We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great value - eat here”

L'Etoile Salon de Tea
Ranked #3 of 215 Coffee & Tea in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 4 - USD 8
Neighbourhood: Old Town
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Old Town
Reviewed 3 November 2018 via mobile

Fantastic lunch for 4 - everyone had something different -,- everything freshly cooked - everyone happy. If you want a really tasty freshly prepared lunch in the centre of Edinburgh and are looking for quality and value just come here. E.g. £5.25 for fantastic fresh homemade soup and a tasty well filled baguette. Gorgeous quiche, tasty scrambled egg and salmon etc etc. Staff are very friendly and helpful. A real gem.

Date of visit: November 2018
1  Thank GarryR441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (98)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 98 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2018

My friend and I stumbled on this little place by accident. The selection of cakes was amazing and they all looked so delicious it wasn't easy to choose just one. We both selected a cake with Passion fruit and coconut and were not disappointed. The cappuccino was equally as good. The staff are friendly and the service top notch. We were told that the French man who runs the place, bakes all the cakes himself. In that case he needs to get himself on the Great British Bakeoff as he would be a clear winner !!

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Hilary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2018 via mobile

Stopped by for an after dinner dessert and coffee. After the owner described the deserts, we settled on the Black Gold. It was 3 different types of chocolate with a chocolate glaze.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank wylenea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2018 via mobile

We came in here (2 adults and 2 children) for a light lunch after investigating the Grassmarket. A lovely, relaxed and small cafe. The soup (carrot and lentil) was delicious as was the rest of our food. A great place to go and the staff friendly and efficient. We took cakes away with us for later in the day. Plenty of choice, and well labelled for people with specific dietary requirements.

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank Janejanejane74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2018 via mobile

We happened to chance on this cafe during the Edinburgh Fringe festival, it was busy but it didn’t seem overcrowded which as you can imagine was a surprise. The food was so tasty and with 3/7 people coeliac 5/7 Children, it could have been painful. The staff were friendly and helpful and the food unique in a gluten free sense, as in they offered things my 2 gf children had never previously been able to try. The chef clearly understands cross contamination and warned of a slight delay as he would clean all of the surfaces down before he started prep.

Nice selection of cakes and the gluten free scones were amazing!

We even went back a second time!! As a request from the children.

Date of visit: August 2018
1  Thank bronwynw659
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed L'Etoile Salon de Tea also viewed

 

Been to L'Etoile Salon de Tea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing