We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (197)
Filter reviews
197 results
Traveller rating
151
38
8
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
151
38
8
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cul de sac wonderful food three course meal memory foam bed hotel is spotlessly clean halfway stop a quiet residential area good food guide shower cubicle wine list car rally great britain quality products top floor town centre attentive hosts small hotel
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 197 reviews
Reviewed 30 September 2017

Nice quiet location in a lovely area. Our hosts were brilliant and the food in the Lime Tree Restaurant was superb. The bed was very comfortable and I slept like a log. We would definitely come here again if we come back this way

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank shirjanfree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017 via mobile

We have been coming to stay at Hartfell House for a number of years as a halfway stop to and from The highlands and have never been disappointed. The rooms are very comfortable and the hosts Rob and Mhairi have always been very welcoming. The icing on the cake is the restaurant always excellent food and service, thoroughly recommended

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank 131Billy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017

Great owners and food. Lovely room that was warm and clean. A great place to explore the old part of Moffat with high street walking distance with it's great pubs, shops. A short drive to the Devils Beef Tub and Corehead farm. It was a great place to visit the small shops and the friendly people. I will looking for a house to buy there once I retire.

Room Tip: A great place to lay down your head and rest
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zeddsaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017

After a nightmare journey from the South Coast it was great to reach the hotel. We were warmly welcomed and shown our room which had great views out over the hills. The room fine and the en-suite compact but we had no complaints, and slept very soundly.

We had booked a meal in the restaurant, and it was excellent we had smoked aubergine and salmon as starters then both had duck for the main. The food was really well presented and even more importantly tasted fantastic. The wine list was good and reasonably priced. Service was excellent and very friendly.

Breakfast was great too and filled us up for the day.

Would highly recommend and will stay again if we're in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank bean10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017

Arrived later than planned due to traffic, warm welcome and quickly shown to our room. Lovely view from our room over the hills. Room spacious, comfortable and tidy. Accommodated us in the restaurant as well at short notice. Good variety for evening meal options, food was excellent. Good selection for breakfast; cereals, fresh fruit and yogurt, then variety of cooked breakfasts. The Full Scottish was very nice! Would definitely recommend and hopefully will return one day.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1111travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews