We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place to stay - living in an art-gallery”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Art-House Morita B&B
Ranked #260 of 394 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 August 2011

We stayed at the Morita Bed & Breakfast for one night during the Fringe Festival in Edinburgh. Really an amazing place, incomparable to any other hostel. Art, paintings, porcelain everywhere. In our clean and cosy Twinroom have been 35 paintings from different periods. Lovely & charming landlords that run this hostel and provide you information, hints and are open for a nice conversation about literature and arts at any time. Take your chance and do a reservation.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IT4n6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (41)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 30 of 41 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2011

My husband and I toured the UK in June. We will never forget the warm hospitality we received from John and Kozo.They showed us how to get around by bus and even took us to see where the laundromat was.They are such interesting people to talk to.
Every inch of the house is covered in magnificent Scottish paintings and beautiful pottery.
Our room was comfortable and John cooked superb breakfasts.
When tourist information told us the bathrooms were shared,we hesitated but I'm glad we didn't miss out on staying at such a lovely,memorable B and B/ Museum.
Jane Sutherland

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sjsuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

We really have a great stay in Edinburgh, especially the staying at Art House Morita. I would definitely visit there again if I am going there: ) I am really surprised to see the owner's dedication in running the place, which can be seen in every detail. All the facilities and appliances are in good quality. Once you walk in the house, you will be amazed by the little museum. The owners are delighted to introduce the story of the place and also trip advice in Edinburgh! Also, the breakfast is superb and it is freshly made at the time you wake up.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terriemarine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2011

This is an unusual hotel and is also a museum and home. If you like an entirely dull, predictable hotel stay (with a TV and en suite), don't stay here. But, if you are the sort who likes to remember special experiences - then this will be one for you.

From the moment you walk to the door, you will discover a house full of wonder - with lots of art and 'objets'. I adored my room - which had original oil paintings on the wall and a comfortable bed.

You will need to share a bathroom with up to one other guest (and try not to be paranoid about the frosted glass in the bathroom door being sufficient to cover your dignity. It is - so don't worry about it).

And the best is yet to come. After a good night's sleep in a comfy bed and a unique room (complete with tea and coffee facilities and, if you need them, slippers) you will wake up to the Best Breakfast in Scotland. This included fruit salad, freshly made juice (orange or carrot) and the most amazing cooked breakfast....complete with haggis! Absolutely delicious! And all served by the owners, who are friendly and very helpful.

The house is wonderfully situated for visiting the sites of Edinburgh, and the hosts (one of whom was the first Japanese-speaking Edinburgh guide back in the 80's) go out of their way to help you plan your day - and your travel by public transport.

There's also a lovely lounge to relax in during the evenings. The owners do want their own space during the day - but there is so much to see and do in Edinburgh that you'll want to be out and about in any case.

I hope this gives you a flavour. All in all - a unique experience and all the pluses and delights of the art and kind hosts make up for the lack of a TV or basin in your room. Read some books or just enjoy the art - and have a break from the whirl of modern life - right in the middle of one the UK's most beautiful cities.

Room Tip: Ask for the Blue Room for some incredible art and plenty of wardrobe and desk space
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmmaLangman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johniwtg, Owner at Art-House Morita B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2011

Emma, Thank you for the very kind comments and especially the detail in the feedback, I think your should give up Civil Engineering and become a travel writer, I did read through your comments and did not realise about the frosted glass, I have now added a near full lenght roller blind which I hope solves any concerns over the glass translucidity. I hope you and your family are well and you can all make it up to Edinburgh one December for the Edinburgh Winter Wonderland. John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

We loved everything about this B&B, the owners are extremely kind and helpful, not to mention that it is a nice place to stay! You have no idea how delicate they make breakfast! Definitely gonna recommend to all of our friends!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlenemok88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#90 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,603 reviews
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
2,005 reviews
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
West End Hotel
West End Hotel
#108 of 394 in Edinburgh
290 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Edinburgh

Been to Art-House Morita B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art-House Morita B&B

Address: 3 Mayfield Gardens, Edinburgh EH9 2AX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #260 of 394 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: $164 - $344 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Art-House Morita B&B 2.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning Victorian Edinburgh townhouse with beautifully restored interior, each of the three bedrooms with period features and original Scottish arts and craft. Situated on the main bus route only ten minutes by bus to city centre. Full Scottish/Vegetarian cooked breakfast and special rates for 2 or more nights. Property owned by Japanese and English speaking qualified STGA Blue Badge Guide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, lastminute.com.au and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Art-House Morita B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art-House Morita B&B Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing