We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Day out”

Dundee Science Centre
Ranked #29 of 122 things to do in Dundee
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Explore the wonders of the science. Immerse yourself in over 80 hands-on, fun and interactive exhibits. Experience one of our exciting live science shows. Relax over a coffee or browse our range of gifts at Dundee Science Centre - a fun and exhilarating experience for the whole family. Open 10am to 5pm, 361 days a year.
Useful Information: Stairs / lift, Food available for purchase, Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children
Reviewed 1 August 2018 via mobile

I visited the science centre with my two children (6 and 3). We had a fantastic time. The new medical area upstairs is excellent, there are a lot of hands on exhibits which we all really enjoyed. The music exhibition down stairs is also excellent, the children had a great time trying out lots of musical instruments. We had a great time at the science centre and will definitely be back. There was lots to do for my young children but equally there would be lots to do for older children too. A great place for all the family.

1  Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DundeeSciCentre, The Visitor Services Team at Dundee Science Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2018

Hi Fiona M,

Thank you for giving such a lovely review. We're happy to hear everyone enjoyed their visit and having different exhibits that they loved.

We hope to see you all again soon!

Kind regards,
The Visitor Services Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (311)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"animal handling"
in 5 reviews
"human body"
in 4 reviews
"interactive exhibits"
in 12 reviews
"rainy day"
in 12 reviews
"all ages"
in 18 reviews
"few hours"
in 10 reviews
"couple of hours"
in 11 reviews
"two floors"
in 3 reviews
"year olds"
in 4 reviews
"member of staff"
in 3 reviews
"soup"
in 4 reviews
"great place to visit"
in 3 reviews
"robot"
in 19 reviews
"dinosaurs"
in 13 reviews
"cafe"
in 71 reviews
"csi"
in 5 reviews
"exhibition"
in 33 reviews
Filter

13 - 17 of 311 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2018 via mobile

Good day out had lots to do with our young children. Food was good we never did any talk as we took out tune around it.

Thank Melissa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DundeeSciCentre, The Visitor Services Team at Dundee Science Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2018

Hi Melissa T,

We're happy to hear you enjoyed your visit to the centre. Hopefully you'll be able to visit us again soon and join in with our shows that run throughout the day.

We hope to see you again!

Kind regards,
The Visitor Services Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2018 via mobile

Me and my 2 year old daughter were there yesterday. Staff are super nice and spent 2 hours playing and having great time with my daughter. Staff were fantastic I can't praise them enough. Would Highly recommend this places

Thank shawn m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DundeeSciCentre, The Visitor Services Team at Dundee Science Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2018

Hi Shawn M,

Thank you for a great review - we're happy to hear that yourself and daughter enjoyed your visit to the centre recently. I'll be sure to share your kind words with the wider team working throughout your visit.

We hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards,

The Visitor Services Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2018 via mobile

Popped in here as we had an enjoyable visit last summer, and we knew they had a new exhibit. Unfortunately although the medical exhibit upstairs was pretty new and interesting, it was much the same as last year downstairs and quite a few of the exhibits were tired or simply not working. Most of the first floor is taken up with a musical exhibit which is very samey and not hugely stimulating. The staff going about the exhibits though as always are great and very interesting. All in all, we spent an entire afternoon here last year and this year were done within an hour!

Thank Dundee1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DundeeSciCentre, Visitor Services Team at Dundee Science Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2018

Dear Dundee1979,

We’re really pleased you found our team and our new Medical Marvels exhibits interesting. Unfortunately it is not possible to change all of our exhibition space each year but, as an independent charity, we were really pleased to have fundraised £2 Million to create our new Medical Marvels exhibition and Science Learning Suite which opened this summer. Along with the new Medical Marvel exhibition, we introduced our new Medical Myths & Mysteries show and we hope you saw and enjoyed this during your visit. We change our shows at key periods throughout the year to also add variety (for example we’ll be running another new show in October, called ‘Design It, Build it, Test it’), and we host travelling exhibitions such as the Music Mayhem one that is currently on our ground floor. We chose to bring back Music Mayhem (an exhibition we hire from Germany) following its really positive visitor feedback when it was last here in 2015.

Amidst constructing the new 1st floor space, exhibits and shows, we’ve also been busy fundraising for our next major development project which we look forward to sharing more details on very soon.

Our Science Communicators and IT & Facilities Manager conduct frequent checks of our exhibition to ensure exhibits are operational; it would be really useful to discuss your experience so we understand what specific exhibit/s you are referring to. If you would like to discuss your recent experience or our future plans, we would be happy to hear from you by phone (01382 228800), email (staff@dundeesciencecentre.org.uk) or in person at the science centre.

With many thanks again for your feedback,

Visitor Services Team at Dundee Science Centre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2018

We brought our 10 and 12 year old girls to visit the Dundee Science Centre after a recommendation on a local Facebook page. Although the centre is small, it is well laid out and easy to get around. I had worried that given their ages, the girls might have found the centre too babyish or boring, but they both enjoyed the interactive nature of the exhibits, and we spent a good couple of hours working through each interactive station. All staff that we encountered were polite and helpful, and lunch in the cafe was reasonably priced and tasty.

Thank Deb E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DundeeSciCentre, Visitor Services Team at Dundee Science Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2018

Hi Deb E,

Thanks for the kind words. We're glad to hear everyone enjoyed their most recent trip to the centre - it's great hearing people of all ages enjoying the exhibits.

We hope we'll be able to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

The Visitor Services Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dundee Science Centre also viewed

 

Been to Dundee Science Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing