We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (9)
Filter reviews
9 results
Traveller rating
3
4
0
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
3
4
0
1
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 9 reviews
Reviewed 9 January 2013

The boathouse really is a one off! A unique luxury hideaway for couples, located right on the water’s edge.

This stylish conversion of a Victorian boathouse offers luxury waterside accommodation for two in the rolling Angus countryside near Dundee.
The former boathouse, built in 1855, has been totally refurbished and updated with superb facilities and is the perfect bolthole for a romantic escape or even your honeymoon.
we loved it!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank glencoe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingennie, General Manager at Leannan Boathouse, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2013

Thank you so much for your recent review. We are delighted to hear your comments and hope to welcome you back to the Leannan Boathouse soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2012

when we married at forbes of kingennie, we had the pleasure of having an overnight stay in the leannan boathouse. it is set in a beautiful location and nice and secluded. the lodge itself was very clean and with it being october it was nice and warm. it has a big jacuzzi bath and plenty hot water to fill it and had bath robes for us to use too. the bed was big and comfortable. waking up in the boat house was lovely, even though it was raining we opened the patio doors to beautiful scenery and a lone fisherman standing in the rain. tea and coffee were available in the kitchen for us getting up in the morning. the lodge also had umbrellas which came in very handy for us to get to the car without getting wet. it is a beautiful and peaceful lodge and would love to stay there again.

Room Tip: the leannan is perfect for couples wanting to get away together for a quiet weekend.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GLindsay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingennie, Manager at Leannan Boathouse, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2014

Thank you for your review of your stay in our Leannan Boathouse.

Belated congratulations on your wedding. I am thrilled to hear that you had a lovely time during your stay with us.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With thanks,

Kingennie Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2011

After a little bit of confusion (blame the sat nav) about the location, we were quickly checked in by the friendly team at Reception and given plenty of information to help with our stay. Our first impression of the Boathouse was extremely positive. While it's less secluded than the photos could imply, it sits on the water in a lovely spot. Due to the time of our visit many of the surrounding lodges were unoccupied so it was extremely quiet but I suspect it could be less private in the height of summer. The torch provided at check-in came in useful as it got pitch black on the approach but this actually added to the lovely, private feel.

You enter the Boathouse into a small hall then the bright, well-equipped kitchen and dining room before walking through to the living area, and downstairs to the bathroom and bedroom. Each room is beautifully finished with excellent features including audio that plays throughout the house, Sky TV, dvd players, and surround sound in the bedroom. The heron table in the living room may divide opinion!

We had a few issues getting some of the technology working as previous residents had evidently been tinkering with it, but we managed to get it sorted without having to get help from the management.

Unfortunately the restaurant and bar close at 5pm Mon to Wed in November, which we weren't told about at the time of booking but this is the only negative.

I would have no hesitation in returning.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1979la
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingennie, Manager at Leannan Boathouse, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2014

Thank you for your review of your stay in the Leannan Boathouse.

I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We do offer user booklets on each device in the lodge, these are found in the cupboard and a master copy of these can be found at reception. We do aim to tell all our guests where they are located, however on this occasion it may have been let slip. I can only apologise and assure you that I have passed on your query to our team to make sure all lodge guests are readily informed.

Our restaurant and bar do have shorter opening hours in the winter, however we are extending them this winter to ensure we meet the needs of our guests.

We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back soon.

With thanks,

Kingennie Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2011

My husband and I enjoyed a stay at the Leannan Lodge recently and apart from the torrential lane it was just the break we needed. The high standard of all the fittings and furishings, the sumptuous bed and fabulous Jacuzzi made it feel like we had found a little corner of paradise.
The staff were really helpful and let us linger a bit later the morning we were due to check out.
Only problems were couldn't get the remote controls to work and coming back at night it was a very dark walk to the front door.
Really hope we can go back again sometime!

Room Tip: A really romantic hideaway.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gayenah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingennie, Manager at Leannan Boathouse, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2014

Dear Gayenah,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay in our Leannan Boathouse.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your break with us and that you thought highly of the Leannan.

We have a great team here, who try their best to meet all the needs of our guests.

I will look into addressing the issue you had with lighting at night, there is lights to guide guests on our pathways however, we can look into putting additional lights in place.

We look forward to seeing you again soon,

With thanks,

Kingennie Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2010

This accomodation is very luxurious, well set up with quality fittings throughout.
However it is NOT as secluded as the website pictures make it appear, there are other lodges to the side, behind it and across the fishing lake (which is not very big) - it is the only one on the banks of the lake. It was very peaceful when we were there but it was 'out of season'.
The jacuzi bath is lovely but the only shower is a hand held one over that bath so not very practical to use.
Unfortunately when we were there th music system was not working and a response of ' the repair man is holiday this week 'did not seem good enough to me in a 4* property.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jensmum101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingennie, Manager at Leannan Boathouse, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2014

Thank you for your review of our Leannan Boathouse.

I am very sorry to hear about some of the concerns you had with your stay. Our boathouse, although near some of our other Woodland lodges, does remain quiet and peaceful throughout the year.

I an very sorry about the music system, I can assure you that the response you received is not one that is expected from our team, we do try our very best to accommodate all the needs of our guests. I will be following up to make sure this does not happen again. I can only apologise and hope that is does not refrain you from visiting us again.

With Thanks,

Kingennie Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews