We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay, friendly staff but more like a B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Taychreggan Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #23 of 28 Hotels in Dundee
Reviewed 14 November 2011

Lovely place downstairs, very nice restaurant with lovely food- in particular the duck and panna cotta with pink peppercorn tuille and spiced fruit. The staff were very friendly and made us feel very welcome. Breakfast was lovely. Room was clean and nice. Room was very cold and the walls were very thin so we could hear other guests snoring. The appliances including the radiator, phone and TV were all very dated which made it feel more like a b&b than a hotel- however, it would make for an excellent b&b. We got a good deal on this hotel- 2 nights for £89 which was ideal. I would return to this hotel but only if we got another similar deal, I don't think it would be worth the full rate but very pleasant stay neverthless.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NLOUS11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrewfairley, Owner at Taychreggan Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2011

Many thanks for posting a review. We welcome all feedback here at the Taychreggan. Very pleased to note that you enjoyed the restaurant and breakfast. I shall pass on your postive comments about the staff.
I have noted your comments about the appliances and pleased to note that the ongoing upgrade of the rooms continues.

Again thank you for taking the time to post a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (152)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

107 - 111 of 152 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2011

Just spent two nights in a twin bedded room with my elderly aunt. Can fully recommend; the bar is amazing and must be a whiskey lovers paradise.

High level of staff commitment to guests and the friendlinest hotel I think I;ve ever stayed in.

If they are serving high tea when you visit then its well worth having.

Room Tip: Room 5 has stunning views of the garden and the 'Ferry'
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlasgowTraveller10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrewfairley, Owner at Taychreggan Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2011

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review. We are delighted to read that you had such an enjoyable time with us. We look forward to seeing you back at the hotel, in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2011

Stayed here last weekend with my husband and cannot fault the hotel at all. The staff were friendly and helpful and the room was really nice. The food was brilliant. Would recommend this hotel.
Will be returning for our anniversary!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mhari30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrewfairley, Owner at Taychreggan Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2011

Thanks so much for your postive feedback. We are delighted that you had such an enjoyable time with us. We very much look forward to seeing you both soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Had a great stay here.
The location was lovely and the staff very friendly.
The new owners Kate and Andrew seem to be doing a fantastic job and were fantastic hosts.

I certainly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nairn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrewfairley, Owner at Taychreggan Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2011

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review. It is always very nice to read postive feedback. We look forward to seeing you at the hotel again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2011

It is a while since we visited the Taychreggan. Enjoyed a lovely lunch on our way North yesterday. Glad to report standards have been maintained! Hopefully when the rooms have been refurbished we can return for another stay. Good luck to the new owners

Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank dinah67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrewfairley, Owner at Taychreggan Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2011

Thank you for taking time to post a reveiw. We welcome all feedback at the hotel. Our current phase of works in the public areas are now complete.

We look forward to seeing you again at the hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dundee hotels
5.2 km away
Dunlaw House Hotel
Dunlaw House Hotel
#21 of 28 in Dundee
59 reviews
2.6 km away
Dundee Carlton Hotel
Dundee Carlton Hotel
#26 of 28 in Dundee
99 reviews
3.4 km away
Craigtay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Fisherman's Tavern Hotel
1.2 km away
Jolly's Hotel
Jolly's Hotel
#13 of 28 in Dundee
400 reviews
2.5 km away
Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taychreggan Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taychreggan Hotel & Restaurant

Address: 4 Ellieslea Road | Broughty Ferry, Dundee DD5 1JG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dundee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Dundee
Price Range: $95 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Taychreggan Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Taychreggan Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taychreggan Hotel And Restaurant
Taychreggan Hotel Dundee
Taychreggan Hotel & Restaurant Dundee, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing