We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food and service”
Review of Element

Element
Reserve with OpenTable
Element is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #173 of 2,755 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 5 - USD 24
Cuisines: Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Princes Street and Gardens
Description: Tucked away just off Princes Street, in amongst the boutiques of Rose Street, you will find Element. The bar has long since established itself as the perfect place to eat, drink and relax, right in the heart of the Edinburgh. Whether you’re sampling a local beer or cocktail in the bar after work, or enjoying a lazy weekend lunch in the restaurant, our staff will ensure you feel welcome in our cosy home from home. (Please note that due to Scottish Licencing Laws, under 18s are only permitted in the venue when having a meal, and must vacate by no later than 8pm.)
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Brilliant service from friendly staff. Very welcoming in some awful Edinburgh weather. I had the fish and chips - two brilliantly battered bits of haddock with skin on homemade chips. My partner had the burger which you could tell was made from top quality beef.

Thank twm1984wrecsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
January W, Manager at Element, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Hi there

Firstly, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We absolutely love to hear from our guests, especially that you have enjoyed your time with us so much.
We like to think of Element as a cosy haven from the hustle and bustle of the city centre, and our big armchairs and warm atmosphere make it the perfect retreat from the wild Edinburgh weather. We also have an outside section for those rare days we do see the sun. Why not come back on a glorious day for an ice cold beer or refreshing cocktail?

Thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (847)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

97 - 101 of 847 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

Huge well priced Full Scottish breakfast and a very filling bacon and fried egg roll.Exactly what was needed on a cold morning.Well worth a visit.

Thank Alasdair P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
January W, Manager at Element, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Hi Alasdair

Thank you for such a lovely review! Our full scottish breakfast is indeed very popular - did you know we even have a vegan version?!
We have actually just launched a new deal: free bottomless tea and coffee with any breakfast or brunch dish - as if you need an excuse to return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

Went here twice whilst in Edinburgh. Just great !!! Really nice pub and a wonderful menu !
Really nice staff who helped with the local licensing challenges for teenagers, and all worked out well.
Highly recommended. Especially the broth !

Thank Stuart D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
January W, Manager at Element, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Hi Stuart

Thanks for such a lovely review - delighted to hear you were so impressed you came back!
You are right, Scottish Licensing laws can be a little tricky but we are proud to say that we can usually cater for those not quite old enough for a dram.
Can't wait to have you back, either for another bowl of broth (it's rather tasty if I say so myself!) or maybe try something from the dinner menu - you can even bring the kids as we are licensed until 8pm!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018

Took trip advisor advice, booked a table and wasn't disappointed, the Haggis Samosas for starters were divine, 2 of the best burghers we have ever had, and the service spot on, the only reason I did not give 5 stars, was the limited choice, for our preferences on the menu, would not only recommend, but if ever back in Edinburgh, would def book again.

Thank TheYorkshireMan_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
January W, Manager at Element, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Hi there

Thank you so much for a great review! I agree - the haggis samosas are awesome; definitely a highlight on the menu!
Sorry to hear you were a little let down by the selection of dishes on offer. As a small venue, with a teeny tiny kitchen, it is important to us that we only use fresh, ethically and locally sourced ingredients to make all of our homemade meals. This means that we physically don't have the space for as wide a selection as you would perhaps find on a larger restaurant's menu, but we like to think that there is a good enough variety that there is something for everyone's tastes - without having to compromise on quality and freshness.
Delighted to hear it has not put you off returning though! Why not try brunch or lunch next time? There are a few lighter dishes on our daytime menu which you may not have seen when you came for dinner.

Looking forward to your return, and thanks again.

Team Element

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2018

cant fault it, the food was amazing, the atmosphere was lovely, the staff very attentive we could of stayed all day it was like being in your own living room

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sarah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
January W, Manager at Element, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2018

Hi Sarah

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit and were so comfortable you wanted to stay all day! We like to think we have created a little haven in the city, where all of our guests can relax in the knowledge they will be well looked after by our attentive staff.

Looking forward to your next visit

Thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Element also viewed

 

Been to Element? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing