We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely marvellous”
Review of The Howard

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Howard
Ranked #12 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
West Midlands
Level Contributor
165 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Absolutely marvellous”
Reviewed 3 April 2012

A recent one night visit for the first time saw all of my party bowled over by the quality of this fine hotel. We had the oportuntiy to have suites which were absolutely wonderfully presented. The attention to detail was second to none and the service first rate. A return trip is definitely required to make the most of the facilities, the location and the atmosphere of this hotel. Fresh morning tea brought to your room by butlers - wonderful, not for them the ubiquitous kettle and tray! Butlers have very good local knowledge and were most helpful.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chateau57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at The Howard, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
Another wonderful review - our Junior and Terraced suites are fantastically spacious and luxurious rooms, I am glad you had the opportunity to experience one of them. We look forward to welcoming you back again for your return visit where we can promise more of the same; great service, without a kettle in sight!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

776 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    574
    120
    40
    28
    14
See reviews for
101
449
36
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

I took my wife to the Howard for four nights and have to say it is the best hotel either of us have ever stayed in. The butler service is fantastic in fact all of the staff were superb very attentive but not intrusive. When we arrived we given tea and homemade shortbread in the drawing room while our bags were taken to our room, when we were taken to our room we were amazed at how spacious it was and decorated beautifully. I cannot recommend this hotel any higher everything about it oozes quality.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jrwstokes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at The Howard, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to leave such a positive review, we really do pride ourselves on the quality and attentiveness of our service and I am pleased to hear that you found all members of the team to be helpful. Our butlers enjoy delivering a check-in experience which lets you relax and unwind as soon as you arrive - even before you get to the room!

I shall pass your comments onto the team and we all hope to welcome you back to The Howard in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 March 2012

The staff arranged for me to have a massage in my room and I can honestly say I think it was the best massage I have ever had.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mags66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at The Howard, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
Very pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay and that you were able to take advantage of some of the many 'extras' our Guest Services team are able to arrange. I have passed your compliments onto the masseur, who was delighted to hear such positive feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

My second stay at the Howard. Room lovely and the butler service is fantastic. Nothing is too much trouble.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at The Howard, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
Dear Stuart,
Fantastic to have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Howard once again, very pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay. Do hope you will visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northeast
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

What a beautiful hotel, we spent 2 nights here for our wedding anniversary and it was wonderful. It is ultimate luxury and comfort. The staff are welcoming and efficient. We stayed in the Charlotte room and it was spotlessly clean, spacious and elegant. This hotel is a real treat.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Charlotte and it was gorgeous
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GazzadfcNortheast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at The Howard, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
Thank you for your kind review, delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay in one of our luxurious Junior Suites and that you were well looked after by our team. We very much look forward to welcoming you on a return visit to The Howard in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,784 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,676 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
24 Royal Terrace
24 Royal Terrace
#6 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
West End
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#10 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,036 reviews
Stockbridge & Dean Village
Nira Caledonia
Nira Caledonia
#15 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Howard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Howard

Property: The Howard
Address: 34 Great King Street, Edinburgh EH3 6QH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#9 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#14 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#19 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price range (per night): $271 - $576
Hotel Class:5 star — The Howard 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Howard is a small and discreet hotel which occupies three Georgian houses. A classically elegant hotel both outside and in, it has just 18 luxury rooms and suites. Located by Waverley train station, situated just off Princes Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Otel, TravelClick, Agoda, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Howard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Howard Hotel Edinburgh
Howard Hotel Edinburgh
Howard Edinburgh
The Howard Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing