We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A very unique and decadent 5 star hotel! Not stuffy!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Ranked #35 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A very unique and decadent 5 star hotel! Not stuffy!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

Ok so we have done the 5star thing where a very posh man greets you and makes you feel instantly uncomfortable! This place was a far cry from that. Staff with real personalities....yes hospitality staff that were actually hospitable! Rare! Everyone seemed to be cross trained to help every customers needs.

The rooms were even better than expected, very clearly indivdually designed, ours had a floor to ceiling wall to wall window which had stunning views across the Royal Mile and we could even see the sea. The little touches makes all the difference - slippers & robes, gorgeous linen, nicely stocked mini bar, and lovely toiletries.

The bar was far from stuffy or formal, more chic boutique. The atmosphere was electric and the cocktails divine!

I cannot fault our experience here and would recommend to anyone. Pure decadence!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smudger77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,632 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,705
    625
    203
    61
    38
See reviews for
276
1,481
95
238
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (469)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

Just got home from a trip to Edinburgh and I doubt there'd be anywhere else in the city I would stay. There's not really much to elaborate on from other perfect reviews, except to say that this hotel has simply got it all: perfect location, over-the-top quality service, exceptional design and comfort and one of the best bars in town.

I tried hard to find something to critique... and perhaps they could have better conditioner. But seriously, when you don't even care about hair products and you're down to quibbling about conditioner, the hotel is probably doing something right. From free mini-bar and laundry service to making sure you've got your preference on your bedside table to fight the next day hangover, Missoni has checked all the boxes.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charlieanelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

I stayed at the Missoni Hotel in Edinburgh for business from February 12-18 2012. From the moment we arrived we were greeted by friendly bellmen wearing kilts. Our rooms were not ready yet as we had arrived at 12PM local time. We were told they would expedite the cleaning of our rooms and in the mean time we were welcome to wait in the bar area. We only waited about an hour and our rooms were ready. Unfortunately the airline lost our luggage so we had very little. The hotel staff provided me with any basic toiletries I needed and also gave me fantastic directions to the local stores so I could purchase clothing.

Every morning we had breakfast in the Cucina restaurant. The kitchen menu was great and the food was fantastic. You could opt for a more continental style buffet or hot foods from the kitchen. Since breakfast was included in my room I always ordered from the kitchen. Because I stayed so many days I was able to try almost everything on the menu. I was never disappointed with my breakfast choices. I do think it could be a little pricy if it wasn’t included in your room package. Over 18 pounds each day for breakfast could add up.

There was one person at the bar, Hannah, who had the best attitude and the best memory. She helped me and my colleague that first day when we were waiting for our room. We decided to visit the bar again one evening just to have some drinks before dinner. She remembered us, our situation with our luggage, and even asked how things were going with our stay. She was such a friendly and inviting person and I think her personality is the norm in order to work at the Missoni.

All in all, I loved my experience at this hotel and would return again if my business travels lead me back to Edinburgh.

Room Tip: Order the cappuccino at the hotel bar and the breakfast area. It is FANTASTIC! The best I have had.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Meliss1056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
105 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

Fantastic location close to the castle, bright and well furnished rooms, clean, very comfortable beds, extremely friendly staff, very fine food, and as an added side benefit, with a fantastic fish restaurant virtually next door. Oh, and Ms. Rowland's cafe where she wrote the Harry Potter tales down the street, what more could you ask for.
Totally enjoyable stay in August 2011 during the Edinburgh Festival and Military Tattoo (don't miss those events either, but book early for teh Tattoo).

Room Tip: All the rooms seemed fine to our group.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AngloAmerican3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alnwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

The Missoni is superbly located - only a few minutes walk from Waverley Station and from Princes Street. Galleries, historic sites, restaurants and shops are all very easy to reach. The hotel itself is excellent. The decor is distinctly vibrant and off-beat, the rooms are very comfortable and well appointed - and well sound-proofed. Service is of the highest quality and the staff are friendly and knowledgeable. Dining in the hotel is not cheap but the food is very good indeed. If you can get a good deal on room rates, then this is the place to stay in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryan1940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#22 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,530 reviews
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#58 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,491 reviews
Old Town
The Inn on the Mile
The Inn on the Mile
#12 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh

Property: G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Address: 1 George IV Bridge, Edinburgh EH1 1AD, Scotland (Formerly Hotel Missoni)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Cowgate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#4 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#4 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#22 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price range (per night): $236 - $618
Hotel Class:5 star — G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
G&V Royal Mile Hotel, Edinburgh is set in the heart of the capital on the historic Royal Mile. The hotel has breath-taking views over the Royal Mile, Edinburgh's Old Town, Arthur's Seat and even on to and across the Firth of Forth. Established as one of Scotland's most stylish five star hotels, G&V Hotel is known for warm, friendly, five star hospitality tailored to the individual. As part of the Quorvus Collection, G&V Royal Mile Hotel is a new generation of luxury combining contemporary design, a warm welcome and Scottish character. All 136 rooms and suites come with complimentary Wi-Fi, newspapers and Nespresso coffee and tea. Each room includes rain showers, generous bath products, LCD TV's with iPod and laptop connections, luxurious bathrobes and slippers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing