We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (304)
Filter reviews
304 results
Traveller rating
183
72
32
9
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
183
72
32
9
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews broughty ferry curry indian food family run hotel bar supper high tea pool and sauna leisure suite small hotel lovely surroundings my mum twin room lovely hotel st andrews breakfast was excellent car parking fantastic stay
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 304 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2018

Booked for grandsons 18th birthday and pretty muddier event next day in Dundee. The hotel is really nice, staff very pleasant and the rooms fairly spacious, it is an old building and the rooms lack all the squarness of the new builds but loads of character, Food was excellent in the evening and breakfast with lots of choice. Really worth a re-visit

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms away from the railway line side
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank BrianAT57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robyn16, Owner at The Hotel Broughty Ferry, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2018

Dear Brian,
Many thanks for your super comments, reviews such as yours make all our work really worthwhile. We hope to see you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Jeff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2018 via mobile

We came to Scotland for a wedding and chose here as it was close to venue.
Found easily and parked up with no problem. Booked in and shown to room by friendly lady.
We got all sorted and went for a quick walk. What a lovely little town. Everything close by, very clean. Walked along front and saw beautiful little castle /Fort. Free entry brilliant, lovely views across the bay.
Even in the evening no hassle walking around the town. No roudy pubs sprawling onto the roads. Went back to room and quickly fell asleep. Even though we had a room facing main road and pub across the road no extreme noise was heard.
Breakfast was great. Good selection of cereals and full brekki cooked how ud like. I was stuffed. The staff very friendly and helpful. A lovely little sun trap in the carpark so sat outside to have lunch. Only downside was pool was freeeeeezing, only found out afterwards that the heating not working in it, just thought we were being southan softies could of helped to put sign on door for gym as found it later and would have liked to use it. It looked good, plenty of equipment for the whole body.
Bar drinks, I think little on the high priced side 2large rum+mixers £19.70 but apart from that I'd definitely come back here and suggest to others to come here. Clean, friendly and comfortable.
Thank you x

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank l0rr41ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robyn16, Owner at The Hotel Broughty Ferry, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2018

Dear Lorraine,
Many thanks for your lovely review, all your kind words are very much appreciated. We hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future.
P.S. the pool is now very warm.
Kind regards,
Jeff Stewart ( Owner )

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2018

Access to the hotel is at the rear via the conservatory in the car park. Reception from there is up several stairs, some rooms are upstairs as is the dining room. There is a bar downstaires. No stair lift or elevator. Decor and furnishing very nice and tasteful.
Staff very welcoming and helpful.
Room small but had everything I needed and clean, although the curtain was off its rail. Bed and pillows not very comfortable but fine for one night. Room to front and main road but no noise disturbance.
Also has a small indoor heated pool and spa with gown and slippers supplied. This facility is included in the room price. This facility probably give them the four star rating.
Breakfast. Limited continental items. Hot food made to order.
Reasonably priced for four star, would I stay again. Perhaps

Room Tip: If mobility is an issue ask for a ground floor room.
Stayed: May 2018, travelled solo
2  Thank Eileen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robyn16, Owner at The Hotel Broughty Ferry, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2018

Dear Eileen,
Many thanks for your review. Everything with your comments sounds very positive, as for your opinion of the pillows and bed, it's very difficult to please all our visitors, everyone has different ideas the way a mattress or a pillow should feel, some like them hard, some like them medium and some like soft, just like a boiled egg !! A swimming pool in a hotel does not contribute anything towards the star rating,.In fact, we have just had our annual Visit Scotland report and the pool is not even mentioned, we have once more retained our 4 stars.
Quite surprised with your comments on breakfast, Variety of fresh fruit, five choices of cereals, home made muesli, grapefruit, peaches, orange juice and yogurts,followed by. full Scottish breakfast, eggs of your choice, bacon, sausages, blackpudding, mushrooms, tomato, and beans.
Choice of coffees, teas, hot chocolate and a variety of toast. We also offer a Gluten free menu. This is for the excruciating price of £7:00 per head !!!! Would we welcome you back, certainly, never a perhaps.
Kind regards,
Jeff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2018 via mobile

An excellent place for an overnight stop with parking. Well apppointed bedrooms with comfortable beds - however multiple stairs and no lift. Beautuful swimming pool (currently out of action).
We dined in the 1st floor restaurant & enjoyed an amazing selection of Indian food treats (traditional Scottish menu also available).

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Mezan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robyn16, Owner at The Hotel Broughty Ferry, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2018

Dear Mezan,
Many thanks for your wonderful review. Delighted you enjoyed your meals and had a very comfortable nights sleep. Sorry the pool was being refurbished, it is now up and running. Hopefully you will appreciate our leisure suite on your return in the not too distant future.
Kind regards,
Jeff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2018

We went for a long weekend to Scotland and booked to stay at Hotel Boughty Ferry. I had stayed at this hotel many years ago and was pleased to find out out it had not changes much at all. The location is ideal, being close to the sea, the shops and the railway station.

We had a very comfortable room, equipped with TV and tea/coffee making facilities and a nice bathroom. The leisure facilities were not open which was a minor disappointment. Breakfast was excellent and so was the evening meal. The menu has a interesting mix of British and Indian cuisine.

The service was excellent and the staff very friendly and accommodating.

All in all we enjoyed our stay and would certainly return.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dennis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robyn16, Owner at The Hotel Broughty Ferry, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2018

Dear Dennis C,
Many thanks for your lovely email, you have no idea just how much this means to myself and all my colleagues. We hope to see you again soon.
Take care,
Kind regards,
Jeff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews