We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent visit”
Review of Gladstone House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kirkcudbright
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gladstone House
Ranked #9 of 14 Kirkcudbright B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 August 2014

My partner, Gillian, and I have just returned from yet another wonderful few days staying with Gordon and Hilary in their marvellous B&B. Everything, the room, dinner, breakfast, and company were up to their usual high standard, and the craic with Gordon and Hilary was as funny as usual. We look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: All rooms are very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank butetaxidermist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (45)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 45 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2014

All three areas for a guest house covered with aplomb.
Friendly hosts, light, comfortable and clean room of a good size and the breakfast was delicious - home made rhubarb compote on porridge, mmmh! Only wish we had room for the cooked breakfast too as it looked lovely.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

A very warm welcome by a charming couple was welcome after a long drive. The room was comfortable and well appointed and we had a very good sleep. The breakfast was exceptional with a wonderful selection of fruits and a freshly cooked fried meal. Parking was easy and we were close to the town centre.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimbo29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

This was our third stay at Gladstone House and it just gets better and better. The location is perfect for exploring the attractive town. The High Street itself is quiet and parking easy. Hilary and Gordon are amazing hosts and clearly enjoy sharing their lovely home with you. On this visit the weather was not so good but simply relaxing and reading in the spacious living room more than made up for it. Our ensuite room was extremely comfortable with a brand new double bed and all the amenities you could possibly need. On this visit we were able to persuade Gordon to cook dinner for us and he produced a feast comprising a seafood pate followed by a perfectly cooked duck breast confit on a bed of spinach and sesame seeds accompanied by Lyonnaise potatoes. To finish we had a fruit tart and a selection of local cheeses. What a treat. Breakfast was as good as any we have experienced. Here's to the next visit.

Room Tip: We had the room to the left on the second floor with an excellent view of the High Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We had a one night stay here at the Georgian House. All guest rooms are on the uppermost floor up 4 flights of narrow stairs. If you have mobility issues or large luggage this would be difficult. Hilary and Gordon are a mature couple who have been in the B&B business quite some time. They are witty and easy conversationalists. Breakfast was delicious with home made stewed fruits. I had difficulty figuring out the shower in our room (#3). It had a shower/over combination. I ended up taking a bath so I would not splash water all over the room. If you are tall you will need to mind your head in the rooms as the rafters angle the roofline. We chose to stay in Kirkcudbright as we had read that it was a charming artist’s colony. We were disappointed as the Sunday we visited we really didn’t see much art and we could only find a choice of two restaurants open for dinner (even the chips shop was closed). Kirkcudbright is small enough to easily walk all about. We walked to the Tolbooth just across the street and saw the exhibit about the history of the town.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cincy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kirkcudbright hotels
0.1 km away
Baytree House
Baytree House
#2 of 14 in Kirkcudbright
209 reviews
1.7 km away
Fludha Guest House
Fludha Guest House
#1 of 14 in Kirkcudbright
144 reviews
0.2 km away
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
#1 of 4 in Kirkcudbright
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
The Marks
The Marks
#12 of 14 in Kirkcudbright
10 reviews
0.4 km away
Kirkcudbright Bay Hotel
Kirkcudbright Bay Hotel
#3 of 4 in Kirkcudbright
124 reviews
0.8 km away
Anchorlee Guest House
Anchorlee Guest House
#5 of 14 in Kirkcudbright
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gladstone House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gladstone House

Address: 48 High Street | Kirkcudbrightshire, Kirkcudbright DG6 4JX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Kirkcudbright
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Kirkcudbright
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Gladstone House Kirkcudbright, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing