We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Blue Marlin - CLOSED

The Blue Marlin
Price range: USD 21 - USD 174
Cuisines: Seafood, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Transit: We are located 10min walk from the train station, and a 5min walk from the bus station.
Description: This modern seafood restaurant is situated in one of the original sheds on the Dundee dock. So as not to disappoint, we do not have a sea view as modern buildings now occupy the water front location. The restaurant is owned and run by husband and wife team Steve and Alison Hyatt. On offer is an international style menu show-casing a blend of flavours and textures from around the world with the great produce of Scotland. We have a special offer menu available at lunch and pre-theatre £11.50 for 1 course, £15 for 2 and £18.50 for all 3 to compliment our a la carte menu which you can enjoy lunch or dinner. Children of 8 years and above are welcome.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

This was our first visit to the Blue Marlin's new premises, which is in a great location near the Apex hotel where we were staying. I love the decor, and the atmopshere that's been created - it's spacious without feeling too big. We both had a lovely meal, accompanied by a bottle of prosecco and some dessert wine. We were asked if we were celebrating an occasion, and said that it was my birthday the next day. During dessert, the waiter brought me a wee box of chocolates! Much appreciated and makes customers feel that the hosts have taken an interest in them. We'll definitely be back!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Melanie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison H, Manager at The Blue Marlin, responded to this review, 1 March 2012
I am very pleased your birthday meal added to your celebration. Thank you for taking the time to share your views with others and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Dundee.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

309 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    72
    31
    20
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fab,the best sea food by far in Dundee”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

food was fantastic,service was very good. I do not mind paying good money for fantastic food, nice for date nights and something special.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Scotsciv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison H, Manager at The Blue Marlin, responded to this review, 1 March 2012
We really appreciate your time in sharing your positive review with others. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Best seafood ever and bexcellent selection of wines”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

We now frequent The Blue Marlin regularly as the food, service ,wine and ambience are first class and is perfect to visit with your partner or friends.Top marks to the chef and front house staff for their hospitality skills.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sabees_57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison H, Manager at The Blue Marlin, responded to this review, 1 March 2012
It always a joy to us when regular patrons to our restaurant take the time to share their positive experiences with Trip Advisor visitors that may not know Dundee but may visit.

We try very hard to ensure all customers enjoy their dining experience with us and strive for consistency and is nice to know we are achieving it to some measure. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dundee scotland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely Fish Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

We visited for the first time last night using the Itison Voucher and we were delighted.

The decor is very fresh and relaxing, with very nice table settings.

The tasting menu was beautifully done with fresh tasty food. ( Cullen Skink our favourite)

I had the wine pairing to match which was good value.

Service was nice too.

It was a lovely meal and I will be recommending this restaurant to my friends and I cant wait to return.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mollysooty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison H, Manager at The Blue Marlin, responded to this review, 1 March 2012
Thank you for your response. Our special offer tasting menu has been very well received and many good comments on the Cullen Skink. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
broughty Ferry
Level Contributor
62 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“One of the most outstanding restaurants in the area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

As we have eaten several times in this restaurant we knew the food would be outstanding as always
We used a voucher for a 5 course taster menu which was £35 for 2.The food was all excellent but for me the most delicious was Steves' Cullen Skink the flavours were out of this world
The only thing I would say that the service at table was not as slick as usual
We have already booked for next month for an American taster menu
Can't wait
Well done Alison, Steve and the Team
Alice & Dave Lowes

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AlicebroughtyFerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison H, Manager at The Blue Marlin, responded to this review, 1 March 2012
Thanks as always for your review and much appreciated support and look forward to seeing you later this week.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing