We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Served a purpose” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Apex Haymarket Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Apex Haymarket Hotel
Ranked #72 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Served a purpose”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

Chosen for location and price for a business trip. Not the cleanest of rooms, dust on frames etc and bathroom grout atc needed cleaning. Water in fridge nice touch especially as no a/c and windows open only a miniscule amount. The fan provided helps marginally not alot. Beakfast service was slow and only 6 others in restaurant maybe they should consider a buffet style affair as many of the guests are business users and havent always got 30 minutes to wait for a slice of bacon, a sausage and a fried egg. The choice of continental breakfast items i found underwhelming and they could have done with some bread rolls, cold meats etc. The staff were always courteous check in was efficient, free parking handy but limited, free wifi reception was good. Have stayed in worse places for more money so overall the stay was good and would stay again (if the weather is cool)

Room Tip: If it's warm Ask for a corner room, you get more windows to open
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WWtravalla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

984 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    354
    419
    138
    54
    19
See reviews for
90
424
62
200
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Man
Level Contributor
121 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

Booked two rooms for self and friend for a rugby game. On arrival, the receptionist couldn't find my booking. For some reason, despite booking it myself and paying for it myself, the hotel's booking computer had logged it in friends name. Once initial confusion cleared, we checked in ok.

Room was on the small side but was perfectly adequate for self and Mrs Baps. There was a slight musty smell from the bathroom but it was otherwise clean. We soon discovered that the bathroom had no extractor fan - which accounts for the damp smell.

The hotel had some building work going on which meant that the bar was a temporary affair and the breakfast room was the same. There was a letter from the manager in the room apologising for the disruption however no mention of this was made when booking, nor was it mentioned in the pre arrival email.

Breakfast was very good. Self service buffet with cereals, fruit, meat, bread & cheese. Full cooked breakfast (with delicious haggis) served at your table. Plenty of options too if you didn't fancy the full monty.

Free wi-fi was good and much appreciated.

While it wasn't important to us, there is no view of Edinburgh Castle from the hotel - no matter what the website says!!

Finally, the only grumble was that on Friday night someone was sick at the foot of the outside steps leading to the bar. This was still there when we left on Sunday. Most likely culprits were the English (who else) stag party - although to be fair to them, we didn't see or hear them after they checked in so it could have simply been a random passer by.

The room was very hot at night and as we were only on the first floor, leaving a window open wasn't a viable option.

Room Tip: Go for height. The higher floor the better as if you need to open a window, the higher rooms will be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank piebaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

Recently stayed here three nights on a girls weekend. Although the hotel is small the rooms were very comfortable. The small touches were really nice - a proper hairdryer supplied for once, Elemis toiletries, LCD TV, steam iron and ironing board. Beds were very comfortable. Breakfast selection was very good and well cooked. Staff were very friendly. It is a short walk to Princes Street approx 15 mins. Hotel was being renovated while we were their but did not interfer with our stay in any way. After a night out in Grassmarket the staff in their sister hotel kindly called us a cab and allowed us to wait in comfort even though we had not spent any time in the hotel. Cannot praise Apex enough and will use this chain again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Audrey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights over a long weekend in March. On entering the hotel it was not very inviting. Decor dark and dull corridors and breakfast room also painted in dark colours. No where to sit whilst checking in.

However, all this might not have mattered if service had been better. We did not feel well received at reception. Also although we were officially put in a non smoking room the room had clearly been used for smoking and my husband and I woke up with headaches and sore throats in the morning. We were given another room but no apology made.
The on the second day at breakfast 10 minutes after ordering I was told the there was no syrup for the pancakes. I therefore ordered an omlette. 30 mins after originally ordering no omlette. I asked a waitress what had happened but she wouldn't answer. I walked out in disgust.
To be fair our room was OK and bed comfortable but bathroom contained the smallest bath I have ever been in!
We loved Edinburgh but we will not go back to this hotel. Would also look for somewhere more central another time.

Room Tip: If you wat non smoking make sure it really is non smoking
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 883sallyanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bourne Lincs
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

We stayed here for a Friday night game at Murrayfield, which is a short walk away. The recptionist was excellent and made sure we new about the discounted food offer. All the desk staff during our stay were friendly and helpful. The room was small but had everything we needed. Large king sized bed, plenty of twoel and pillows, Bottled water was replenished during our stay, good choice of teas, coffees, chocolate etc. The only negative point was how poor the restauarnt staff are. Unfriendly and unhelpful in the evening. Food in the restaurant was good but was spoilt by dreadful service, even though we were the only people in the restaurant.

Room Tip: Avoid the front of the hotel and rooms near the lift which would be.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BourneTravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh
West End
Leonardo Hotel Edinburgh City Centre (Haymarket)
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#13 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Mercure Edinburgh Haymarket
Mercure Edinburgh Haymarket
#55 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#39 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,809 reviews
Southside & Holyrood
Edinburgh City Hotel
Edinburgh City Hotel
#25 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex Haymarket Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex Haymarket Hotel

Property: Apex Haymarket Hotel
Address: 90 Haymarket Terrace, Edinburgh EH12 5LQ, Scotland (Formerly Apex European Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price range (per night): $112 - $377
Hotel Class:3 star — Apex Haymarket Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, friendly hotel situated at the west end of city center; minutes to the main shopping streets and entertainment district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia APAC and Booking.com so you can book your Apex Haymarket Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex European Edinburgh
Hotel Apex European
Apex Haymarket Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing