We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic 2nd stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Ranked #58 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 2 March 2017 via mobile

Decided after a great overnight stay here before christmas to visit the Waldorf again for a couple of nights. Best thing about it was the fact we got the exact same room again with its fantastic veiws of the castle. Service was 1st class from start to finish and would most definitely stsy here again on a future trip to Edinburgh.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Rury_Glasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMWAEdi, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2017

Dear Rury_Glasgow,

Thank you for sharing your comments and for choosing to return to us.

We were delighted to have you here with us once again and that it was another memorable experience. Your feedback is much appreciated and we already look forward to welcoming you back a third time.

Please be sure to book directly through our website - waldorfastoriaedinburgh.com - for the best deals and exclusive offers.

Best regards,

Dale MacPhee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,872)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

581 - 585 of 3,872 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2017 via mobile

Stayed here 2 nights end of Feb in the king premier with view room.
Fantastic room fab view of the castle beautiful big bed and comfortable lovely spacious bathroom.
Breakfast was a buffet style really well presented lots of choice to suit everyone, the food was excellent
Staff were very friendly and helpful cannot find fault with anything, would highly recommend this hotel

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank darren b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMWAEdi, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2017

Dear darren b,

Thank you very much for your recent stay and for your excellent feedback.

It was a pleasure to have had you here with us and it is wonderful to learn of your thorough enjoyment of your stay from start to finish.

I look forward to welcoming you back for another memorable experience and I trust you travelled home safely.

Best regards,

Dale MacPhee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2017

I spend a night here the service from the moment that I checked in though the whole stay was really good, rooms are spacious and the view of the castle is amazing!
Breakfast was very tasty and good variety.
Also i used the swimming pool and the sauna, very relaxing after a long day and first thing in the morning.
Concierge was really good helping me booking a hairdresser in the area.
Over all one of the best places i stayed in Edinburgh

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Angelica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMWAEdi, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2017

Dear Angelica C,

Many thanks for choosing us for your recent stay and for taking the time to share your feedback.

I am delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us from your arrival experience, to your room, the stunning view of Edinburgh Castle, breakfast, our Spa facilities and the service you received from our team. I will be sharing your much appreciated comments with everyone here at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian and we all look forward to welcioing you back.

Best regards,

Dale MacPhee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2017

We stayed here when it was the Caledonian Hilton, back in 2012. It is in a wonderful location, close to many charming areas to visit in the downtown core. We had the appartment on the highest floor (booked directly through hotel website), and had the most spectacular view of double rainbows overlooking the churches, valleys, and seeing green for miles. Loved this hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank florida078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMWAEdi, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2017

Dear florida078,

We are delighted you enjoyed your return stay with us. The Caledonian indeed offers unique views of Edinburgh Castle and the city, and I am happy to hear you had the chance to witness such a picturesque scene.

Thank you for your kind comments and we shall be happy to welcome you back on your next visit.

Best regards,

Dale MacPhee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2017

Lessons in Leadership:
Just come back from Edinburgh where I stayed at the Waldorf Astoria, my wife ordered a coffee when it arrived it was not to her taste the restaurant manager replaced the coffee immediately and apologised to her, his words prompted me to write this.
He said “I am sorry for the experience you have had it should not have happened”
How many companies today focus on customer experience compared to shareholder dividends and profit margins?
I know that I will be back at the Waldorf Astoria to sample more wonderful experiences, the whole team at the Waldorf are committed to giving the customer, ‘The Waldorf Astoria Experience’.
I will certainly return to the Waldorf Astoria it was the whole experience that ensured I would return, resulting in more shareholder dividend and a better profit margin.
Think customer experience first, shareholder dividend and a better profit margin will automatically follow.
I believe that people who give their best automatically give their most.
Thank you to every member of the Waldorf Astoria team, first class all the way.

Stayed: February 2017
Thank L3188TOjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMWAEdi, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2017

Dear L3188TOjohn,

Many thanks for your wonderful review following your stay with us.

I am delighted to read that our team truly enhanced your visit and I will be sure to share your comments with everyone here.

I trust you travelled home safely and I already look forward to welcoming you back for an unforgettable experience.

Best regards,

Dale MacPhee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#13 of 151 in Edinburgh
4,011 reviews
West End
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
#19 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,977 reviews
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian

Address: Princes Street, Edinburgh EH1 2AB, Scotland (Formerly Caledonian Hilton Edinburgh Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#7 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#13 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#30 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#33 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#33 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: $176 - $834 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian 5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, or the "Caley" as it has become affectionately known among Edinburgh folk, was and still is the epitome of style and excellence. The large, rose-coloured Permian sandstone facade, quarried in Dumfries, dominates the skyline of the city's west end. The hotel has not only remained a focal point for more than one hundred years, but a symbol of the very best of Scottish hospitality. The Caley's pivotal position at the very heart of Edinburgh has always been its greatest asset. Created out of the 19th century railway boom, the five star hotel is looking to the future with confidence and pride in its ability to keep pace with the times. The hotel's reputation is as justified now as it was when the hotel first opened its doors in 1903. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hilton EMEA, Ctrip TA, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, Agoda, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton International Edinburgh
Hilton Edinburgh
Edinburgh Hilton
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing