We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent accomodation for groups!”
other traveller has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
14 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
5 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 20
Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
JoSam2000
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not what was advertised!!!!”
Reviewed 12 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Where to start...the utter dismay many of us felt upon arrival at this apartment which bears no resemblance to the photos shown on the website. A hen party of over 20 ladies, many of whom likened it to a prison. Black walls, black carpet, steps in the lobby area which many tripped up, lighting very dim made it a real H&S tripping hazard, The owners put down toilet roll on the carpet to highlight where the steps were...they should have stuck down reflective tape at the least!! Most electric sockets didn't work. Floor boards extremely creaky, kept a lot of us awake half the night. One board in the bedroom was a tripping hazard so the owner nailed in down through the carpet. Horrible stains on the carpets, including what looked like blood. Beds were not single sized, they are smaller and just wooden pallets on the floor with a mattress on top. Bed linen didn't smell very nice. No dish washer in the kitchen. Wonky seat on one of the toilets and not vert clean floors. Showers were tiny, not all locked, one had no hot water. Hardly any mirrors to do hair and makeup. Bath towels only provided, no hand towels or bath mat for getting out the shower. Living room was 2 sofas and a pool table, not big enough for the amount of people staying, more suited to a stag group rather than hen night. Fire alarm went off in the middle of the night for about 10 seconds then nothing...we didn't know if it was a drill or the real thing! The party room was fine and there were plenty loo rolls and hand wash but that's the only positives I can think of. The owners were friendly and tried to help but it really wasn't enough. The problems should have been solved before we arrived! So many of the group were so disappointed with the apartment, it was totally not what we were expecting!!!....we did have a great hen weekend...despite the awful apartment, but it could have been so much nicer had the accommodation been good. We paid nearly £3000 for 2 nights....you'd expect much better quality!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jun 2018
Here we have THE problem in a nutshell - Joanna, you have reviewed the wrong apartment - the one your friend Nancy booked was this one - Princes Street 2nd Floor Apartment 25 Beds. More confusing moreover when I investigated is that Nancy originally booked this one Princes Street Party Palace sleeps 30 - but as the group numbers dropped we agreed with Nancy to downsize to a smaller cheaper apartment, the one you stayed in. I understand that initially and having spoken to Nancy at length about this she offered the larger 30 person apartment and linked the group in and the group agreed to the Party Palace 30 bed. Once the numbers dropped she didn't then distribute the details of the smaller one she asked the booking to be moved into - and there in lies the problem. Demonstrated by your ongoing confusion by reviewing a 20 person apartment even though 22 of you stayed! The Party Palace is different in many ways - differences which you highlighted in detail. I do not need this information as I know the apartments inside and out. You simply didnt know which one Nancy had finally booked. Then feeling we, our company was responsible for false advertising some of your group went about examining any faults obvious or dug into like no other group before or fsince. Hot water was described as tepid regardless of steam coming off the liquid being emitted from the taps. We initially took your sarcasm and negativity as bad humour as your reaction was so unusual. More fool us we have been used to WOWS , beautiful, fantastic as our reviews back up. Please review the correct apartment after you have looked at the actual advert for the one your friend booked and your group stayed. And maybe take a look at the many reviews of that particular apartment which other groups loved.
I am very sorry you were mistaken as to what you thought you were staying in. We do what it says on the tin. and albeit being insulted and embarrassed by your comments I just had to find out what really went on - you need to speak with Nancy and read her review on Booking.com because our guests happiness is our only concern.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday_f...
London
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Would avoid at all costs.”
Reviewed 5 May 2018 for a stay in March 2018

A group of 20 of us were meant to be staying here for our friend's hen do in March. Unfortunately the Beast from the East scuppered our plans and meant that only one of us (ironically the person flying in from Germany) could get to Edinburgh. The airport had reopened in time for the weekend but all train lines from England were down and roads too hazardous to drive on. We spent £2,200 on the booking and unfortunately the owner would not offer us the chance to rearrange the booking to another weekend. He has a whole portfolio of apartments and we feel that he has been extremely unreasonable. Although unlikely that you would have your weekend ruined by such an unusual weather, we strongly urge you not to book here.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 May 2018
Only 3 notes to explain this. The German lady travelled all the way from German AND STAYED in the apartment. The apartments are entirely private units and CANNOT BE SUBDIVIDED.
2 Our Glaswegian member of staff arrived on time to work in Edinburgh throughout the weekend.
3 The German lady explained she would then be travelling on to Newcastle to join the pop up replacement Hen party being held there!
4. If the German lady had not been staying or the bridemaid not call our office early on the Friday morning to check the apartment was ready! Then we had a queue of groups who had not managed to leave Edinburgh for Prague , Majorca, Ibiza etc who wanted to stay with us. Had that occurred the ladies would have been refunded.
What we have here is a lack of effort on the bridesmaids ( plural) part to make the journey even for the Saturday night- the review is an example of them covering their tracks. The German lady however put them all to shame.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte...
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beast from the east hen party”
Reviewed 3 May 2018 for a stay in March 2018

My bridesmaids booked this accommodation for my hen party on 2-4th March 2018 which was the same weekend as the ‘beast from the east’. As a result of the extreme and treacherous weather, the trains were cancelled north of Newcastle and the roads were too dangerous for us to drive. Only one of my friends out of the 18 girls made it to Edinburgh from Germany on a scheduled flight as the airport reopened on the Friday evening. The owner of this accommodation was unwilling for us to rearrange our stay to another weekend even in such extreme conditions. I was therefore devastated that my bridesmaids’ plans had been scuppered and I wasn’t able to have the weekend that they had planned.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Aug 2018
The one difference between this and one other review is that this group never stayed. The other reviews are accounts of groups who entered our building and stayed. Please if you do actually intend to arrive and stay in our pleasant fun and friendly place then please read those reviews instead, however tantalising the bad reviews are, (I always read the bad reviews first, Ha) Come and see for yourself. Best Wishes Ian and Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
annefinne...
Spjald, Denmark
1 review
“Excellent accomodation for groups!”
Reviewed 17 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We stayed at the Princess Street Party Palace/ Edinburgh Group Apartments for four nights with 44 students. The students loved it! It is central, the service was above and beyond, and the apartments allowed the students room and freedom to share their evenings in a safe environment. If we ever go back to Edinburgh, this will definitely be our first choice of accommodation.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guide6919...
1 review
“Fantastic apartment for a stay with friends”
Reviewed 31 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

I visited this apartment for my hen do with women aged 20-50+. As soon as we arrived, check in was quick and easy and Ian jumped up to help carry our bags upstairs - doing more than one trip, he even carried our takeaway up the stairs too. Once we got into the main living area our jaws dropped: huge, clean, spacious, amazing views, a lit bar with drinks fridge and disco lights! We had a stag do above us who walked by our living room to get up their stairs but they were a friendly bunch and with the 24 hour security in the apartment we felt comfortable and safe at all times. I absolutely loved my hen do here and chose to stay in rather than go out because we had everything we needed. The soundproofing was fantastic too, we couldn't hear the men above us, the choir below us. Even the karaoke in the living room could not be heard from the bedrooms meaning people could retire at anytime throughout the night without being disturbed. I only wish we could've stayed longer, thank you so much to Ian (and the others whose names I didn't catch - sorry!) I'd definitely come again, I just can't think of another excuse :) XXX

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing