We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Apex Haymarket Hotel
Ranked #72 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
116 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Very good Hotel”
Reviewed 30 January 2012

I enjoyed my stay very much. It is very well located, even more if you happen to rent a car on the Thrifty car rental of Haymarket rail station. The staff is very friendly. Just watch out for the parking, it is paid!! I parked the car just near the hotel entrance at night, and when I woke up at 9AM I already had a police holding his pen... fortunately, I ran fast enough to take the car before he started writing the ticket :)

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoaoTRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,021 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    365
    438
    144
    55
    19
See reviews for
92
439
67
207
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Perhaps a year ago, i would have thought this hotel was fine, however, i think after staying in some fantastic hotels all over europe for this price my standards have changed. The Apex is very average, the outside of the hotel and the lobby are very unappealing, the staff member who greeted us was quite rude, the room service was just awful! Do not order room service here! The beds looked lovely but were sinky in the middle and very uncomfortable. The location is not ideal, it is on a very boring street with no decent eateries close by at all. We dont mind walking, so it was fine, probably a 20min walk to Prince Street. I would not recommend this hotel to a friend or family memberor to you!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brooke l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2012

We stayed here with some family for two nights and found the location good, very nice rooms and very friendly staff. We ony ate breakfast here and found it very good.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SeanLimerick_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
78 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

Found the hotel staff to be very helpful from the moment I checked in until I departed. The room was certainly very clean and comfortable. I had an accessible room and pulled the emergency cord while searching for the light and the staff reacted immediately.

Breakfast was good but did not try any other food.

Decent walk into town but saying that it was not too bad.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2011

We had plans on staying just one night and meeting up with a friend, so we called at the hotel early and staff seemed very helpful, I informed them we would be back quite late and they took our names but we were not able to check in yet as it was too early.
Upon our return at 8 30pm we tried to book in, there was two staff on reception but I waited 25 minutes to be checked in due to both of them being unable to program a key (Swipe card) for me I dont know why this is only done when checking in, surely the keys should be set and ready in the morning for a speedy check-in!
After we got the key off to the room and all seemed well, it looked clean and well maintained and the bed was a comfy king size.
Unfortunately our plan was an early night so we could get up early and have a full day in Edinburgh, BUT at 11 50pm we were woken by a loud screeching noise, after a few minutes I figured out the noise was coming from the plumbing! if the cold taps were turned on the noise would stop but if you turned the hot taps it got worse.
Obviously I could not leave the cold tap running as this would keep us awake anyway so after about ten minutes the noise was still going I went to reception to complain, the staff on duty knew the problem was down to the plumbing and offered me another room, I went to look at this other room and it was smaller and only had a double bed unlike the king size in our original room, so for my inconvenience I was woken up by an issue that reception already knew about, (Why was something not done before I needed to complain if they knew about it?) asked to change rooms in the middle of the night and then effectively downgraded to an inferior room! not exactly what I would expect, if anything they should be looking to put me in to the best room they have not something smaller.
I went back to the original room to talk to my wife and discuss what we should do, just leaving and going to Premier Inn was an option but as I was there the noise started to fade and then stopped after it shrieking for 25 minutes.
I waited then decided to stay in the room and hope the noise did not return, I told reception I was not happy to take the other room as it was smaller and he did not seem bothered one way or the other about it.
In the morning I made it clear I was not happy and even showed the Manager a video of the problem and it is clear that this was unacceptable, He has assured me the issue will be dealt with and asked me to email him the video so he can show the maintenance exactly what the issue is, this has been done and I just hope he is true to his word and no other customer needs to have a restless night like we did.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomascooked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#14 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,303 reviews
West End
Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Mercure Edinburgh Haymarket
Mercure Edinburgh Haymarket
#64 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#39 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex Haymarket Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex Haymarket Hotel

Property: Apex Haymarket Hotel
Address: 90 Haymarket Terrace, Edinburgh EH12 5LQ, Scotland (Formerly Apex European Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price range (per night): $153 - $439
Hotel Class:3 star — Apex Haymarket Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within easy reach of Edinburgh city centre, Murrayfield Rugby Stadium and Edinburgh Airport, Apex Haymarket Hotel, is the perfect base for both business and leisure stays. All rooms are stylish and modern featuring luxurious Elemis toiletries, an LCD TV and complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi. Traditional British and international dishes are on offer at Metro West End Restaurant, the ideal place to catch up with friends or watch the world go by outside. If you’ve got a late finish or early start, 24-hour room service is available to suit your schedule. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Apex Haymarket Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex European Edinburgh
Hotel Apex European
Apex Haymarket Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing