We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“World Gold Champion B&B”
Review of The Bonnington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Bonnington
Ranked #8 of 24 Moffat B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2017

Visited Moffat for the World Gold Panning Championships held in Scotland this year. Nationalities from all over the world attending this week long event. Chose the Bonnington as a quality B&B in a town full of quality hotels, pubs, shops and of course people. A little gem of a town in a glorious setting.
The welcome at the Bonnington from Paul & Leslie was exceptional....a joy to be cosseted by them both. En suite room was immaculate, space enough for two in comfort. The breakfast we named "The 4 B's" (The Bonnington breakfast belly buster !)Would most definitely recommend......this is how to run a B&B with knobs on ....and all at a very reasonable price.
Telephone 01683 221888
ps: Paul runs a taxi service too! So pick-ups at Edinburgh airport is a doddle.

Room Tip: All good that I saw but the best views overlook the main street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank willewalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (97)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 97 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2017 via mobile

We spent just one night at The Bonnington. Waited 10 mins before Paul arrived to book us in, full of appologes. We were shown round the hotel then to our room. The room was very basic but comfortable. Had to hold the sash window open with a spoon! Tea/coffee tray, hairdryer & toiletries all supplied. Paul & Lesley are a lovely couple who make you feel at home and serve a wonderful Scotish breakfast. The place is a little tired but does the job for weary travellers. £70 for a couple B&B is very reasonable

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Babs H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2017

Lovely B&B with the feel of a large hotel set in a delightful little town which retains a feel of the past without being old.
Very helpful owners were able to provide lockable storage for several bicycles for us, and the breakfast was the best of our 9 day LEJOG cycle trip, many thanks

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wilkie82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2017

This was a return visit for us, this time while walking the Southern Upland Way. The Bonnington is an attractive premises based on the first and second floors, perfectly situated in the heart of Moffat. Our room was well equipped and we lacked for nothing. There is a huge and comfortable lounge area overlooking the main street, as does the equally spacious breakfast room. Critically for us walkers, Paul and Leslie also run Moffat Taxis and are familiar with the needs of SUW walkers, so by providing vehicle support they can help you break the walk into manageable sections. Three cyclists were staying the same time as us, and we noted that the Bonnington provides secure cycle storage. Leslie and Paul offer a truly personal service that is friendly and efficient and we will not hesitate to return if passing through Moffat again. What a pity then that the hotel does not have its own website – even a simple one - which would help people form a better opinion of the offer than is portrayed by other online sources.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2017

We arrived in Moffat and found the hotel easily - it's on the Main Street. Lovely welcome from Leslie.
Room as advertised, well fitted and quiet.
Highly recommended and a special mention to Paul for the breakfast.
Excellent value too.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank anth0nygriffiths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Moffat hotels
0.5 km away
Queensberry House
Queensberry House
#1 of 24 in Moffat
261 reviews
0.1 km away
Best Western Moffat House Hotel
0.1 km away
Buccleuch Arms Hotel
Buccleuch Arms Hotel
#1 of 4 in Moffat
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
#3 of 4 in Moffat
282 reviews
0.1 km away
Annandale Arms Hotel
Annandale Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Moffat
356 reviews
0.5 km away
MacIntyre Lodge
MacIntyre Lodge
#6 of 24 in Moffat
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bonnington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bonnington

Address: High Street, Moffat DG10 9DL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Moffat
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Moffat
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your The Bonnington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bonnington Moffat, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing