We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delicious evening meal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hartfell House & The Limetree Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 24 Moffat B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 October 2017

We recently stayed one night as a stopover in Moffat. We were able to park our car in the bays fronting the guest house. Our room on the first floor was very generous, very clean, with a double and single bed. It faced onto the gardens at the rear of the property and was very quiet with the windows opened. Tea and coffee making facilities, and biscuits were provided in the room. The bathroom had a shower cubicle, and showergel, shampoo and body lotion were provided. What really enhanced our stay was our meal in the Limetree restaurant which is housed in the guest house. One of the best meals we have experienced and very reasonably priced for the standard of food. Our three course meal was £29 per head, and every course was delicious. If we lived locally, we would be regular visitors to this restaurant. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelcaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (174)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 174 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2017

Nice quiet location in a lovely area. Our hosts were brilliant and the food in the Lime Tree Restaurant was superb. The bed was very comfortable and I slept like a log. We would definitely come here again if we come back this way

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank shirjanfree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017 via mobile

We have been coming to stay at Hartfell House for a number of years as a halfway stop to and from The highlands and have never been disappointed. The rooms are very comfortable and the hosts Rob and Mhairi have always been very welcoming. The icing on the cake is the restaurant always excellent food and service, thoroughly recommended

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank 131Billy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017

Great owners and food. Lovely room that was warm and clean. A great place to explore the old part of Moffat with high street walking distance with it's great pubs, shops. A short drive to the Devils Beef Tub and Corehead farm. It was a great place to visit the small shops and the friendly people. I will looking for a house to buy there once I retire.

Room Tip: A great place to lay down your head and rest
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zeddsaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017

After a nightmare journey from the South Coast it was great to reach the hotel. We were warmly welcomed and shown our room which had great views out over the hills. The room fine and the en-suite compact but we had no complaints, and slept very soundly.

We had booked a meal in the restaurant, and it was excellent we had smoked aubergine and salmon as starters then both had duck for the main. The food was really well presented and even more importantly tasted fantastic. The wine list was good and reasonably priced. Service was excellent and very friendly.

Breakfast was great too and filled us up for the day.

Would highly recommend and will stay again if we're in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank bean10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Moffat hotels
0.5 km away
Buccleuch Arms Hotel
Buccleuch Arms Hotel
#1 of 4 in Moffat
263 reviews
0.4 km away
Best Western Moffat House Hotel
0.4 km away
Annandale Arms Hotel
Annandale Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Moffat
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
#3 of 4 in Moffat
286 reviews
0.3 km away
MacIntyre Lodge
MacIntyre Lodge
#7 of 24 in Moffat
55 reviews
0.3 km away
No 29 Well Street B & B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hartfell House & The Limetree Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hartfell House & The Limetree Restaurant

Address: Hartfell House Hartfell Crescent, Moffat DG10 9AL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Moffat
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Moffat
Price Range: AU$129 - AU$169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hartfell House & The Limetree Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1850, this impressive Victorian house is in a peaceful terrace high above the town, having lovely views of the surrounding countryside. Beautifully maintained, its bedrooms offer high quality and comfort. The award winning Limetree Restaurant serves a charismatic blend of modern and traditional cooking with Scottish and global influence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Hartfell House & The Limetree Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hartfell House & The Limetree Restaurant Hotel Moffat
Hartfell House And The Limetree Restaurant
Hartfell House & The Limetree Restaurant Moffat, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing