We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem in Leith ”
Review of Bijou

Bijou
Ranked #52 of 2,804 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 6 - USD 23
Cuisines: Scottish, British
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Despite living in Leith for many years we’d never eaten here before but we’ll certainly be back. Great food and wine served by the proprietor with passion. Nice simple delicious menu which considered everything’s taste. Top quality fare in a great atmosphere.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Pascoe186525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (299)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 299 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2018

This small bistro has a warm cosy atmosphere. The menu may not be wide but the food is excellent. As well as offering a selection of wines and beers, you can do BYOB. Try the fantastic Sunday lunch. Check the website or call to find out which roast is on.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Diamondlilksa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2018

Also good food served every time I go. Staff are always friendly when you go. The changes to the decor are very good and was needed. Good selection of wine and beers

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank gloryglory1875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2018

Visited Bijou for lunch with two friends today. Food was extremely disappointing and in fact unhygienic. I ordered poached egg with salmon, supposedly with hollandise sauce and served on bagel. Except, no sauce or bagel arrived. Instead it was served on two slices of brown sliced bread. Toasted (positive). But, poached eggs were obviously poached in vinegary water and not rested, or properly drained, which resulted in my bread being soaked with vinegary water (less than positive). I asked for replacement of bread but apparently there was no sliced bread left. So I got three slices of other bread instead. Alongside a long blond hair (no comment). This went back to the kitchen too and I was then presented with a slice of brown sliced bread (there was a loaf in the cellar after all). Untoasted (not so positive). My friend ordered bulgar wheat salad. Came extremely cold, straight from the fridge, lumpy and piled high on top of leaf salad. On a positive note, the waitress was very nice and apologetic. We also were only charged 50% of our bill. Nice gesture but as its not my first disappointment at Bijou, won't be returning or recommending.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tracy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2018 via mobile

Had a brilliant time here! The food was some of the best I've ever eaten, everything was brilliantly executed. On top of that the service was excellent, such a warm and friendly atmosphere without being in your face. And if that wasn't enough to convince you to go there then the prices will, portion sizes were generous and despite having an alcohol menu was also BYOB... Go there!

Sorry, no photos...we were too hungry and it was too yummy!

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank sophy1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bijou also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Bijou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing