We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Dunstane Hotel
Nearby Hotels
USD 181*
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
USD 214*
USD 163*
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Fraser Suites Edinburgh(Edinburgh)
USD 207*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Grassmarket Hotel(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
USD 225*
USD 201*
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
USD 174*
USD 153*
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
USD 287*
USD 269*
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
The Scotsman Hotel(Edinburgh)
USD 234*
USD 177*
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
The Place(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
USD 147*
USD 124*
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
USD 181*
USD 110*
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
USD 166*
USD 154*
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,453)
Filter reviews
1,453 results
Traveller rating
991
339
81
25
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
991
339
81
25
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsskerries restaurantmolton brown toiletriessister hotel across the roadcity centremain buildingboutique hotelluxury roomlovely hotelbus stop rightfour poster bedminute walknespresso machinehaymarket stationkippersbusy roadhonesty barbreakfast was excellent
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 1,453 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had an absolutely perfect stay at Dunstane House. The rooms were so comfortable and quiet (not to mention gorgeous!). The food and drinks were delicious and the staff were helpful and nice! With public transportation just steps away, it was easy to get to downtown. We will definitely stay here on our next trip to Edinburgh. 5+ stars!

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ClariceC68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DunstaneManager, Manager at The Dunstane Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi there ClariceC68

Thank you so much for that WONDERFUL review, I am absolutely thrilled that we lived up to all your expectations and you had a great stay with us. It's great that we are now your hotel of choice in Edinburgh! What a compliment! I look forward to meeting you personally on your next visit.

Best wishes,

Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had high expectations from reviews on Dunstane houses. We were not disappointed. It’s one of the best places we’ve stayed to date. It’s clear to see there was no expense spared on the decor and furnishings. The rooms were decorated to a high standard. The hospitality and warm welcome from all staff was fantastic from the moment we arrived till we left. Easily accessible by taxi or bus. The 100 bus is right outside airport and stops right outside hotel. We are sorry we didn’t get everyone’s name but special thanks to Shaun and Laura for showing us around when we checked out. I can’t praise all the staff enough.

It’s the only place we’d stay when returning to Edinburgh.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Breda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DunstaneManager, Manager at The Dunstane Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi there Breda

Thank you so much for that wonderful feedback! I am so happy that you decided to stay with us and we lived up to your expectations! I really hope we can welcome you again at The Dunstane Houses.

Best wishes

Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Good location with parking at the rear. 10 to 15 minutes walk to the Castle. Good quality hotel with excellent staff. Great breakfast and super whisky bar. Plan to come back to watch the rugby next year so will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The wee double is fine for small people but larger folk may find it too much of a squeeze
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DunstaneManager, Manager at The Dunstane Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi there Ian S

Thank you very much for your review. Rugby weekends are great fun here at The Dunstane and I look forward to welcoming you here for the next one!

Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Room full of extras that made it special, stayed in the Hampton House across the street, really yummy food, just a short bus ride into the Royal Mile. Very friendly staff. If there was one bummer it would be that I would have liked being within walking distance to the Royal Mile, but again, just a short bus ride.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Scott N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DunstaneManager, Manager at The Dunstane Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi there Scott

Thank you so much for such a positive review I am really glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am sorry the location was not 100% for you - we do try to be as clear as possible as to where we are located when guests are booking with us so you can choose the hotel that suits you best - I hope you enjoyed the lovely walk into town as well though! I hope we can welcome you again soon to The Dunstane Houses.

Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We had a wonderful 3 nights stay at the Dunstane house during a mini weekend getaway. The property was lovely, with a great bar and sitting room area, complete with fireplace, was great for cocktails and relaxing after a day out exploring. Our king room was well appointed, and plenty of room to move around and for storing our two large suitcases. The staff was professional and exceptionally nice; special thank you to Caroline, Andrew, Sean and Jeannie who took great care of us and provided some awesome recommendations for places to go see and eat. We travel a lot, and the Dunstane was one of the few places we have stayed where we genuinely enjoyed the property and hanging out there was part of the fun instead of just somewhere to sleep. Highly recommend, and will absolutely stay here again when we find ourselves back in Edinburgh

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Brooke A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DunstaneManager, Manager at The Dunstane Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Brooke A

Thank you so much for such a wonderful recommendation. The guys front of house will be delighted that you felt so relaxed and comfortable here. We do like to help as much as possible with personal recommendations and I am so pleased you benefited from this. I hope we can welcome you again when you are next in Edinburgh.

Best wishes,

Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews