We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (45)
Filter reviews
45 results
Traveller rating
41
3
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
41
3
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscooked breakfastselkirk armsb bshilarygordonhoststownartists
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 45 reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2014

All three areas for a guest house covered with aplomb.
Friendly hosts, light, comfortable and clean room of a good size and the breakfast was delicious - home made rhubarb compote on porridge, mmmh! Only wish we had room for the cooked breakfast too as it looked lovely.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

A very warm welcome by a charming couple was welcome after a long drive. The room was comfortable and well appointed and we had a very good sleep. The breakfast was exceptional with a wonderful selection of fruits and a freshly cooked fried meal. Parking was easy and we were close to the town centre.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimbo29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

This was our third stay at Gladstone House and it just gets better and better. The location is perfect for exploring the attractive town. The High Street itself is quiet and parking easy. Hilary and Gordon are amazing hosts and clearly enjoy sharing their lovely home with you. On this visit the weather was not so good but simply relaxing and reading in the spacious living room more than made up for it. Our ensuite room was extremely comfortable with a brand new double bed and all the amenities you could possibly need. On this visit we were able to persuade Gordon to cook dinner for us and he produced a feast comprising a seafood pate followed by a perfectly cooked duck breast confit on a bed of spinach and sesame seeds accompanied by Lyonnaise potatoes. To finish we had a fruit tart and a selection of local cheeses. What a treat. Breakfast was as good as any we have experienced. Here's to the next visit.

Room Tip: We had the room to the left on the second floor with an excellent view of the High Street.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We had a one night stay here at the Georgian House. All guest rooms are on the uppermost floor up 4 flights of narrow stairs. If you have mobility issues or large luggage this would be difficult. Hilary and Gordon are a mature couple who have been in the B&B business quite some time. They are witty and easy conversationalists. Breakfast was delicious with home made stewed fruits. I had difficulty figuring out the shower in our room (#3). It had a shower/over combination. I ended up taking a bath so I would not splash water all over the room. If you are tall you will need to mind your head in the rooms as the rafters angle the roofline. We chose to stay in Kirkcudbright as we had read that it was a charming artist’s colony. We were disappointed as the Sunday we visited we really didn’t see much art and we could only find a choice of two restaurants open for dinner (even the chips shop was closed). Kirkcudbright is small enough to easily walk all about. We walked to the Tolbooth just across the street and saw the exhibit about the history of the town.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cincy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We found this while travelling on the West Coast and it was a lovely find. The people are very friendly, the rooms are cosy, warm clean and look lovely. The breakfast was very nice and we even had chocolate eggs as it was Easter.
I would highly recommend this place to anyone looking for a lovely classic place to stay.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Mileage-Queen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews