We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Has Hilton lost the plot?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Ranked #59 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 31 December 2012

This is a historic railway hotel, why would you call it after an American classic?
Why would you under spend on customer comfort during a major refit, and not get the staff on your side as great ambassadors?
We were given our room early and upgraded from a mini suite to (? a king suite with full on Castle view) which was a very good start.Also the doorman carried our bags in from the car and up to our room, what an excellent start. (Room grades and views are are kept very secret).
The hotel occupancy was low for its first Christmas after the make over and re brand and lacked atmosphere.
The pot plant in our suite had been left to dry and die on a unclean glass table top. by housekeeping. The main staircase hanging lantern needed a good clean dust and polish.
The old room air con did the job in a noisy way.
The huge windows gave a magnificent view of the gardens,churches and castle, however being single glazed sirens and street noise intrude.
The brand new bathroom was ordinary and the bath and overhead shower would never find space in my home, who thought they would do in an expensive suite?
The "Peacock Alley" bar/afternoon tea area is magnificent except for the small tables for two which are not so well located.
Dinner in the "Brasserie De Luxe" was pleasant thanks to a good manager but the room is not great and tables for two too small.
Our Christmas lunch in the "Pompadour" restaurant (£160 each, pre paid) was the worst advert for a new chef and brigade that I could ever imagine. Many of the restaurant staff come from the other comatose railway hotel in town and were poor.
We were not pleased with the breakfast and again the tables for two are small and the room crowded. One morning the hot food plates ran out and the plate heater was no use.
The pastries bad. You can order cooked items but no menu is offered.
Our one false mini bar item was removed from our bill and we were glad to leave.

Note to hotel, please do not "hope that we will return" we will not.

Room Tip: It is very difficult, you are at their mercy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank f2s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHiltonCaledonian, Guest Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2013

Dear guest,

thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay over the Christmas period. We have reviewed your feedback with the senior management in the hotel, and are very sorry as we have not met your expectations on this occasion.

We are always grateful to receive guest feedback as it is only through a balance of praise and constructive criticism, that we can improve the level of service we offer all of our guests.

Should you wish to contact our Director of Business Development, Robin Stewart, he would be delighted to speak to you in person to see if there is any possibility to regain your faith in our hotel and service. Robin can be contacted on 0131 222 8890, or alternatively via e-mail on robin.stewart@waldorfastoria.com.

Kind regards,

Chris Logan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,869)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3,478 - 3,482 of 3,869 reviews

Reviewed 31 December 2012

My husband and I booked a room for ourselves and our guests with our Hilton Gold Honors account. We were "upgraded" to Queen Deluxe rooms. I'm not quite sure what this even means. The rooms were small but did have nice views of the castle. The beds and luxe down bedding were quite nice. The complimentary bottled water and fruit were late to arrive to the room; all other Hilton properties have it waiting in the room. Our guests did not receive theirs, even after a call to the front desk. The turndown service was nice and having fresh towels and a tidying bathroom was a nice touch. The bathroom was very cold as the insulation was poor and the window drafty. Getting hot water was also a big problem. It took forever to heat up and then turned to cold within about 5 minutes. Our guests had the same issue. It made for a chilly soak in the tub and three very cold showers. The bath towels, robes and slippers were of nice quality.

The spa experience was a bit odd- not my taste in decor or level of comfort. My deep tissue massage was great but my 60GBP "custom pedicure" was nothing special. I've spent $25 and had more attention spent on my feet with sugar scrubs, hot oil, hot towels, great massage, etc. This was quite overpriced for the little amount of work that went into it. Go for the express pedicure instead. The signage to get to the spa was also a challenge to figure out.

Breakfast was the standard Hilton breakfast buffet. However instead of the complimentary breakfast we've come to expect with our Gold Status was not given at this property. We were given a discount instead. We were very disappointed when we found this out. If the breakfast had been something special or worth paying extra for, I would have understood. But it was the same undercooked floating Hilton scrambled eggs, undercooked bacon, overcooked sausage, etc.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoBruiserGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2012

Fantastic hitoric hotel which was in the process of being refurbished. I stayed on one of the refurbished roomsa which was excellent. Food quality and service was excellent too as you would expect. Pool was closed during my stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank woody_clare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2012

Stayed here for a weekend break to Christmas shop. Wonderful hotel, with lovely friendly staff. Early check-in with an upgrade to a king suite, room was really nice with lovely decor, high ceilings and a feeling of grandness. Not much of a view, but we weren't too bothered about that, as there was plenty shopping to be done. We had a lovely sitting area with a large tv, then down a few stairs to a large comfortable bed (another tv). En-suite facilities were fine, great shower. We had breakfast on both mornings and again no complaints, staff were so friendly and there was plenty of choice to suit most. If not, the staff are more than happy to accommodate any requests. A cocktail in the bar is a must, great choice and reasonable prices, recommend the cosmopolitan!!!. Location of this hotel is great, everything within walking distance. Overall a lovely hotel where the staff look after your every need...

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LadyD002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMCaleyWA, Guest Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2013

Dear guest,

thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. I am sure that your festive shopping was a success, and it is great to see that you enjoyed a well deserved Cosmopolitan in our cocktail bar!!!

We look forward to welcoming you back to the 'Caley' again next year.

Kind regards,

Chris Logan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2012

My partner and I were very much looking forward to our stay at the Caledonian as he works offshore and doesn't get home much! On arrival I was very impressed by the look of the hotel and the staff who were very friendly! We did have a small wait until our room was ready but this was not a problem at all! Once we got our room key and headed upstairs we were hoping for a castle room view but on entry to our room this is what we found .... We had a lovely view of the car park out the back and a tall block of offices which meant that we had to keep our curtains shut all the time. The radiator in the bathroom constantly knocked and banged and the shower would constantly stream with water which meant spending about 5minutes trying to position the nozzle correctly so it would stop! I would be woken up every morning by the heater in the room blasting on and off this usually happened around 2, 4 and 6! Also to add to my interrupted sleep I was woken every morning by a man in the car park with a trolley that made so much noise (I assume this was for stock purposes which cannot be helped)!

On checkout we were greater with an unfriendly woman at reception who asked if we would like to view out bill, as we paid before hand we were a bit confused! When handed out bill we had incurred £61.50 worth of charges for using the hotel car park situated at the rear of the hotel! As we are not ones to cause fuss we paid and left!

I really dislike writing reviews especially bad ones but I hope that the hotel will take these into consideration as I feel that it really does have potential to be an amazing hotel!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Danielle1204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHiltonCaledonian, Guest Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2013

Dear guest,

thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. Unfortunately however, you have obviously departed feeling somewhat unsatisfied with your overall experience, including the noise issue with the radiator in your room, and I would like to apologise for the inconvenience which has been caused. I am even more disappointed to read of the service that you received during your check-out from the hotel, and rest assured this shall be dealt with internally.

Moreover, should you wish to provide us with more feedback directly, I would appreciate if you would contact Robin Stewart, our Director of Business Development as it is only through your feedback that we can improve on the service that we provide for our guests. Robin can be contact on 0131 2228890, or alternatively via e-mail to robin.stewart@waldorfastoria.com.

Kind regards,

Chris Logan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#13 of 151 in Edinburgh
4,008 reviews
West End
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
#19 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,976 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian

Address: Princes Street, Edinburgh EH1 2AB, Scotland (Formerly Caledonian Hilton Edinburgh Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#7 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#13 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#30 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#33 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#33 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: $176 - $833 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian 5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, or the "Caley" as it has become affectionately known among Edinburgh folk, was and still is the epitome of style and excellence. The large, rose-coloured Permian sandstone facade, quarried in Dumfries, dominates the skyline of the city's west end. The hotel has not only remained a focal point for more than one hundred years, but a symbol of the very best of Scottish hospitality. The Caley's pivotal position at the very heart of Edinburgh has always been its greatest asset. Created out of the 19th century railway boom, the five star hotel is looking to the future with confidence and pride in its ability to keep pace with the times. The hotel's reputation is as justified now as it was when the hotel first opened its doors in 1903. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Agoda, Hilton EMEA, Ctrip TA, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton International Edinburgh
Hilton Edinburgh
Edinburgh Hilton
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing