We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A reasonably priced pitstop”
Review of The Bonnington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Bonnington
Ranked #8 of 24 Moffat B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 May 2017

After driving several hundred miles across Scotland heading south back to England a good overnight pitstop is essential. The Bonnington just about did the job - very cheerful and helpful owner and a freshly cooked breakfast. The place, in the main square could do with a brush up and some tlc. The showers need urgent attention - ours didn't work so we had to make do with a wash basin. No concession on the bill.
A great Italian restaurant around the corner - but you will need to book.

Room Tip: It's either a room with a view over the market square or a quieter room at the bacck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank bobjo2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (97)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 97 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed for the weekend with my 2 sisters and aunt. The hotel is great value for money £35 bed and breakfast. Well you've never seen a breakfast l8ke it wow it's huge. Two eggs, bacon, sausage, black pudding, haggis, mushrooms, potato scone, beans and tomato. Plus fruit juice, fruit, yogurt, cereals and toast and preserves. Nothing is too much trouble for Lesley and Paul . She has a wicked laugh !!! They brought us snacks and a bottle of wine as we watched TV in the lounge and they lit the fire. Fab location centre of the town no hesitation in recommending.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
Thank Dinkytoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2016

We had a group of Germans over for a wedding nearby. Leslie and Paul could not do enough for us. the couple also run a taxi business so Paul picked up all our guests in a minibus from Edinburgh and deposited them back to the airport a few days later.
There is a large Lounge which we were allowed to utilise and if necessary we could have brought take away to eat there. We had an afternoon tea there with wedding cake. Leslie provided tea and coffee and also homemade shortbread.
I have to say the breakfast was the best in Moffat ( we stayed at three establishments due to numbers and family arrangements). It was huge with eggs, bacon, haggis, potatoe cake, beans,tomatoes,mushrooms,sausage and toast. Despite a language barrier as not many of our German friends spoke English Leslie managed splendidly by playing a complete breakfast so they could all choose what they wanted.
All in all an excellent stay.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank BrianR6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2016

Ring ahead to let them know when you are going to arrive as Paul runs a taxi business as well and he can make sure he is there to welcome you when you arrive if his partner is not available. All staff were very pleasant and friendly offering advice where needed. There was soap in the bathroom but you can help yourself to shower gel, shampoo and conditioner from a basket in the hallway. There was also an ironing board and iron at the top of the stairs for guest use and hairdryer in the room. Plenty hanging space with 10 hangers. Usual tea and biscuits tray. Easy free parking across the road. There is a charge for use of credit cards and debit cards. If you don't have a large appetite ask for a small breakfast; mine came with 2 big rashers of bacon, 2 fried eggs, 2 halves of fried tomato, haggis, black pudding and a potato scone (I declined the sausage and baked beans!) together with toast - as much as you wanted probably - and tea. All this was after cereal, fresh fruit, yoghurt and juice (I think there might have been a bowl of seeds too). A great start to the day and good value. There is a large television lounge with tables where guests could bring in take-aways to eat or sit and read or watch the world go by on Moffat High Street.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Stephanie820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2016

Stayed at The Bonnington for one night on 11 September 2016. We had two twin rooms on the overnight stay whilst three of our party were cycling from Lands End to John O Groats. Leslie was lovely and so helpful. We were allowed to use the lovely lounge to bring takeaway food and she kindly bought us tea and homemade cake during the evening. You could have anything for breakfast, nothing was too much trouble. There was even a safe store for the cycles. Moffat is a busy but pleasant town with plenty of free parking, which is an added bonus these days. Thank you Leslie.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanandK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Moffat hotels
0.1 km away
Best Western Moffat House Hotel
0.1 km away
Buccleuch Arms Hotel
Buccleuch Arms Hotel
#1 of 4 in Moffat
262 reviews
0 km away
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
#3 of 4 in Moffat
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
MacIntyre Lodge
MacIntyre Lodge
#7 of 24 in Moffat
55 reviews
0.1 km away
Annandale Arms Hotel
Annandale Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Moffat
357 reviews
0.4 km away
Hartfell House & The Limetree Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bonnington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bonnington

Address: High Street, Moffat DG10 9DL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Moffat
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Moffat
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your The Bonnington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bonnington Moffat, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing