We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
USD 149
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 168/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Scotsman Hotel(Edinburgh)
USD 267
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
USD 310
USD 278
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
USD 314
USD 195
Radisson Blu
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 222/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 126
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 140/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
USD 316
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
USD 212
USD 164
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
USD 280
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
USD 602
USD 478
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,468)
Filter reviews
1,468 results
Traveller rating
554
660
192
43
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
554
660
192
43
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroyal milegreat locationhi expressthe sofa bedfree breakfastcentral locationyogurtminute walkhigh streettrain stationreception staffarthur's seatrooms are smallshort staywi fiholyrood palacemain attractions
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 1,468 reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

Great hotel, close to the centre of the city. No parking but there are plenty of close by car parks. Breakfast included in the rate which was really good especially the sausages. I'd highly recommend this hotel!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank Matthew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018 via mobile

Chose this hotel for price- good value for the money. If you are looking for extras you won’t find them here. Room for 2 adults and 1 child was tiny- couldn’t walk around once the sofa bed was pulled out. Can hear your neighbors through the wall. Good location just one block off the Royal Mile and a 10 minute walk to Holyrood Park. There is also a Tesco one block down. After 9 pm you need your key to get in the front door. Room was clean, staff friendly at check in. Unfortunately, they don’t offer stamps for you to mail postcards which is a huge pet peeve of mine! How hard is it for hotels to offer this service? The mailman comes daily for pick up and guests would pay for the stamp so what’s the problem?? So annoying

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank W6Raven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Hi W6Raven,

Thanks for choosing Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile for your lodging needs and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

I'm sorry to hear that you were let down by the soundproofing of our rooms. Also, I understand that you had issues with the stamps for postcards. Know that providing every guest's needs is our top priority and we are always trying our best to give you a great impression. I have already brought up your comments to the hotel's attention and necessary actions will be taken to avoid the same inconvenience in the future.

On the upside, I'm happy that you found the cleanliness of our rooms satisfactory and you had pleasant encounters with our hotel staff. I've shared your compliments with the team and have been acknowledged by the hotel management.

Again, thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope to hear back from you soon and be of further assistance.

All the best,

Peter J.
Case Manager
IHGService

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2018 via mobile

The hotel has all necessary amenities, is clean and has spacious rooms. The location is a bit of a walking distance from Princes street and a short walk away from Royal Mile. Breakfast is good. A decent stay overall.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank anijaju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2018

We use Holiday Inn Express quite regularly wherever we go. Great value for your money.We know the rooms will be comfortable with everything we need and breakfast is also included. The hotel is extremely well situated near to the Royal Mile. The staff were very pleasant and helpful and the hotel was clean.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank MrsAVC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2018

Good location for royal mile and other attractions. Room was clean and tidy - bathroom was clean but could do with a re grout. Service was fine. Could leave bags before check in and after etc. Would recommend for a stay where you are mostly out and seeing the city but need somewhere clean and easy to come back to at night. Parking is at the NCP down the road and is subsided by the hotel. You can park out the front, unload bags then go and park in car park. Get ticket from machine and have it validated before you leave the hotel and then pay in the car park.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sw2102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2018

Hello sw2102,

I'm pleased to read your review and thank you for spending the night with us here in Edinburgh. With our location, I'm happy this perfectly suited your needs as well as the places you'd like to go. I feel great to leave you with a pleasant experience to remember of us. It made me smile knowing we have provided you with a clean and comfortable room, indeed, a great place to rest for the night. Thank you for the tips and insights with the parking and the bathroom grout. I'm sorry if it made you a bit uncomfortable.

I have shared your insights with our management to inspire and for us to do even better. Again, thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay with us. I look forward to hosting you once again and make it extraordinary.

Best regards,

Frank A.
Case Manager
IHGService

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews