We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Nice stay, friendly staff but more like a B&B” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taychreggan Hotel & Restaurant

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Taychreggan Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #23 of 31 Hotels in Dundee
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice stay, friendly staff but more like a B&B”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

Lovely place downstairs, very nice restaurant with lovely food- in particular the duck and panna cotta with pink peppercorn tuille and spiced fruit. The staff were very friendly and made us feel very welcome. Breakfast was lovely. Room was clean and nice. Room was very cold and the walls were very thin so we could hear other guests snoring. The appliances including the radiator, phone and TV were all very dated which made it feel more like a b&b than a hotel- however, it would make for an excellent b&b. We got a good deal on this hotel- 2 nights for £89 which was ideal. I would return to this hotel but only if we got another similar deal, I don't think it would be worth the full rate but very pleasant stay neverthless.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NLOUS11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrewfairley, Owner at Taychreggan Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 16 November 2011
Many thanks for posting a review. We welcome all feedback here at the Taychreggan. Very pleased to note that you enjoyed the restaurant and breakfast. I shall pass on your postive comments about the staff.
I have noted your comments about the appliances and pleased to note that the ongoing upgrade of the rooms continues.

Again thank you for taking the time to post a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    28
    23
    10
    7
See reviews for
34
57
6
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2011

Just spent two nights in a twin bedded room with my elderly aunt. Can fully recommend; the bar is amazing and must be a whiskey lovers paradise.

High level of staff commitment to guests and the friendlinest hotel I think I;ve ever stayed in.

If they are serving high tea when you visit then its well worth having.

Room Tip: Room 5 has stunning views of the garden and the 'Ferry'
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GlasgowTraveller10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrewfairley, Owner at Taychreggan Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 16 November 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review. We are delighted to read that you had such an enjoyable time with us. We look forward to seeing you back at the hotel, in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2011

Stayed here last weekend with my husband and cannot fault the hotel at all. The staff were friendly and helpful and the room was really nice. The food was brilliant. Would recommend this hotel.
Will be returning for our anniversary!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mhari30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrewfairley, Owner at Taychreggan Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 16 November 2011
Thanks so much for your postive feedback. We are delighted that you had such an enjoyable time with us. We very much look forward to seeing you both soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland, UK
Level Contributor
86 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

Had a great stay here.
The location was lovely and the staff very friendly.
The new owners Kate and Andrew seem to be doing a fantastic job and were fantastic hosts.

I certainly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nairn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrewfairley, Owner at Taychreggan Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 16 November 2011
Many thanks for taking the time to post a review. It is always very nice to read postive feedback. We look forward to seeing you at the hotel again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moray
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2011

It is a while since we visited the Taychreggan. Enjoyed a lovely lunch on our way North yesterday. Glad to report standards have been maintained! Hopefully when the rooms have been refurbished we can return for another stay. Good luck to the new owners

Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank dinah67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrewfairley, Owner at Taychreggan Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 19 July 2011
Thank you for taking time to post a reveiw. We welcome all feedback at the hotel. Our current phase of works in the public areas are now complete.

We look forward to seeing you again at the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dundee hotels
1.1 km away
Fisherman's Tavern Hotel
1.2 km away
Jolly's Hotel
Jolly's Hotel
#10 of 31 in Dundee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
1.1 km away
The Fort Hotel
The Fort Hotel
#22 of 31 in Dundee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
BEST WESTERN Woodlands Hotel
5.3 km away
Dunlaw House Hotel
Dunlaw House Hotel
#19 of 31 in Dundee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
2.6 km away
Dundee Carlton Hotel
Dundee Carlton Hotel
#28 of 31 in Dundee
3.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taychreggan Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taychreggan Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Taychreggan Hotel & Restaurant
Address: 4 Ellieslea Road | Broughty Ferry, Dundee DD5 1JG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dundee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Dundee
Price range (per night): $94 - $136
Hotel Class:3 star — Taychreggan Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Taychreggan Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taychreggan Hotel And Restaurant
Taychreggan Hotel Dundee
Taychreggan Hotel & Restaurant Dundee, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing