We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit disappointed by the hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Ranked #58 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 8 January 2013

The hotel is in a good position in the West End of Edinburgh. Our room did not have a view of the castle and overlooked some offices. I could see into the office and not sure if they could see in the room. The is only a curtain, so if it is open people can see in.

The room was a king room but was very small. Two of us couldn't walk about at the same time. The tv was also strangely placed in the corner which you couldn't see from one side of the bed.

Heating in the room was from air conditioning which was very noisy - no chance of sleeping if it was switched on. The floors also creaked whenever anyone walked past outside.

The bathroom was quite large but only had heating from a towel rail so was cold. The bath seemed a poor quality for a top notch hotel. Towels and bedding were of a great quality.

Service from staff was friendly. Did have an issue with the Internet not working and was resolved by giving another voucher.

Breakfast was ok.

For the rates they were charging I would expect a lot more.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Colin10779
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHiltonCaledonian, Guest Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2013

Dear guest,

thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. Unfortunately however, you have obviously departed feeling somewhat unsatisfied with your overall experience, and I would like to apologise for the inconvenience which has been caused. With regards to the castle view rooms, these are allocated according to availability and in line with our business levels within the hotel. I can only apologise for the noise issue mentioned from the air-conditioning unit, and I will arrange for our maintenance team to investigate further as this is certainly not the standard that we aim to provide our guests.

Moreover, should you wish to provide us with more feedback directly, I would appreciate if you would contact Robin Stewart, our Director of Business Development as it is only through your feedback that we can improve on the service that we provide for our guests. Robin can be contact on 0131 2228890, or alternatively via e-mail to robin.stewart@waldorfastoria.com.

Kind regards,

Chris Logan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,872)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3,459 - 3,463 of 3,872 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2013

Having booked on booking.com i received a phone call from the hotel confirming the booking and informing me that the spa was out of order, i told them that it was the reason i booked the hotel, they had an arrangement with another hotel and provided complimentary return taxi to the other spa. At night the street noise did travel up to our room, i guess it is a listed building and there is only so much they can do and they cannot change the windows, ear plugs worked for me. I think i would stay there again if the price was right but otherwise would probably look for something a bit closer to the main centre, i don't mind walking but it became a bit tedious. They let us keep the room until 4pm at no charge. It was for my birthday and I was happy with my choice.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank raniSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHiltonCaledonian, Guest Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2013

Dear guest,

thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. Overall, it would appear that you enjoyed your overall experience with us, and since your stay, I am delighted to advise that our leisure club has been fully functional since November last year.

We hope to be able to welcome you back to the 'Caley' again in the future.

Kind regards,

Chris Logan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Have stayed here several years between Christmas and New Year and had been delighted each time. It was formerly known as the Caledonian Hilton Hotel. For us it had always had the edge / something special / something magical that's left us wanting more. Knowing it had been rebranded and had had a fortune spent on it we were excited to be returning, expecting something really special. For us the magic wasn't there. Yes you could see where the money had been spent and yes it looked lovely. It was the small things that were missing. The Christmas decorations in the foyer; on the staircase etc. The staff - many had changed and what can I say, we missed them. Exceptions being the Corciege guys and David (who served us breakfast). They gave the little bit extra that previously made it special. This probably sounds overcritical, afterall the majority of the rest of the staff were fine - but we felt we were paying for more than fine. Room service slow - required to phone down a second time before our order was delivered. Breakfast slow - had to sit out in Peacock Alley for quite a while before getting a table. Breakfast itself was fine. The rooms, fixtures, fittings, robes etc were all luxurious. The upgrade of the swimming pool area and changing rooms were much needed and in keeping with the hotel. Location excellent. Overall the hotel was luxurious but for us the magic was missing.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kerrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHiltonCaledonian, Guest Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2013

Dear guest,

thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us over the Christmas period. Although I am delighted that you chose to return to the 'Caley' yet again, I am disappointed to read that you were somewhat underwhelmed with your experience. I would like to ensure you that I have shared your comments with the relevant department heads, including Marco Pinto, our food & beverage manager, who will be pleased to receive your honest feedback.

As mentioned, we do have a few new team members since last year, however I am certain that they will be able to add the sparkle again when familiar faces are remembered such as yourself.

In the meantime, I do hope that you choose the 'Caley' again next year should you choose to return to Edinburgh, and please do not hesitate to contact me directly should you require any assistance.

Kind regards,

Chris Logan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

The wife and I stayed here for 2 nights on a short break. Its got a great view of the castle. Inside the hotel is a bit dark in the corridors if you don't mind that then its ok. Our room also was kinda dark too. All in all it was good value.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank styli6726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHiltonCaledonian, Guest Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2013

Dear guest,

thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. I am delighted to read that you and your wife enjoyed your castle view experience with us. However, I would appreciate if you would contact me directly with the room number in which you stayed, and I will arrange for my maintenance team to have a look at the lighting issue mentioned.

I can be contacted on 0131 2228822, or alternatively via e-mail on chris.logan@waldorfastoria.com. Hopefully you will be able to return to the 'Caley' again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Chris Logan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

We recently booked 9 rooms at this hotel.
I had a lot of requests before our stay and every single request was granted and dealt with in a professional and courteous manner.
We all arrived at 11.45 and knowing that check in is officially at 14:00 didn't expect many, if any of the rooms to be ready, however we were amazed that the staff had managed to ensure that every room was ready for us!
Check in was a breeze!
The room we received was lovely; very tastefully decorated with luxurious bed linens (something I personally find very important).
After checking in my husband and I decided to have a bite to eat in the 'Peacock Alley'. Some of our party had booked to have afternoon tea but we only wanted a lite bite so opted for other food from the menu. This is the only time we received bad service, however it really was 'bad'. First of all the waitress came back a total of 3 times to ask us to repeat our order - it wasn't difficult - a sandwich and a salad! Then, we waited almost an hour for the food to arrive which, for such simple food, was totally unacceptable. My husband complained, rightly so, and we were given a tiny slice of cake and 4 forks to share (we had been joined by another couple by then), it was more of an embarrassment than an apology!
That said, this was the only downside of our weekend here, and given the rest of the service we received we didn't feel it fair to deduct any stars for this, however, we wouldn't want to eat there again.
I don't see why people can find anything to complain about with regards to the breakfast! Every member of our party of 18 seemed to thoroughly enjoy it all. Nothing ran out as others have said and the food was most delicious and piping hot.
I feel I MUST single out one member of staff for special praise - this was Karl Wendland - the concierge. I had previously emailed him to sort some details out for us and everything was handled in the most efficient, courteous and professional manner, not only that, we were let down by a courier company who failed to deliver some gifts we wished to leave in the rooms for our other guests, and sadly they arrived after our stay, however Karl went out of his way to ensure they were sent back to us - at no extra cost. He also arranged taxis etc to get us all to the theatre, no mean feat on a busy Saturday night for 18 guests, all at once, but again this was handled with seemingly seamless effort. A HUGE THANK YOU KARL!
On the train home everyone commented on the lovely time they had enjoyed. I had to giggle that the thing that everyone was discussing, was the fantastic gowns in the rooms. None of us have ever had such sumptuous lovely gowns in an hotel room before and we wish they would sell them!
Overall we had a lovely stay and I would not hesitate in recommending this hotel and look forward to returning in the hopefully not too distant future!

Room Tip: Can get noisy at night if facing the pub next door on a lower floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Northumberland-lady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHiltonCaledonian, Guest Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2013

Dear guest,

thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. I am pleased to read that your entire party departed feeling satisfied with your overall experience with us, and I appreciate the constructive feedback received, both positive and negative. Moreover, I would like to ensure you that I have shared your comments with regards to the service received in our Peacock Alley with our Food & Beverage manager, Marco Pinto, who shall certainly action accordingly.

I do hope that you will have the opportunity to return to the 'Caley' again in the future.

Kind regards,

Chris Logan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#13 of 151 in Edinburgh
4,010 reviews
West End
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
#19 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,977 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian

Address: Princes Street, Edinburgh EH1 2AB, Scotland (Formerly Caledonian Hilton Edinburgh Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#7 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#13 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#30 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#33 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#33 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: $176 - $834 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian 5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, or the "Caley" as it has become affectionately known among Edinburgh folk, was and still is the epitome of style and excellence. The large, rose-coloured Permian sandstone facade, quarried in Dumfries, dominates the skyline of the city's west end. The hotel has not only remained a focal point for more than one hundred years, but a symbol of the very best of Scottish hospitality. The Caley's pivotal position at the very heart of Edinburgh has always been its greatest asset. Created out of the 19th century railway boom, the five star hotel is looking to the future with confidence and pride in its ability to keep pace with the times. The hotel's reputation is as justified now as it was when the hotel first opened its doors in 1903. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Ctrip TA, Hilton EMEA, Agoda, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton International Edinburgh
Hilton Edinburgh
Edinburgh Hilton
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing