We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet in the midst of everything” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile
Ranked #79 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
St Andrews, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Quiet in the midst of everything”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

Clean, comfortable, and quiet. The front desk staff were excellent and our room was spotless (kudos to the staff and management). It is in an excellent location and I doubt you could find a better price for the same level of comfort in the Old Town/Royal Mile. There were four of us to the room (2 adults and 2 young children) and we had plenty of space with a fold out bed for the kids.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CColombo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiexpressrm, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile, responded to this review, 20 May 2012
Thank you for your review - it's lovely to hear you felt welcome on your check in. As you state in your review we do not have our own car park, we are glad you managed to find a space outside the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    469
    550
    156
    38
    17
See reviews for
383
431
63
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Morecambe9
Level Contributor
80 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

My husband stayed here for one night whilst on business.

The Receptionist was pleasant and welcoming upon arrival. Parking could be an issue if you are travelling by car but he was fortunate to park right outside on street, which is free from 6.30pm – 8.30am. Apparently there is a NCP car park a short walk away and if staying at this hotel, you get a small discount.

The room was clean, there was plenty of space and the room was quiet. (4th floor at the side of the building).

Breakfast was enjoyable with plenty of choice and well presented. There would be something to cater for everyone’s tastes. A hot breakfast was available after 7.30am.

The room price was very reasonable for the area and the hotel is in a good location for the city.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Morecambe9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
83 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

The hotel is on Cowgate, a block south of, and slightly downhill from, the Royal Mile. It's really handy for the Castle and the Royal Mile, for Holyrood and for everything in the south-east of the city, including the Scottish Parliament and Our Dynamic Earth. The Royal Mile is less than five minutes' walk and the other destinations are not much more than ten minutes away. Princes Street and the New Town are not much farther.

The reception area features a small lounge with a bar and the welcome was friendly and helpful. My room was of a good size and had pretty much everything I needed, including an ensuite shower room with a good shower. Everything was very clean, in fact the hotel seemed quite new.

There are good places to eat in the surrounding streets. I'd particularly recommend David Bann, a vegetarian restaurant just a couple of minutes away, and I make that recommendation as a non-veggie. It was terrific.

Breakfast included a reasonable selection of cold buffet items and there was also scrambled egg and sausages.

All in all, a very pleasant base to which I'd happily return.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suilven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiexpressrm, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile, responded to this review, 12 May 2012
I am pleased you enjoyed your trip to Edinburgh. We are lucky to be situated right in the heart of Edinburgh and within close walking distance of all transport links and local attractions. Our rooms give travellers everything they need and our free breakfast and Wi-Fi add great value to your stay. As well as our front desk team our housekeeping team work tirelessly to ensure the hotel is kept sparkling clean and appears new and fresh – thank you for noticing this. I hope to have you returning to the hotel on your next visit to Edinburgh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

Good location being just 1 street from Royal Mile. Handy for everything in Old Town. Nice and quiet at night, our room looked in to the churchyard next door. Only a 10 minute walk to grassmarket with lots of nice pubs and eating places. Staff very friendly and helpful. We were going to a show at the Festival Theatre which was only a 5 minute walk away so was very handy. Hot breakfast was a bonus for the price we paid.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room. We got a room looking in to the gardens of a beautiful churchyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank collie99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

Stayed here for two nights. I asked a quiet room ahead and was given one.
Very convenient location for travel around and sight seeing.
Knowledgeable staff for any suggestions you need.
Loved wifi in a room and simple breakfast.
Room is kind small by the north american standard, but extremely clean and has everything that travelers need.
better that other HIE hotels I have stayed.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oceanrockwind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Broughton & Calton
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#22 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#44 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,318 reviews
Old Town
Premier Inn Edinburgh Royal Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile

Property: Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile
Address: 300 Cowgate, Edinburgh EH1 1NA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#32 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#35 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price range (per night): $108 - $363
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edinburgh city centre budget hotels don't come any better than the Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh-Royal Mile hotel, Edinburgh's only Express hotel with air conditioned guestrooms. There's FREE Wi-Fi internet access in the public areas and cabled access in the guestrooms plus an extensive complimentary hot breakfast buffet too - this Edinburgh budget hotel is sure to be a popular choice! As the name suggests Edinburgh's newest superior budget hotel is located in Edinburgh's quaint Old Town, just moments from the historic Royal Mile, Waverley Train Station and internationally renowned attractions such as Edinburgh Castle, Holyrood Palace, Scottish Parliament Building, Princes Street and more. For sports fans the Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh-Royal Mile hotel is within easy reach of Murrayfield Stadium, home of Scottish Rugby, as well as Hearts Football Club & Hibernian Football Club. For meetings in Edinburgh our fully equipped, air conditioned meeting room can accommodate up to 40 delegates. Thanks to our FREE Wi-Fi internet access delegates meeting in Edinburgh can keep in touch while on the go! Our location is perfect for delegates attending the Edinburgh International Conference Centre. NCP Car park 3 mins walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hooroo Pty Ltd, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, IHG, Odigeo and Wotif.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Express Edinburgh Royal Mile
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Edinburgh Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing