We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great location AND parking too!”
other travellers have booked this property
lounge area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
lounge area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
65 reviews
lounge area
floor plan , first floor
floor plan, ground floor
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 65 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Dee M
Broadford, null, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great location AND parking too!”
Reviewed 24 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We originally booked a different flat and were upgraded to here because of a problem with parking at the other property. We were very pleased with the change. The flat is within a couple of minutes walk to Hanover Street which leads on to Princes Street.
The flat itself has everything we needed with comfortable furniture and beds and, considering it is in the centre of a large city, exceptionally quiet.
There are countless bars and restaurants within minutes of the flat so no need to cook. A great feature is the private garage attached to the flat.
Dave was most helpful and accommodating especially when we got stuck in a four mile tailback onto the Forth Road Bridge. Glenn in the office was also helpful and informative and great to chat to through e-mail.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and garage.
Liked least: Nothing.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SydneyDee...
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Wonderfully roomy & comfy place in Central Edinburgh”
Reviewed 10 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We (3) were delighted with our stay in Thistle St Lane. The 2 proper bedrooms and 2 full bathrooms, plus huge lounge/dining and great kitchen (ignore reviews that say it's small - it's actually ideal size) made it a perfect base for our few days in Edinburgh.
The good-sized lockable garage was also a huge bonus and unusual in such a central location. It was just a short walk to the Royal Mile, Princes St, the Castle and anything else we wanted to go to.
The lane is actually the back entrance to many restaurants, so there are 'wheelie' rubbish bins lined along it and as mentioned by other people, these are emptied in the mornings. However, this was never a problem for us as unlike Sydney, they were emptied about 7:30am and we were already awake. The disruption (if it is a problem) is greater in the downstairs smaller double bedroom.
The kitchen was very well-equipped, with all items you'd reasonably want on holiday and plenty of them. It also had a good dishwasher and effective washer/drier plus a fantastically easily-accessible corner cupboard with rotating circular shelves with all the glasses, mugs, plates etc on them.
The lounge/dining room was flooded with lovely natural light thanks to the many windows and large skylights. Even in the rain it made the room a happy place. We particularly loved the electric 'fire' with it's realistic flames; great for watching the soccer WC in the evenings!
You're wondering...was there anything we didn't like? Well, the beds were too hard for us but that was solved by adding a spare quilt under the bottom sheet. Everything else was ideal from our point of view. I know for sure you will not get better value in central Edinburgh.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and 2 bathrooms
Liked least: Hard beds
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maika-Lau...
Montreal
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Straightforward, clean and good price altogether”
Reviewed 13 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

This is one of those cardboard quite charmless apartments. However, considering the price and the location, it makes it hard to beat. ***Note that our apartment was located on the ground floor so it was a bit more noisy and perhaps other apartments have more charm (or a view). So I suspect that it would be worthwhile to "shop around" for the best room. Let's be realistic, Edinburg is an expensive place (and I live in Japan!) so if you want an apartment and want to cook for yourself, this is the place to stay. It's equipped with everything you could possibly need in a kitchen. The bathroom was roomy and had a great shower.

The staff is helpful and there's a reception 24/7.

The apartments are located about a 10 minute walk from the heart of downtown and there are loads of little cafes and awesome breakfast places.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Spacious and well located
Liked least: Charmeless
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rainhill
Reviewed 7 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Cahir
Reviewed 16 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing