We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in great prices from these sites
Expedia.comUSD 410
Hotels.comUSD 410
PricelineUSD 411
TravelocityUSD 410
CheapTicketsUSD 410
Orbitz.comUSD 410
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,434)
Filter reviews
1,434 results
Traveller rating
1,195
143
52
28
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,195
143
52
28
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rhubarb restaurant tapestry room owners suite benjamin franklin bottle of champagne arthur's seat stunning hotel birthday treat city centre wedding luxury scotland alan castle
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 1,434 reviews
Reviewed 17 December 2020

Thank you to the Manager and all the staff of Prestonfield House Hotel.
My daughter’s wedding reception was held here in October during
very difficult times for the hotel. They could have cancelled but they
didn’t instead they made sure we had a lovely time. We felt safe and the hotel
followed all the strict safety Covid rules. The hotel is steeped in history and we just loved it.
Our small party stayed for two nights. We booked the Leather Room for drinks and canapés.
Our wedding meal reception was in the Stuart Room which was just magical with dimmed lights
and flickering candles. We had two fantastic waiters and the service was outstanding. The food
was beautiful. We had some vegan dishes and the flavours were the best I have ever tasted.
It was a truly lovely wedding.

Date of stay: October 2020
1  Thank Roseylov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2020 via mobile

Everything is opulent and dripping with splendour, like some kind of cross between an Oscar Wildian parlour and a Scottish Laird’s house. The staff can’t do enough for you. And there’s a cat called Raven. Gets my vote

Date of stay: November 2020
2  Thank alexhX3119TZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2020

We are frequent visitors to Edinburgh. However, this time we opted for a change from the hustle and bustle of the city centre or Leith. What a good decision that turned out to be. Surrounded by well tended gardens and a golf course, the hotel was very peaceful. Our bedroom, very comfortable. Above all, the unparalleled Scots service and hospitality made for a great stay and we very much look forward to going back.

Date of stay: September 2020
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank A4111VEianw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2020

Another wonderful visit despite our COVID 19 situation . It was a different experience . But , the running of the hotel was faultless and so safe . Felt as safe as houses . Rhubarb was better than ever and totally adored every offering . Staff were super friendly and tried their hardest to make us feel totally secure . Once again a huge thank you to you all .

Date of stay: September 2020
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank K6281CUlindac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2020

Went for afternoon tea yesterday and can only say it was very poor quality. I have had much much better elsewhere for a quarter of the price. Extremely disappointing. The scones were so hard we could hardly eat but as we were both hungry we ate as we skipped breakfast. We could actually hear the people at the next table ‘crunching’ their scones. The cakes didn’t seem fresh either. Just not really acceptable. Ordered a portion of chips as sandwiches didn’t fill us up and for 7 chips they charged £4.95. They had no saivignon by the glass and a light red wine was £11 for a small glass. All in all I wouldn’t recommend at all. The bill came to £159 which is an awful lot for afternoon tea!! Not impressed.

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
4  Thank BackPacker496638
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews