We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Jurys Inn Edinburgh
Ranked #114 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 22 May 2012

If you're looking for a place to stay in Edinburgh, this is one of them. Here you're paying for the location: a block from Waverly Station and a stone's throw from the Royal Mile. But other than that, it's a very average hotel (think a Hamption Inn in the U.S.). I read on other reviews that the rooms were cold which was true of our room too...for the price you think they could pay the heating bill. The hotel bar is nothing special; you pay a little more for drinks and the pub grub isn't anything to write home about. The breakfast buffet was great and allowed us to load up on the day so we could go without lunch to save a few $$'s on our trip. Overall this hotel worked for us since we wanted to be near the action and only really needed a place to rest our heads at night. If you're looking for luxury/value over location, you may want to consider other options.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OutSyder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,055)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,105 - 3,109 of 4,056 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2012

We stayed over a week end, it was too expensive, room was cold, they gave us a plug in heater.The front of the hotel overlooked the railway station, so you can imagine the noise all night.
no atmosphere in lounge/bar,no entertainment, food was typical pub grub made in deep fat fryer, overall I would not recomend to anybody.
The only good bit was the location in centre of town

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bernadete f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Stayed 3 nights in Jurys Inn last week. Jurys Inn is in a very central location opp Waverly Rail Station, 5 mins from Airport Bus terminal and Princes St. Royal Mile is about 50 yds up the steps and path to the rear of the hotel.Had dinner on first night and B&B the other days. Dinner for three of us was good and the service was excellent. I must say that it was only after 6 pm and the dining room was almost empty ! Room 426 on 4 th floor in the front of the hotel was comfortable and clean. Brakfast was good, full English/Irish, self service of course. The Dining Room can be very busy around 9 am. Breakfast is from 7 am to 10 and to 11 am on Sat- Sunday. Staff very friendly and efficient. Overall we were happy with our stay and found no cause of complaint. Would stay there again.

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms in front have excellent views and are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Askive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2012

the hotel was about 5mins walk from train station & right in town! its a little run down, but the rooms were a good size. the only down fall they did not have free wifi. you could go to any coffee shop & get a cup of coffee & have free wifi, but really your paying alot more for the hotel so the wifi should be provided...other than that there was nothing great or bad about the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beachblondegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2012 via mobile

I recently stayed for 1 night as was down in Edinburgh on business. After checking in I headed up to my bedroom and went to sit on the edge of the bed only to find the bottom half of the base was snapped on half. How the housekeeping hadn't noticed this I'll never know!

After changing rooms I went to order room service only to find out I had to go down stairs to collect it myself. I was more shocked to find in the lift down they actually advertise this as a relaxing way to finish the day after a long day in the office. I can tell you there is nothing relaxing about trying to carry a tray with two courses and a drink with one hand while you struggle to get your room key to operate the lift with the other. Unfortunately after all my efforts the food was very basic and I ended up only having a few mouthfuls.

To make things worse I never received an alarm call in the morning, luckily the morning trains nearby woke me up leaving me only 15 mins late for my work.

I sincerely hope that all other jury's inn are to a higher standard. I for one won't be taking the risk!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dals13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#45 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,563 reviews
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#54 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,677 reviews
Old Town
The Scotsman Hotel
The Scotsman Hotel
#84 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Edinburgh

Been to Jurys Inn Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jurys Inn Edinburgh

Address: 43 Jeffrey St., Edinburgh EH1 1DH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: $115 - $405 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Jurys Inn Edinburgh 3*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jurys Inn Edinburgh is located in the heart of Edinburgh's beautiful Old Town next to the famous Royal Mile and a 2 minute walk from Waverly Train Station. Prince's Street and Edinburgh Castle are a pleasant 10-15 minute walk away. Whether visiting for sight-seeing, shopping or business at the International Conference Centre, choosing Jurys Inn Edinburgh guarantees all your destinations are within easy reach. The hotel features an all day Costa Coffee bar and a stylish onsite bar to relax in after an eventful day in the city. Enjoy a great selection of seasonal food and drink in our trendy restaurant which is open from 6:30am to 10:00am for breakfast and 6:00pm to 10:00pm for dinner. If arriving by car, public car parking is available nearby at Waverley Station car park. The hotel has 186 comfortable bedrooms that can accommodate up to 3 adults or 2 adults and 2 children. All bedrooms are furnished with large soft beds, spacious bathrooms with complimentary toiletries, a hair dryer, flat screen TV with Freeview and Free WiFi. Guests who book directly with us can enjoy Free Premium WiFi, our best price guarantee and can earn points and get rewards with our loyalty programme Jurys Rewards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotelopia so you can book your Jurys Inn Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jurys Inn Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
Jurys Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Jurys Hotel
Jurys Inn Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing