We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cozy, quiet and convenient for Edinburgh sites”
other travellers have booked this property
Living Room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living Room
Living Room Living Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
218 reviews
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The Twin Room
The Twin Room
The Twin Room
Bathroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Hallways
The Building
Street
Hopetoun Crescent Apartment Building
Hopetoun Crescent Apartment Building
Hall
Double Bedroom In Autumn/Winter
Double Bedroom In Autumn/Winter
Kitchen
Kitchen
Luxury Bathroom
Luxury Bathroom
Lounge / Dining Room
Lounge
Lounge
Lounge
Double Bedroom In Spring/Summer
Double Bedroom In Spring/Summer
Double Bedroom In Spring/Summer
Double Bedroom In Spring/Summer
Twin Bedroom In Spring/Summer
Twin Bedroom In Spring/Summer
Fully Fitted and Equipped Kitchen
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 218 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Portuguese first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Andrew W
Woking, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Cozy, quiet and convenient for Edinburgh sites”
Reviewed 20 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We spent 4 nights in Hopetoun Apartment. It was exactly as described, very clean and comfortable. It's only 10 minutes walk to Princes Street and there are a couple of small supermarkets within 5 minutes walk. The parking permit was very useful, we did not use the car for the whole time we were there.

The apartment is edge of New Town and close to lots of nice restaurants, coffee and foodie shops. Liz was very welcoming and helpful. We would definitely recommend it to friends and family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and private parking
Liked least: No dishwasher.
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jun 2015
Thank you very much for your lovely review, I sincerely appreciate this. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and everything was to your satisfaction. I hope you will stay again on your next visit to Edinburgh. Thank you once again, Kindest regards, Liz
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria...
1 review
“First class apartment and first class host!!”
Reviewed 19 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Liz's apartment is just beautiful and a perfect place to stay for a few days in Edinburgh. I booked the apartment as a surprise for my father for the Six Nations Rugby Tournament and we literally have nothing bad to say. Beautifully decorated and perfect location, 2 minute walk from York St Tram stop! A Co-op on the same street so perfect for picking up bits and pieces. Liz is a wonderful host, very accommodating for check in/check out and on hand to help if needed. I left my car keys in the apartment as we got the train and Liz went down to the apartment (even though she didn't need to until later in the week) and posted them to me as soon as she could!

Will definitely book again in the future. Thank you Liz for such a wonderful stay.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Feb 2015
I would like to thank you very much for your lovely review and kind words. I am delighted you and your family enjoyed your stay at Hopetoun apartment. It was a pleasure to meet you, and I look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit. Thank you once again, kindest regards, Liz
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen C
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Convenient, hassle free”
Reviewed 1 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Thank you to liz and Margaret for a great stay. The property is very well located only 10 min walk from the city centre, with a lovely view of the gardens, great parking in a private compound and very close to good restaurants, supermarket, pharmacy, etc. My 7 year old made use of the books and games available at the property, and enjoyed the cable TV. The apartment was a bit smaller than expected but absolutely well maintained and comfortable for our family of 3. Margaret was a welcoming, smiling face upon our arrival and we were grateful for the pack of starter goodies that awaited us. I also noted the huge quantity of brochures and information available to support visitors in their trip to Edinburgh. There were no problems at all and everything went very smoothly. We enjoyed the property very much and send our thanks to Liz!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Feb 2015
I would like to thank you very much indeed for your excellent review. I appreciate your time completing this, and I am sure future guests will also find your review very helpful. I am pleased you and your family enjoyed your stay at Hopetoun apartment. It was a pleasure to welcome you, and I hope you will stay again on your next visit to Edinburgh. Kindest regards, Liz
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BennettVa...
Santa Rosa, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best place we stayed on our trip.”
Reviewed 25 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

A spotless modern apt in easy walking distance to the historic sites and Royal Botannical Garden and Leigh Walk. Shops and restaurants along the way. Liz is a gracious and friendly host who meets you and gets you comfortably settled. This is a home away from home with tasteful and matching furnishings & tableware and a first class bathroom. It was
nice to have such a clean, well lit place to stay. You won't be disappointed.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Oct 2014
I would like to thank you very much for your excellent review. I sincerely appreciate your time to complete this. I am delighted that you and your family had a very pleasant and comfortable stay, and you enjoyed your visit around Edinburgh. I hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back in the near future. Thank you again, kindest regards, Liz
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LHanna201...
Co. Antrim
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Couldn't ask for better! Excellent!”
Reviewed 3 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This accommodation is modern, spotlessly clean and well located. Short walk to Princess St. Quiet location. Everything we needed for a family weekend. Thank Liz for everything!

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: if have to mention something - untidy garden
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Oct 2014
Thank you very much for this excellent review! I am delighted to hear you had a very pleasant and comfortable stay. I hope you will return to Hopetoun apartment on your next visit to Edinburgh! Thank you once again, kindest regards, Liz
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing