We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (36)
Filter reviews
36 results
Traveller rating
16
6
5
3
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
16
6
5
3
6
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 36 reviews
Reviewed 4 February 2017 via mobile

Myself and a friend arrived last night to stay for the weekend - the supposed access key box had been removed and we had no way to access the property- we met two other unfortunates who were in a similar predicament- I contacted the emergency number provided and the lady who answered said she was only the cleaner and was not in Edinburgh so could not help but she did forward me the owners number . Of course the owner did not answer my call so we were all left stranded and had to find alternate accommodation in Edinburgh on a six nations rugby weekend at 8.30 pm !!!!!
I'm OUTRAGED that these people had taken full payment for the stay before we arrived and then broke their contact leaving us on the street !!! Their behaviour was disgraceful and I am extremely disappointed and I don't want any other people to be subjected to these actions.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Larko54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2017 via mobile

On arrive we were pleasantly surprised, location is spot on and the apartment is lovely along with a nice welcome from the cleaner. We had been concerned about where we had book after very poor communication from who I can only presume to be the owners (Heather and Duncan) initially they couldn't process the credit card details and sent us an invoice through PayPal, this raised concerns when the details sent did not match those provided through hotels.com so after numerous attempts to speak to them over the phone and leaving voice messages which never got returned we were advised to pay the invoice. The next morning after 'check-in' we woke up to find we had no electricity or heating..... not fantastic in an old single glazed apartment located in Scotland on a cold December morning. This is where Heather and Duncan really come into their own and proving how little they care, we tried for a few hours to make contact with them through the 'emergency' contact details they had left but with no luck we ended up phoning the cleaner (after the guest above had kindly tried to fix the problem). Long story short this is a nice place to stay but is massively let down by the presumed owners meaning your likely to have a stress filled stay. I would like to praise the cleaner however, she was very polite and the apartment was spotless.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Jordan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2017

We were very content with our stay at Young Street boutique apartments. It is a roomy and warm apartment with well functioning new appliances, on a street with two pubs conveniently close . Also 10 to 15 minute walk to shopping area, theatres, Christmas market, and 20 minute walk to Edinburgh Castle. At Christmas the decorations and lights in this tourist area are lovely. We only have three minor complaint. We were there four nights and ran out of toilet paper the last night. I would suggest putting just one roll of paper under the sink or with the furnace room just in case of emergency. Secondly, no shampoo or shower gel in the bathroom. The other problem is that the tv did not work, despite the instructions in the welcome book. I sent in a request for help but being the Christmas holidays, all they said was sorry we did not get your email earlier. Hope you had a good stay.
There was a terrific kitchen with everything you need for a short stay, including coffee, tea and sugar, dishwasher and washed- dryer.
All,in all, highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sylvia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights in apartment 4 ! Must say its the first Time I have stayed somewhere where the pictures advertised are an actual accurate representation of what the apartment looks like. The bedrooms were huge with plenty of space, the heating and hot water was easy to use and it had an excellent shower and hairdryer ! The only downside is the wifi wasn't great but other than that our stay was excellent and hassle free ! A huge shout out to Aga, who let us check out at a later time of 12pm and also for letting us keep our bags in the apartment for the day rather than us having to carry them about Edinburgh for the day ! Overall an excellent hassle free stay and we will be sure to recommend !

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Orla80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2016

The place is about 10-15mins walk to the train station. A short walk away from groceries and restaurants.
The apartment housed our group of 7pax comfortably with large living hall, dining hall and family room.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Chris Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews