We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant evening”
Review of Dantes

Dantes
Ranked #60 of 2,803 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 11 - USD 29
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Private Dining, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Private Dining, Reservations
Reviewed 30 October 2018 via mobile

Visited here last year and very impressed. Came back with friends and we were even more impressed. Very busy Saturday night so glad we had booked. Greeted and seated professionally. For starters I had my standard Beef Carpaccio and suitably impressed. The others had a lovely duck pate. For mains I went for the Duck- pink and succulent. My wife and friends all went for the Saltimbocca which they liked. The rosemary potatoes were very tasty. We were too full for puddings so my mate and I had an Americano with hot milk. Lovely ambience and the owner has great banter.

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank MikeMason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (354)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 354 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2018

The pasta as excellent. Staff was warm and friendly and a great atmosphere for kids.
You don't have to wait too long for food at all.
Well priced Italian.
Can offer gluten-free pasta and pizza bases.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GoPlaces797458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2018 via mobile

I always liked Dante's for great service, value and a fantastic wine list. Popped in for dinner with another couple last night and took advantage of the halibut special while friends tucked into pasta. Delicious. Starters were fab (ricotta fritter is something that blew me away) The dessert was excellent - berry & cream tart. Pastry base was so crunchy fresh and light. Must go again soon

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Hayzi111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2018 via mobile

I have been here a couple of times now with family, and on both occasions the food and service have been fantastic! There is a great choice of food, and cocktails (I thoroughly recommend the Lemon Drop and Espresso Martini), and the service is a good balance of attentive and friendly, without being over the top. Also, don't be put off by the price, it definitely provides value for money!

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank hrheron22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2018 via mobile

We visited Dante’s for the first time last week and have no hesitation in recommending it and we will certainly return. The food was very tasty and well presented. My daughter had the Fillet Steak and said it was so good “it made me smile”.

The staff very friendly and chatty and attended when needed.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank airehamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dantes also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Dantes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing