We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The boathouse”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Boathouse

boats at high tide
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
boats at high tide
main entrance patio/side door
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
46 reviews
boats at high tide
main entrance
patio/side door
high tide from sitting room
spacious sitting area in winter
dining area
kitchen/dining area
kitchen
double bedroom with river view
twin room (2x 2ft 6 beds)
double bedroom with river view
well-lit bedrooms
studio
ensuite shower room
relax and enjoy views on the jetty
view from jetty
sunset from jetty
view from bedroom
private lane 40 yards to street
lots of interesting small shops
one of the High Street's closes
enjoy a woodland walk
coastal walk for all seasons
Kirkcudbright in bloom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Boat house -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Kirkcudbright, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kate K
1 review
“The boathouse”
Reviewed 28 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

A little gem in a fantastic location. Perfect for exploring the surrounding areas. The boathouse itself is a lovely little property with great views out over the harbour. 4 generations stayed on our visit aged from 7 to 76 and the boathouse accommodated all our needs perfectly. I would absolutely recommend to friends and family and we will definitely be back for another visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Feb 2017
Thank you for taking the time to review the Boathouse. It's always nice to hear that a multi-generational family has stayed and enjoyed the space the Boathouse offers. Look forward to having you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melanie O
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Outstanding!! ”
Reviewed 2 February 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Stayed here with a group of friends for a long weekend. From the minute we walked through the door, we just fell in love with the house. It was absolutely perfect with plenty of space (and toilets/showers) for everyone. The views were stunning and the livingroom was excellent for our group to eat/relax in. The area surrounding the house was beautiful for walks and there were some fantastic boats in the harbour for us to go see.
We went to Laggan Activity Centre for the day which was amazing!
All communication with the ower Shona was very friendly and informative. Will definitely be back ...hopefully soon! Thank you.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Feb 2017
Thank you for your lovely review. Our winter guests all seem to enjoy their stays although they sometimes have quite inhospitable weather. Kirkcudbright's charm and the comfort of the Boathouse apparently more than compensate for a bit of rain!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Storytell...
1 review
“Everything a Boathouse can Offer”
Reviewed 6 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Idyllic location, well furnished and close to all the amenities Kirkudbright has to offer. Well positioned to enjoy exploring Dumfries and Galloway, its coast,forests and mountains.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Nov 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your short break at the Boathouse. You can certainly do a lot in just a few days as you don't have to go very far to find plenty of places of interest.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VFLondon
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Idyllic: we didn't want to leave”
Reviewed 5 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Very good directions, so easy to find. Lovely, restful riverside setting: very relaxing, with great views of boats & tides coming & going. Some spectacular sunsets. Plenty of space for our three generation family of six. The 'studio' is equipped well with some basic games, toys and a DVD player, which helped a lot with pre-bedtime unwinding and early rising children. The open plan kitchen-dining-lounge area allows for everyone to be part of planning and relaxing before & after meals. The house is very well equipped in general - having three bathrooms was a real bonus. Would definitely recommend for a family. The area is full of beautiful places to visit and lots of different activities to enjoy. Would love to return!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jun 2016
Thank you for your lovely review. You were certainly lucky with the weather - probably the best week so far this year. The Boathouse jetty is an idea place for enjoying the sunset. Hope to see you back again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin G
1 review
“stunning property and great location”
Reviewed 5 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016

When we walked into the boathouse we were more than happy the photos do not do justice the layout was great large living area with kitchen and stunning views across the estuary. The furnishings were A+ and with 3 bathrooms no queues, the owners have ensured it is home from home i can not think of how they can improve, the town of Kirkcudbright is lovely and people we met friendly will definitely return to this property.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Mar 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write such a glowing review. I'm very happy to hear that you and your group had a great time in Kirkcudbright and that the Boathouse was even better than you expected Look forward to welcoming you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing