We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (97)
Filter reviews
97 results
Traveller rating
72
18
6
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
72
18
6
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspaul lesleyone nightstayed herefreshly cooked breakfastthe main streethostsscotlandtaxisstoppubshairdryer
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 97 reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2017 via mobile

We spent just one night at The Bonnington. Waited 10 mins before Paul arrived to book us in, full of appologes. We were shown round the hotel then to our room. The room was very basic but comfortable. Had to hold the sash window open with a spoon! Tea/coffee tray, hairdryer & toiletries all supplied. Paul & Lesley are a lovely couple who make you feel at home and serve a wonderful Scotish breakfast. The place is a little tired but does the job for weary travellers. £70 for a couple B&B is very reasonable

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Babs H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2017

Lovely B&B with the feel of a large hotel set in a delightful little town which retains a feel of the past without being old.
Very helpful owners were able to provide lockable storage for several bicycles for us, and the breakfast was the best of our 9 day LEJOG cycle trip, many thanks

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wilkie82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2017

This was a return visit for us, this time while walking the Southern Upland Way. The Bonnington is an attractive premises based on the first and second floors, perfectly situated in the heart of Moffat. Our room was well equipped and we lacked for nothing. There is a huge and comfortable lounge area overlooking the main street, as does the equally spacious breakfast room. Critically for us walkers, Paul and Leslie also run Moffat Taxis and are familiar with the needs of SUW walkers, so by providing vehicle support they can help you break the walk into manageable sections. Three cyclists were staying the same time as us, and we noted that the Bonnington provides secure cycle storage. Leslie and Paul offer a truly personal service that is friendly and efficient and we will not hesitate to return if passing through Moffat again. What a pity then that the hotel does not have its own website – even a simple one - which would help people form a better opinion of the offer than is portrayed by other online sources.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2017

We arrived in Moffat and found the hotel easily - it's on the Main Street. Lovely welcome from Leslie.
Room as advertised, well fitted and quiet.
Highly recommended and a special mention to Paul for the breakfast.
Excellent value too.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank anth0nygriffiths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2017

Leslie and Paul have got to be two of the loveliest people in Scotland. The Bonnington is truly a home away from home. Breakfast is yummy, the rooms are warm and inviting. We will certainly be returning on our next trip.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marge H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews