We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A super place to stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Ranked #33 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
134 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“A super place to stay.”
Reviewed 30 March 2012

A superb place to stay- Excellent quality and super staff. Cannot fault it.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darlo_ManUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,327 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,472
    1,447
    301
    81
    26
See reviews for
723
2,171
201
441
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (714)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mayo, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 29 March 2012

To start with one of our party had a very early arrival from an international flight and was allowed to check in without any extra charge or hassle. The hotel overall is great, rooms are lovely, beds very comfortable, there was no view from our room and window was quite small. Spa was exceptionally, 3 out of 5 girls had treatments and all were extremely pleased. Hotel bar lovely, if a little small but then there are enough bars in Edinburgh!! One girl had afternoon tea in the restaurant - she ordered a simple sandwich - it was messed up but the staff were very kind to her and didnt charge. I would love to go back to this hotel for a romantic trip or another trip with the girls. I would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Book directly with Apex itself - they have offers ongoing. Check about the window size and view when...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BatgirlMayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

This hotel is a good choice for your staying in Edimburgh. It is located close to the main Bus/Train/airport shuttle drop Station (Edimburgh Waverley), some 15 min from the Edimburgh Castle and 500m from the Royal Mile (main touristic street) . Rooms are clean, free wi-fi, LCD TV. You can enjoy a very good (not cheap) Scotish breakfast.
However if you have walking limitations I would recommend you some other hotel closer to the Royal Mile.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank FlavioBrazil_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

We stayed for three nights but wish we could have stayed longer. We booked this after reading the reviews on here so we were hoping this hotel lived up to the good reviews. The check in procedure was quick and reception staff friendly and helpful. The room was a decent size with all the usual things you expect ie tea/coffee making facilities, fridge, hairdryer etc. Only found 2 plugs though so had to keep changing all the chargers and other electrical equipment around. We never had a chance to try the spa which was a shame but after walking around all day all we wanted to do was lie on the bed and rest! The location is brilliant, not far from the airport transferbuses and the main sights. Just be prepared for lots of hills especially if your like me and live in a completely flat county!! The only bad thing I have to mention about the hotel was the food. We tried the room service and I had fish and chips. I was disappointed in the fish which was about 95% batter which was a shame as its the only complaint we have. Other than that I would def recommend this hotel and when we're back in Edinburgh we'll def be booking in here again.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gossemar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 March 2012

My sister booked this hotel as a birthday treat. When we arrived there was a big queue but it went down very quickly and the reception staff were great - I have to mention Neil, Nicole and Suzie who went out of their way to make sure we had a great stay.
The room was enormous, the spa and pool areas are beautiful and we had a lovely meal in the restaurant in the evening.
Breakfast was well organised and there was plenty to choose from. Check out was quick and we stored our bags while we went to the spa for the morning.
Great choice of hotel, I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissJ80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#26 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 915 reviews
Old Town
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
#84 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,307 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,674 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#27 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex Waterloo Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex Waterloo Place Hotel

Property: Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Address: 23-27 Waterloo Place, Edinburgh EH1 3BH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#6 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#7 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#13 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#21 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price range (per night): $255 - $666
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex Waterloo Place Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of Edinburgh’s best spots at the east end of Princes Street, Apex Waterloo Place Hotel is within walking distance of the famous Edinburgh Castle and is just a few minutes’ walk from Calton Hill. George Street and The Royal Mile are also close by in this compact city centre. The classic Georgian architecture complemented by contemporary interiors make this hotel unique. Each bedroom is spacious and includes a 42” TV, complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi, bath and/or walk-in shower and Elemis toiletries. As a guest, you’ll also get complimentary use of the leisure facilities. An indoor swimming pool, sauna, steam room and Technogym make the perfect place to relax or escape from the stresses of everyday life. Time for more? Pamper yourself with an Elemis treatment at PURE Spa & Beauty. You can choose from a wide selection of restaurants and bars throughout the city during your stay, many of which are close by in the George Street area. If you’re looking for a traditional Scottish dish and a cosy bar away from the bustle of the town, look no further than Elliot’s Restaurant & Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Odigeo, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Apex Waterloo Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex Waterloo Place Edinburgh
Hotel Apex Waterloo Place
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing