We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay to explore Greater Moffat Area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hartfell House & The Limetree Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 24 Moffat B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 September 2017

Great owners and food. Lovely room that was warm and clean. A great place to explore the old part of Moffat with high street walking distance with it's great pubs, shops. A short drive to the Devils Beef Tub and Corehead farm. It was a great place to visit the small shops and the friendly people. I will looking for a house to buy there once I retire.

Room Tip: A great place to lay down your head and rest
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zeddsaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (174)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 174 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2017

After a nightmare journey from the South Coast it was great to reach the hotel. We were warmly welcomed and shown our room which had great views out over the hills. The room fine and the en-suite compact but we had no complaints, and slept very soundly.

We had booked a meal in the restaurant, and it was excellent we had smoked aubergine and salmon as starters then both had duck for the main. The food was really well presented and even more importantly tasted fantastic. The wine list was good and reasonably priced. Service was excellent and very friendly.

Breakfast was great too and filled us up for the day.

Would highly recommend and will stay again if we're in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank bean10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017

Arrived later than planned due to traffic, warm welcome and quickly shown to our room. Lovely view from our room over the hills. Room spacious, comfortable and tidy. Accommodated us in the restaurant as well at short notice. Good variety for evening meal options, food was excellent. Good selection for breakfast; cereals, fresh fruit and yogurt, then variety of cooked breakfasts. The Full Scottish was very nice! Would definitely recommend and hopefully will return one day.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1111travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017

We went to Moffat after hearing that they put on a great fireworks display at the new year ,we stayed at hartfell & the limestree restaurant, a very nice small hotel with parking and restaurant ,the rooms are well furnished and comfrey with modern bathrooms we had a nice breakfast each day and the restaurant was busy New Year's Eve ,Moffat is well worth a visit

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jbirks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017

My parents have been staying at Hartfell House and eating at the Limetree restaraunt for many years and decided to spend their golden wedding anniversary there. So, my brother, his partner, my wife and I all stayed to celebrate with our parents. My wife and I arrived two hours before checking in time to decorate my parents room and dining table. The owner could not have been more helpful and allowed us to check in early. Our room was spotlessly clean, a good size, with a high ceiling. Excellent shower and a comfortable memory foam bed. Quality complementary toiletries available in the bathroom. Our room (number 6) had a great view.
The meal was superb. Service was good and friendly. Excellent wine and coffee. I have an intolerance to sunflower seeds and the owners could not have been more accommodating. The breakfast was equally as good, using quality products throughout.
Everyone in our party thoroughly enjoyed their stay and my parents had a golden wedding anniversary to remember. Thanks to everyone at Hartfell House and the Limetree restaurant.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank heppy88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Moffat hotels
0.5 km away
Buccleuch Arms Hotel
Buccleuch Arms Hotel
#1 of 4 in Moffat
258 reviews
0.4 km away
Best Western Moffat House Hotel
0.3 km away
MacIntyre Lodge
MacIntyre Lodge
#8 of 24 in Moffat
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Queensberry House
Queensberry House
#1 of 24 in Moffat
261 reviews
0.3 km away
No 29 Well Street B & B
0.4 km away
Bridge House Moffat
Bridge House Moffat
#4 of 24 in Moffat
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hartfell House & The Limetree Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hartfell House & The Limetree Restaurant

Address: Hartfell House Hartfell Crescent, Moffat DG10 9AL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Moffat
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Moffat
Price Range: $123 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hartfell House & The Limetree Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1850, this impressive Victorian house is in a peaceful terrace high above the town, having lovely views of the surrounding countryside. Beautifully maintained, its bedrooms offer high quality and comfort. The award winning Limetree Restaurant serves a charismatic blend of modern and traditional cooking with Scottish and global influence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Book Direct Rooms, lastminute.com.au and Odigeo so you can book your Hartfell House & The Limetree Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hartfell House And The Limetree Restaurant
Hartfell House & The Limetree Restaurant Hotel Moffat
Hartfell House & The Limetree Restaurant Moffat, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing