We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
Nearby Hotels
USD 319*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Market Inn Hotel(Castle Douglas)
USD 113*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 107*
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cally Palace Hotel(Gatehouse of Fleet)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Murray Arms(Gatehouse of Fleet)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bank of Fleet Hotel(Gatehouse of Fleet)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Urr Valley Hotel(Castle Douglas)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (535)
Filter reviews
535 results
Traveller rating
380
122
24
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
380
122
24
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsselkirk armssports barbistro barlovely hotelexcellent foodscallopsrobert burnssmall hotelbreakfast and dinnerhotel restaurantshort breaklocal producekipperswithout exceptionthree nightslovely townstayed one night
Filter
Updating list...
406 - 411 of 535 reviews
Reviewed 19 March 2012

I stayed one night in the Selkirk Arms (18 March) while visiting a friend for her birthday. I booked it based on the reviews on Trip Advisor. It lived up to the positive reviews. It's a lovely hotel with a beautiful garden. Our room was modern and clean and the receptionist was very welcoming and helpful when we arrived. Dinner in the restaurant was good (excellent portions) and they were happy to put together a special breakfast for me as I am vegetarian. We will definitely go back again and I am more than happy to recommend it.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarianneGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Paid £98 for one night, a little steep for the small room and freezing bathroom. However, there's a good Bistro bar and Restaurant (breakfast was excellent). Would have been happier if two things hadn't happened. Came back mid-afternoon and no receptionist - stood for ages, eventually went into the bar where we found her serving pints! Secondly, when she did come to reception, rather than giving us our keys, she answered the phone and took a reservation for the Bistro Bar, and I qupte, "Yes, Table one in the Bistro Bar, for two, tonight at six") When we then asked for a reservation in the Bistro Bar she said "We don't do reservations in the Bistro Bar. You'll have to turn up at 5.45 and take your chances". Mmmmmm - could there be one rule for the locals and another for guests?

Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
5  Thank CCCCDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

I reviewed this hotel in November 2011 after staying in October . We so enjoyed this hotel ,food and staff we took the Twxmas Break . The hotel lived up to all our memories and we are returning at the end of Febuary and being joined by my brother. Please visit this gem of a hotel you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Room 1 is an ideal room for a disabled person
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KeithGHullEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThewalkersScotland, Owner at The Selkirk Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2012

So glad we managed to meet your expectations from your previous visit. Thank you for your wonderful feedback. All our Tripadvisor reports go on the staff notice board and they are a great boost to our hardworking team. Thank you.
Yours sincerely
CHRIS
Chris Walker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

A warm welcome from the staff and management. Good food in a pleasant bar - there was a function in the restaurant. Room was very comfortable.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajoc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2012

We got a warm welcome from the charming staff and were shown to our nice clean, warm room. Try for Room 3 its the same price as the others but is a cosy suite with a small sitting room as you go in on your right, a separate bathroom and nice old fashioned bedroom. The lounge Bar serves excellent food in a bright and friendly setting, the freshly landed fish and seafood, local steak and breakfasts are simply scrumptious. My Favorite was the Fish in Batter with Chips and Peas - it was outstanding.

Room Tip: Room 3 is an old worldy suite in the cottage - same price as other double rooms!
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank I H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThewalkersScotland, Owner at The Selkirk Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2012

Thank you for your review and for choosing to stay at The Selkirk Arms Hotel.
We hope we will be able to welcome you back before too long.
Yours sincerely
CHRIS
Chris Walker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews