We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Gloriously chic & relaxing”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Stable Mews

Welcome to 'Stable Mews'
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to 'Stable Mews'
Open plan living room/kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
Welcome to 'Stable Mews'
Open plan living room/kitchen
Beautiful bathroom
Cozy and comfortable bedroom
Exterior view
Edinburgh Castle
Stewart Monument
Edinburgh from Calton Hill
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
linus086
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Gloriously chic & relaxing”
Reviewed 29 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

I am lucky enough to travel a lot in my job which is a fantastic perk if the apartment or hotel is fabulous….a complete chore and verging on depressing if it’s not.
As an interior designer, my décor expectations are high and can make or break my trip. There's nothing like a set of brown and beige towels to ruin your stay.

I was nothing short of delighted when I walked into The Stable Mews, in fact (I’m not even embarrassed to tell you) there was a sharp intake of breath. This West End mews conversion down a picturesque, cobbled, Edinburgh street has been so tastefully restored and furnished, it’s an unabashed treat to be there.

There’s a stunning juxtaposition between the chic and contemporary fixtures, like the sleek gloss grey kitchen and granite topped table, with the nuances of original character namely the large sash & case windows and wood panelled walls.

The décor is a very soothing mixture of lilacs and plums, with a modern nod to it’s Scottish home – a smattering of plaid with the most gorgeous accessories.

The Stable Mews has all your modern day necessities from wifi, TV, microwave and radio alarm clock to the non-essential delights such as the coloured mood lighting and roll top bath. The kitchen provides you with everything you’d ever need on a break away be it for work or pleasure, and there is more than enough room for entertaining. The bathroom is surprisingly large with the decadent bath and feature fireplace. The double bed was superbly comfortable and the bedroom was such a relaxing, quiet space for unwinding.

If you’re planning a trip to Edinburgh and you don’t fancy the bustle of a boutique hotel I cannot recommend The Stable Mews highly enough. The owners Joanna and Sarah looked after me all the way through the booking process and I felt I could contact them at any point, even if only to ask about parking! The location of the mews is about a 10 minute wander away from the wonderful shops of George Street but you feel the privacy of the cobbles. I would rebook in a heartbeat.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The interior decor
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Sep 2016
Thank you for your lovely review.
It was a pleasure having you as guest and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamesscdo...
2 reviews
“5 Star - Perfect modern apartment with beautiful historic details.”
Reviewed 16 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

My wife and I fell in love with Stable Mews from the moment we walked into the beautiful, historic mews its located on - like walking onto the set of film.

The apartment itself is fantastically and tastefully decorated sharing the modernity of a 5 star hotel with the tasteful and historic touches of a rustic Scottish stable house.

We absolutely loved the features around the home - freestanding bath, beautiful kitchen and sofa!

We were delighted to stay here and had our best visit to Edinburgh yet - we will be staying here on our next visit for sure.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Sep 2016
Thank you for your lovely review. Your wife and yourself were a pleasure to have as guests and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmayer102...
Bad Vilbel, Germany
1 review
“The best holiday rental we have ever stayed in”
Reviewed 11 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Quality, design, comfort, furnishings, character, charm, location - everything in this brand new conversion was perfect! The charming and helpful owners could not have served us better. Every detail is covered, a welcome basket of Scottish delicacies, awaits, the beds are beyond comfortable and the already-charming property is so beautifully fitted with a real eye-for-design, that we took notes and pictures with a view to equipping our forthcoming holiday rental in London to this same design. It is impossible to praise one room over another: the comfort of the sitting room, the huge television with multiple channels, the solid high-speed WiFi, the brilliantly equipped kitchen, the pin-drop-quiet bedroom, or the luxurious bathroom. Pop outside and there are wonderful walks down the hill through utterly charming, ancient streets, with a short walk up the hill to Princes Street, the Castle, Haymarket Station. A short bus or tram ride takes you further into town to Waverley Station, or further out of town to the airport. The main bedroom sleeps two, the comfortable sofa-bed (a smaller double), another two. Or if one of the persons using the sofa bed likes to spread out, an amazingly comfortable full-thickness-mattress fold-out bed can be requested. We cannot IMAGINE a better place to stay in Edinburgh and look forward to our next visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The design - the colours, the comfort yet the sense of history. We could almost hear the horses who once lived there, swishing their tails and snuffling gently
Liked least: Nothing - everything was wonderful
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Sep 2016
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay in Edinburgh and Stable Mews.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
magina57
Atarfe, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing