We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Work trip ”

Dundee Science Centre
Ranked #23 of 90 things to do in Dundee
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Explore the wonders of the science. Immerse yourself in over 80 hands-on, fun and interactive exhibits. Experience one of our exciting live science shows. Relax over a coffee or browse our range of gifts at Dundee Science Centre - a fun and exhilarating experience for the whole family. Open 10am to 5pm, 361 days a year.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase, Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Stairs / lift
Reviewed 8 August 2018 via mobile

Very good .spent ages here , took young disabled lad plenty for him to do .
At reduced rate ,but ordinary families cant afford this very often could be doing with cheaper entry for people in local areas .

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank heather f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DundeeSciCentre, The Visitor Services Team at Dundee Science Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2018

Hi Heather F,

Thank you for a great review! We're happy to hear you and the young one enjoyed the visit to the centre recently.

We hope to see you both again soon.

Kind regards,

The Visitor Services Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (324)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"musical instruments"
in 4 reviews
"human body"
in 4 reviews
"interactive exhibits"
in 13 reviews
"rainy day"
in 13 reviews
"all ages"
in 18 reviews
"few hours"
in 12 reviews
"couple of hours"
in 12 reviews
"year olds"
in 5 reviews
"school holidays"
in 5 reviews
"family ticket"
in 4 reviews
"first floor"
in 5 reviews
"soup"
in 4 reviews
"robot"
in 19 reviews
"experiment"
in 15 reviews
"cafe"
in 74 reviews
"csi"
in 5 reviews
"surgery"
in 5 reviews
Filter

20 - 24 of 324 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2018 via mobile

I've been taking my grandson ( now 9) to the science centre for four years and it's always good but this exhibition was fantastic. Well done to the team! My grandson was engrossed for hours, learning about music making ( especially synthesized) and Inside the body( including doing mockup, hands on operations! )

Date of experience: August 2018
1  Thank F3919IWjayneb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DundeeSciCentre, The Visitor Services Team at Dundee Science Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2018

Hi Jayne B,

Thank you for such a lovely review.

It's great hearing you and your grandson have been visiting the centre for so many years and still have a great time visiting.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Kind regards,

The Visitor Services Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2018

There are two floors to this relatively new venture (2000) with the upper housing the new interactive medical display from july 2018.There are the usual historical surgical instruments but in contrast an oportuniy to practice both your endoscopy ,ultrasonic and key whole surgery skills all of which my grandchildren excelled in.
There was an excellent half hour medical horrors presentation conducted by a youthfull enthusiastic member of staff much enjoyed by the children as it was interactive educational and funny.
Downstairs the displays are interesting but now well worn and showing there age however if you like flashing lights and making noises you will be content.
There is ample paid parking clean toillets and a big café ans small shop

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Martin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DundeeSciCentre, The Visitor Services Team at Dundee Science Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2018

Hi Martin P,

Thank you for leaving an in-depth review of your visit to the centre, We're glad to hear your grandchildren enjoyed their visit to the centre by getting hands on with our Medical Marvels exhibition and participating in our Medical Myths & Mysteries show.

We hope to see you in the centre again soon.

Kind regards,

The Visitor Services Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2018 via mobile

We took our two young grandchildren ages 6and 9 and whilst there were some exhibits of interest to them much was outside their scope. Some exhibits were either not working or poorly labelled and they quickly became bored. In short poor value given the vast range of topics available under the science heading. Gift Aid was also handled very strangely where we had to pay the extra and was given a chance to reclaim the money at the cafeteria. In other similar settings there is no extra charge and the organisation submits claims. Whilst it all might be legal it is still a suspicious activity.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Walter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DundeeSciCentre, The Visitor Services Team at Dundee Science Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2018

Dear Walter C,

We are sorry you were disappointed with the range of science topics represented in Dundee Science Centre. When we first opened, in July 2000, our science centre was focused solely on the five senses; however we have evolved significantly over the years that have followed and we have added in more science themes - from medicine and music through to dinosaurs and space. We change our exhibitions wherever possible and we also focus on hosting a diverse programme of science workshops, shows and ‘meet-the-expert’ events with a range of scientists from our local universities, colleges and industry. We are always working on new themes to add into the visitor experience and, as independent charity, we are currently fundraising to upgrade some of our ground floor exhibition as part of our next major development project. We are looking forward to working with our members and local community to design the new exhibits. If you have any specific science themes you’d like to see in our exhibition and/or programmes, please do feel free to get in touch with us directly on 01382 228800 and we’d be happy to explore these ideas.

In terms of our Gift Aid process, we operate under strict compliance with a policy that has been developed in accordance with, and approved by, Her Majesty’s Revenue & Customs (HMRC). We have an Opt-in process, which means we add on the voluntarily 10% to the admission price only if a visitor has chosen to participate in Gift Aid. This then turns the whole ticket amount into a donation and we can reclaim the tax and use the funds towards our charitable activities. As a ‘thank you’ for participating in Gift Aid for our charity, we provide a discount voucher for our coffee shop. For visitors who do not choose to participate in Gift Aid when they are buying for their entrance tickets, they pay the standard admission price – as per our website and information board at reception. We would be happy to explain our policy with you if you’d like to contact us directly on 01382 228800.

Kind regards,

The Visitor Services Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2018

My husband and I had a great time here last week, we are (young) senior citizens and went from each section trying out all the interactive things and had a ball! Never too old to learn something new or just have fun. Two hours flashed past! We went at opening time and it was fairly quiet for the first hour but it soon got busy as the school holidays are still on but have to say the children were really intrigued by the exhibits and obviously enjoying themselves. Coffee was lovely and toilets really nice. Staff were polite and gift shop not too expensive. Well worth a visit at any age!

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Quesera2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DundeeSciCentre, The Visitor Services Team at Dundee Science Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2018

Hi Quesera2018,

Thank you for such a great review! We're happy to hear that you and your husband enjoyed your recent visit to the centre. It's great knowing that people from all different ages can take away a great experience.

We hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards,
The Visitor Services Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dundee Science Centre also viewed

 
Dundee, Scotland
 

Been to Dundee Science Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing