We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“friendly and welcoming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Kirkcudbright
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“friendly and welcoming”
Reviewed 1 April 2012 via mobile

we stayed for three nights.this is a warm and snug hotel.everyone was welcoming and helpful. we enjoyed good food in comfortable surroundings and would have no hesitation in recommending it .

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Iain F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    326
    105
    20
    6
    3
See reviews for
73
242
19
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

I stayed one night in the Selkirk Arms (18 March) while visiting a friend for her birthday. I booked it based on the reviews on Trip Advisor. It lived up to the positive reviews. It's a lovely hotel with a beautiful garden. Our room was modern and clean and the receptionist was very welcoming and helpful when we arrived. Dinner in the restaurant was good (excellent portions) and they were happy to put together a special breakfast for me as I am vegetarian. We will definitely go back again and I am more than happy to recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarianneGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level Contributor
82 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Paid £98 for one night, a little steep for the small room and freezing bathroom. However, there's a good Bistro bar and Restaurant (breakfast was excellent). Would have been happier if two things hadn't happened. Came back mid-afternoon and no receptionist - stood for ages, eventually went into the bar where we found her serving pints! Secondly, when she did come to reception, rather than giving us our keys, she answered the phone and took a reservation for the Bistro Bar, and I qupte, "Yes, Table one in the Bistro Bar, for two, tonight at six") When we then asked for a reservation in the Bistro Bar she said "We don't do reservations in the Bistro Bar. You'll have to turn up at 5.45 and take your chances". Mmmmmm - could there be one rule for the locals and another for guests?

Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank CCCCDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull England
Level Contributor
358 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

I reviewed this hotel in November 2011 after staying in October . We so enjoyed this hotel ,food and staff we took the Twxmas Break . The hotel lived up to all our memories and we are returning at the end of Febuary and being joined by my brother. Please visit this gem of a hotel you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Room 1 is an ideal room for a disabled person
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KeithGHullEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThewalkersScotland, Owner at The Selkirk Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
So glad we managed to meet your expectations from your previous visit. Thank you for your wonderful feedback. All our Tripadvisor reports go on the staff notice board and they are a great boost to our hardworking team. Thank you.
Yours sincerely
CHRIS
Chris Walker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

A warm welcome from the staff and management. Good food in a pleasant bar - there was a function in the restaurant. Room was very comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajoc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkcudbright
9.2 km away
Cally Palace Hotel
Cally Palace Hotel
#1 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
0.3 km away
Kirkcudbright Bay Hotel
Kirkcudbright Bay Hotel
#3 of 4 in Kirkcudbright
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
9.9 km away
Bank of Fleet Hotel
Bank of Fleet Hotel
#2 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.9 km away
Creebridge House Hotel
Creebridge House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newton Stewart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
9.9 km away
Murray Arms
Murray Arms
#3 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
0.1 km away
Baytree House
Baytree House
#2 of 14 in Kirkcudbright
5.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Selkirk Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Selkirk Arms Hotel

Property: The Selkirk Arms Hotel
Address: High Street, Kirkcudbright DG6 4JG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Kirkcudbright
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Kirkcudbright
Price range (per night): $136 - $199
Hotel Class:3 star — The Selkirk Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17 Bedroom town house hotel. Privately owned and operated. 2 Restaurants, 2 Bars and cosy lounges. Free Wi Fi throughout, all rooms en suite, 60% of rooms now fully refurbished.Ideal base to discover SW Scotland. Walking, fishing, cycling, golf or just relaxing and enjoying our award winning cuisine using the best of local produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Selkirk Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Kirkcudbright
Kirkcudbright Best Western
The Selkirk Arms Hotel Kirkcudbright, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing