We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (97)
Filter reviews
97 results
Traveller rating
72
18
6
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
72
18
6
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews paul lesley one night stayed here freshly cooked breakfast the main street hosts scotland taxis stop pubs hairdryer
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 97 reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed for the weekend with my 2 sisters and aunt. The hotel is great value for money £35 bed and breakfast. Well you've never seen a breakfast l8ke it wow it's huge. Two eggs, bacon, sausage, black pudding, haggis, mushrooms, potato scone, beans and tomato. Plus fruit juice, fruit, yogurt, cereals and toast and preserves. Nothing is too much trouble for Lesley and Paul . She has a wicked laugh !!! They brought us snacks and a bottle of wine as we watched TV in the lounge and they lit the fire. Fab location centre of the town no hesitation in recommending.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
Thank Dinkytoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2016

We had a group of Germans over for a wedding nearby. Leslie and Paul could not do enough for us. the couple also run a taxi business so Paul picked up all our guests in a minibus from Edinburgh and deposited them back to the airport a few days later.
There is a large Lounge which we were allowed to utilise and if necessary we could have brought take away to eat there. We had an afternoon tea there with wedding cake. Leslie provided tea and coffee and also homemade shortbread.
I have to say the breakfast was the best in Moffat ( we stayed at three establishments due to numbers and family arrangements). It was huge with eggs, bacon, haggis, potatoe cake, beans,tomatoes,mushrooms,sausage and toast. Despite a language barrier as not many of our German friends spoke English Leslie managed splendidly by playing a complete breakfast so they could all choose what they wanted.
All in all an excellent stay.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank BrianR6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2016

Ring ahead to let them know when you are going to arrive as Paul runs a taxi business as well and he can make sure he is there to welcome you when you arrive if his partner is not available. All staff were very pleasant and friendly offering advice where needed. There was soap in the bathroom but you can help yourself to shower gel, shampoo and conditioner from a basket in the hallway. There was also an ironing board and iron at the top of the stairs for guest use and hairdryer in the room. Plenty hanging space with 10 hangers. Usual tea and biscuits tray. Easy free parking across the road. There is a charge for use of credit cards and debit cards. If you don't have a large appetite ask for a small breakfast; mine came with 2 big rashers of bacon, 2 fried eggs, 2 halves of fried tomato, haggis, black pudding and a potato scone (I declined the sausage and baked beans!) together with toast - as much as you wanted probably - and tea. All this was after cereal, fresh fruit, yoghurt and juice (I think there might have been a bowl of seeds too). A great start to the day and good value. There is a large television lounge with tables where guests could bring in take-aways to eat or sit and read or watch the world go by on Moffat High Street.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Stephanie820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2016

Stayed at The Bonnington for one night on 11 September 2016. We had two twin rooms on the overnight stay whilst three of our party were cycling from Lands End to John O Groats. Leslie was lovely and so helpful. We were allowed to use the lovely lounge to bring takeaway food and she kindly bought us tea and homemade cake during the evening. You could have anything for breakfast, nothing was too much trouble. There was even a safe store for the cycles. Moffat is a busy but pleasant town with plenty of free parking, which is an added bonus these days. Thank you Leslie.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanandK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2016 via mobile

Stayed an overnight with friends and was very impressed with our accommodation lovely comfortable room and bed the owners could not do enough for us very friendly welcoming couple . Breakfast was amazing full Scottish breakfast and set us up for the day . Hoping to return again soon overall excellent .

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
Thank esther45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews