We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Travelodge Edinburgh Learmonth
Ranked #114 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Reviewed 21 September 2017 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay here. The area is residential and very quiet yet a short bus ride to the center. The rooms are large. The initial off odor in the room disappeared after a day. The breakfast is overpriced and of poor quality. Good bed and pleasant view. Not enough housekeeping as we returned to our room late in the day only to find it hadn't been serviced yet. I would stay here again.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank fehlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from the Social Media team at Travelodge Edinburgh Learmonth, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We are so pleased to learn that you were pleased with the service you received, however we would like to apologise that your room was not serviced during your stay and we are sorry to learn of your disappointment with the breakfast you had in our bar cafe.

Please rest assured we will pass on your feedback to the Hotel, so it may be looked into further. Thank you again for your review and we do hope this has not deterred you from staying with us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (396)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 396 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2017

Love the location of this Travelodge just minutes away from beautiful Stockbridge in one direction and Edinburgh city centre in the other.

Service was very good as it has been at other Travelodge hotels I've stayed at. This one also has a bar and restaurant tucked away on the lower level. We didn't try it out but the breakfast smelt just fantastic. (We opted instead to breakfast at Greggs on Shandwick place and save a few quid.)

Our room was on the lower ground floor, and there was no view. We only wanted the bedroom for sleeping in so lack of view was no hardship. But there were some loud noises outside in the afternoon - the area outside that bedroom's window must be used for deliveries and whatnot. This noise was only sporadic, and only in the afternoon, so again not a hardship, But if I stayed here again I'd opt for a room higher up in the building.

Other stuff. The soap in both the shower and bathroom dispensers wasn't great, In fact, it was possibly even worse than what you get at Premier Inn. Also, there was no bog brush. I doubt I'm alone in having the bodily functions that necessitate the use of a bog brush. Why do UK hotels so often not have them?

All in all - really enjoyed my stay here. The staff were brilliant, and the location is top notch. Room was extremely clean, bed linen was crisp and fresh.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iantovecta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017

We spent 3 nights here and apart from a wasp nest outside our window(reported) all was fine. We wanted to returned a week later for 1 night. This you can only do online so had to pay for wifi and it cost £40 more despite empty hotel. On return to the same room the wasps were still there, the bed had not been changed (except clean duvet cover) there was blood on the pillows and masses of black hairs on the dirty sheet. I removed the quilt cover to have something clean to sleep on only to find the quilt itself was so badly stained it was only fit for the bin. The last straw was when the fire alarm went off at 2.30 am!!

Room Tip: The top floor room had a fabulous view from the back of the hotel. Lovely quiet and classy area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank alistevens2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Charlotte from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Edinburgh Learmonth, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

Thank you for submitting your review of our Edinburgh Learmonth Travelodge. We're so sorry to hear about your recent experience and would like to hear more about your stay. May we kindly request you contact us via our website with your review so our customer service team can investigate your visit with the hotel. Thank you again for posting your comments and we hope to hear from you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017

The hotel was well presented, clean, and comfortable. A bit pricey though, I paid £69 for one night, but Edinburgh isn't cheap. If you're coming to the city and can operate through a hostel, got really should. If a hostel won't due though, the Travelodge is a nice hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank 118janelles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017

We happened to be visiting during a part of the major festival weekend so hotels were a lot more expensive than normal. After looking around for a while, we ended up booking this place for the great price (30 day advance booking rate on their site) and convenient location within walking distance to the center. We stayed 3 nights and felt it was a very good deal.

The walk from the center is about 10-15 mins depending on where you're going. It's closest to the west end and there are lots of great cafes on the way. The location is great because it's in a beautiful tree-lined residential area and feels like a very nice neighborhood. In fact, the hotel is located in a beautiful older building.

The amenities are very basic, but that's all we wanted. Most importantly the room was new and clean. The bedding is comfortable, white and brand new. The bathroom is a decent size. The only improvement would be an addition of a shower door vs. a curtain that gets water on the floor.

Our room was a double located on the ground floor and facing the back, so it was very quiet. The ground floor is also higher than normal, so it feels like you're on the 2nd floor.

I think this hotel offers a good value and would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: facing the back and end of the hall quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank smartcooki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Travelodge Edinburgh Haymarket Hotel
New Town
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Queen Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
No photo provided
Travelodge Edinburgh Dreghorn
#117 of 151 in Edinburgh
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Edinburgh Learmonth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Edinburgh Learmonth

Address: 18-20 Learmonth Terrace, Edinburgh EH4 1PW, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range: $75 - $234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Edinburgh Learmonth 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hooroo Pty Ltd, Expedia APAC, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelodge Hotels Ltd and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Travelodge Edinburgh Learmonth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Edinburgh Learmonth Hotel Edinburgh
Learmonth Hotel Edinburgh
Travelodge Edinburgh Learmonth Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing