We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic Christmas Break”
other travellers have booked this property
Denhead House and Denhead Cottage overlooking our beautiful garden.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Denhead House and Denhead Cottage overlooking our beautiful garden.
Denhead Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
Denhead House and Denhead Cottage overlooking our beautiful garden.
Denhead Cottage
The Patio - all ready for relaxing.
The Patio - securely fenced.
Private Front Door Entrance
Entrance and Parking.
View from Patio- overlooking our garden and farmland adjacent. Lovely farm walks at cottage.
Aerial view of Denhead House and Cottage
Main Bedroom - a spacious beautiful room with quality furniture.
The Super King size bed set out for Christmas guests.
Main bedroom in evening light.
Corner Bath.
Basin and WC with corner bath on left.
New Walk-in Shower.
Bedroom 2 which has beautiful antique light oak furniture. Here beds have  made up into a superking.
Second Bedroom laid out for Christmas guests. Beds made up as 3' twin beds.
Kitchen and Dining Area for 6.
Our Christmas and New Year Welcome Basket.
A crisp bright winters day at the Cottage and our house next door.
Kitchen Area with hob, oven, microwave, fridge, dishwasher, washing machine and tumble drier
Lounge which has a flat screen t.v.
The large Lounge with curtains drawn. A cosy nest chair big enough for two!
Large Lounge with bedroom door.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Dundee, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Fiona D
2 reviews
“Fantastic Christmas Break”
Reviewed 23 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We returned to Denhead Cottage for Christmas after staying in summer 2014. It was just as welcoming with added festive touches inc decorations, mince pies and crackers - just what you need when leaving your home behind at Xmas! The cottage was toasty warm and comfortable, esp the spacious living area which now has a large swivel arm chair which the kids loved. To see this time the low winter sun views across the Tay Estuary was special. There's a good DVD/games/books collection, the kitchen has everything we needed to be able to cater and prepare food to take to family gatherings, there's parking for 2 cars, and day trips are easy. We couldn't have asked for more. Thanks again to our lovely and attentive hosts Pam and Nigel.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Returning and finding it even better
Liked least: Nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jan 2016
Thanks Fiona and we are so pleased you had enjoyed the cottage. We couldn't lay on the snow unfortunately but that would have maybe stopped you going to the Christmas activities and family. We try and make it special at this time for guests and we are lucky there is so much to see and do at this time of the year. Hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma D
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
“The perfect Christmas holiday”
Reviewed 18 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

This was our second visit to Denhead Cottage, the last being a summers visit. Our winter Christmas retreat was every bit as wonderful as our summer experience was a few years ago. On arrival our Christmas welcome treats were just lovely and beautifully set the scene for our holiday. The cottage is perfectly located for visiting family in nearby villages and Dundee, iceskating at the Dundee Ice Arena, visiting nearby historic castles, taking in the Christmas lights of Edinburgh with a night at the theater, the sights and culinary delights of St Andrews or simply a drive to the nearby Glen Clova to experience the breathtaking snow capped mountains. Waking each morning to the sunrise over The Tay and watching the local horses wander out to their paddocks was the perfect start to each day. With the close of each days experiences knowing there was a warm, cosy (with some lovely Christmas touches) cottage to greet us home each night so we could tuck the children warmly into their beds. The perfect Christmas winters holiday. Thank you to our lovely hosts. We will be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jan 2016
So glad you and family had a good Christmas stay. You certainly seemed to go and see many of the attractions that we are lucky to have near us.
We look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol G
Croydon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely fantastic cottage, wonderful stay.”
Reviewed 31 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

All you could wish for at Denhead cottage, peaceful and tranquil. Everything that we required was provided at the cottage, a real home from home. Beautiful surroundings overlooking the owners gardens, very picturesque. Spent a lovely week here as a base to visit family in Dundee. Lovely welcome pack provided. I would highly recommend this cottage. Look forward to returning again at some point. The icing on the cake was that dogs were made welcome and they thoroughly enjoyed the freedom of the neighbouring fields and large parks in the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The home from home feeling and the view
Liked least: There is nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Nov 2015
Thank you for this lovely review. We are glad you enjoyed the cottage and its location. We are very lucky to have off road walks right from the cottage and woods and parks close by. We like it when the dogs enjoy their holiday too! Hope to see you all again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol C
1 review
“Tthe cottage was perfect, a real home from home!”
Reviewed 23 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Stayed at Denhead cottage with my husband and teenage daughter. Received a warm welcome from the owners plus a welcome basket which was a nice touch. The cottage is lovely, the owners have thought of everything to make your stay as comfortable as possible. It is in a very nice location, really peaceful but not too far away from Dundee. we used the passes for Piperdam to have a swim and sauna which was an unexpected bonus.
i would like to stay here again and would recommend this place to anyone without hesitation.
Absolutely wonderful!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The accomodation and the location
Liked least: Coming home
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Nov 2015
Stayed at Denhead cottage with my husband and teenage daughter. Received a warm welcome from the owners plus a welcome basket which was a nice touch. The cottage is lovely, the owners have thought of everything to make your stay as comfortable as possible. It is in a very nice location, really peaceful but not too far away from Dundee. we used the passes for Piperdam to have a swim and sauna which was an unexpected bonus. i would like to stay here again and would recommend this place to anyone without hesitation. Absolutely wonderful!

Thanks very much for your super review. We are glad you enjoyed holidaying at the cottage. We also like the fact that we are in very easy reach of Dundee City but at the same time are in a rural location. It?s handy too for popping over to visit St Andrews or to take a trip to Edinburgh. The link M90 link dual carriage way is only 2 miles from us. We are pleased you used the Piperdam Golf and Leisure resort passes. It?s a lovely facility for us to have right on the doorstep. The pool is a great size for a ?proper swim? and they have recently extended the gym. The food is very very good too!
We look forward very much to welcoming you back to Denhead Cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan A
York, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Wonderful cottage, wonderful views!”
Reviewed 4 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

The location of the cottage was perfect for us - only 5 minutes drive from the Ice Arena which was great for our very early morning starts. The cottage is so comfortable, and extremely well equipped with dishwasher, coffee maker etc. All of the rooms are bright with beautiful views over gardens and farmland and the bathroom has both a bath and walk in shower. The owners couldn't have been more helpful and we look forward to returning again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Amenities and views
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Nov 2015
Thank you very much for your review.
I must admit to feeling very sorry for you getting up at 5.30 a.m. to take your daughter to her training session at the Dundee Ice arena but very admiring of your dedication! We are so glad your daughter enjoyed her training days. Other guests who have stayed have commented how good the weeks course is. The cottage is really handy for the ice rink.
We are happy too that you managed to have a holiday yourselves and the cottage worked out well for you and you found it well equipped with all you needed.
It was a pleasure to meet you and we look forward to seeing you all again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing