We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Outstanding location in central Edinburgh”
other travellers have booked this property
lounge area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
lounge area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
65 reviews
lounge area
floor plan , first floor
floor plan, ground floor
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 65 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jim B
Hove
Level 6 Contributor
832 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 315 helpful votes
“Great location, but rather tired”
Reviewed 8 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

This property is in the perfect location to enjoy the festival and was close to so many things. It is close to St Andrews Square if coming from the airport by tram and it is no more than 20 minutes walk from most of the main venues.
The property is located in a mews area behind shops and restaurants so there can be some noise from bottles being put out late at night. The area is very safe.
The proper was of a decent size for our party of 4, with two decent sizes bedrooms and a large lounge/dinner.
The things that let it down were small but when you are spending 2000 pounds plus for the stay are vital. The property is in need of a decorative refresh and some new quality furniture as it felt a bit like a student flat. The couch had a rip in the seat, bar stool broken and many of the glasses had chips in them. Some new quality furniture would really make this a home away from home. The downstair ensuite shower room could do with a make over, sealant around the shower etc. They also need to ensure that the place is properly cleaned, large amounts of fluff behind the beds furniture etc.
WiFi was decent and usable.
With a little TLC this could be one of the best properties in Edinburgh

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Needs some TLC
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Sep 2016
Thank you taking the time to leave a review for the Thistle St Lane property and that there were many positive aspects of your stay. It has a been a long season a this popular city centre property and it has taken it's toll on the furniture and decoration. Your valuable feedback will be taken into consideration with a plan going forward to address the issues raised. Regards,

Glenn Ford ESC Ltd
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pete M
Markham, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding location in central Edinburgh”
Reviewed 4 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

My wife, son (20 years old) and myself spent a great week in Edinburgh in mid-June. This apartment is extremely well located in the New Town, within easy walking distance of everything. The apartment itself is very well equipped, and quite spacious. Wi-fi was very good. The 2 bedrooms, each with ensuite bathroom, provided a perfect setup for us. Having the private parking was great, and we had no problem fitting our Skoda estate car in the secure garage. If we had to nitpick, we would want to see a more comfortable mattress set in the upstairs bedroom, similar to what is downstairs. We would certainly not hesitate to book this apartment again, and would happily recommend it to other travellers.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham128
West Malling, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A fabulous stay in a great location”
Reviewed 29 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We recently enjoyed a long weekend stay in Thistle St Lane and were really happy with our choice of accommodation. The apartment was ideally located for exploring central Edinburgh whilst also being in a quiet back street location. The apartment is spacious and well equipped and was clean and tidy throughout. The booking arrangements and related information / communication were also excellent. We would definitely be happy to make a return visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pamela J
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gem of a find!”
Reviewed 7 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We were REALLY impressed with this property. Perfect for all our needs: 1) to spend quality time together as a family instead of 2 hotel rooms; 2) luxury living in the heart of the city. We couldn't believe how peaceful it was inside, and this delightful property is exactly as shown in the photographs. We loved it and will be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan L
Berlin
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Spacious apartment in a great location with a large garage”
Reviewed 2 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We have felt really good. We were six people. The accommodation is very clean and comfortable. There are next to the dishwasher and the washing machine is even a drying rack and an iron. The landlord wants to make your stay pleasant one. The proximity to the city center is awesome. Good restaurants are also found nearby, from snacks to vegan restaurant and pubs. In the garage fit without problems even our Mercedes Vito Van. We would come back again and again gladly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Central location of this property
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing