We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (197)
Filter reviews
197 results
Traveller rating
151
38
8
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
151
38
8
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cul de sac wonderful food three course meal memory foam bed hotel is spotlessly clean halfway stop a quiet residential area good food guide shower cubicle wine list car rally great britain quality products top floor town centre attentive hosts small hotel
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 197 reviews
Reviewed 21 September 2017

After a nightmare journey from the South Coast it was great to reach the hotel. We were warmly welcomed and shown our room which had great views out over the hills. The room fine and the en-suite compact but we had no complaints, and slept very soundly.

We had booked a meal in the restaurant, and it was excellent we had smoked aubergine and salmon as starters then both had duck for the main. The food was really well presented and even more importantly tasted fantastic. The wine list was good and reasonably priced. Service was excellent and very friendly.

Breakfast was great too and filled us up for the day.

Would highly recommend and will stay again if we're in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank bean10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017

Arrived later than planned due to traffic, warm welcome and quickly shown to our room. Lovely view from our room over the hills. Room spacious, comfortable and tidy. Accommodated us in the restaurant as well at short notice. Good variety for evening meal options, food was excellent. Good selection for breakfast; cereals, fresh fruit and yogurt, then variety of cooked breakfasts. The Full Scottish was very nice! Would definitely recommend and hopefully will return one day.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1111travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017

We went to Moffat after hearing that they put on a great fireworks display at the new year ,we stayed at hartfell & the limestree restaurant, a very nice small hotel with parking and restaurant ,the rooms are well furnished and comfrey with modern bathrooms we had a nice breakfast each day and the restaurant was busy New Year's Eve ,Moffat is well worth a visit

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jbirks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017

My parents have been staying at Hartfell House and eating at the Limetree restaraunt for many years and decided to spend their golden wedding anniversary there. So, my brother, his partner, my wife and I all stayed to celebrate with our parents. My wife and I arrived two hours before checking in time to decorate my parents room and dining table. The owner could not have been more helpful and allowed us to check in early. Our room was spotlessly clean, a good size, with a high ceiling. Excellent shower and a comfortable memory foam bed. Quality complementary toiletries available in the bathroom. Our room (number 6) had a great view.
The meal was superb. Service was good and friendly. Excellent wine and coffee. I have an intolerance to sunflower seeds and the owners could not have been more accommodating. The breakfast was equally as good, using quality products throughout.
Everyone in our party thoroughly enjoyed their stay and my parents had a golden wedding anniversary to remember. Thanks to everyone at Hartfell House and the Limetree restaurant.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank heppy88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017 via mobile

If you find yourself within striking distance of this restaurant, somewhat isolated in a not particularly touristy part of Scotland, then make the effort to book a table and go. We were 90mins drive away, but would have happily driven much further to sample its marvellous food. The host was friendly, helpful and completely unpretentious, Michelin star or no! Good craft gins for a G&T while perusing the menu; a decent wine list and the most wonderful food imaginable!
If you are in the area, don't miss it!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Maroc365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews