

I stayed here on business, close to Haymarket Train station but thats about as good as it gets, the room was on the 3rd floor, mustart coloured walls and brown covers& curtains, NO view as the 3rd floor is in the eaves of the roof, so you had to stand on a chair to see out and that was at the houses opposite. Bathroom was dirty with pubic hair round the bath ! Restaurant (breakfast) was lifeless. bar small and I didnt see many in it, reception & check-in/out - no problems so was the best part of the stay. For the money I would have stayed elsewhere. TRAM problems a joke and crossing the road is a nightmare between station and hotel

Room Tip: ask for a lower room floor if you want a view or an upgraded room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twinklestar2307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grosvenor_Edinburgh, General Manager at Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Thank you for your review.

I note your comment regarding window height on 3rd floor; windows in the hotel do get smaller the higher up the building you are, this is a characteristic of the Georgian building. Rooms on the 3rd floor are currently undergoing refreshing, had you made us aware at the time of your stay of your issues we would have offered a move to a more suitable room.

I am sorry for the cleanliness of the bathroom; I have spoken with the Head Housekeeper to ensure there is no recurrence; I must assure you that this is not our normal standards.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 March 2012

The staff in this hotel were a credit, turned up at reception at 10pm in a muddy running kit having just completed the "mighty deerstalker" in Peebles. Not a second look, after a shower straight in the bar, where they organised the boxing on TV, returned to hotel about 4am, and asked for a drink and to watch the late fight again no problem. The shower in the room was poor, but the room itself was excellent. The main comments to make though we're about the people, the staff were superb!!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Snifter44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grosvenor_Edinburgh, General Manager at Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
I was delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your kind comments with regards to the team here at the Grosvenor brought a smile to my face; it always fills me with pride when they are acknowledged for their outstanding service!
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
#56 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
West End
Mercure Edinburgh Haymarket
Mercure Edinburgh Haymarket
#67 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#12 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,301 reviews
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
West End
Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor

Property: Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor
Address: Grosvenor Street | Haymarket, Edinburgh EH12 5EF, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price range (per night): $190 - $624
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historic 1860s listed building, the Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor hotel is housed over two buildings, a main building and a townhouse building. Situated in the stylish West End of the city, our hotel is just 200 meters from Haymarket train station and offers easy access to Edinburgh's iconic attractions, from Edinburgh Castle to Princes Street and the Royal Mile and is the perfect location to explore Scotland’s capital city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Hotelopia so you can book your Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Hilton
Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing