We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great place to stay”
other travellers have booked this property
Beautiful original features with modern touches
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Beautiful original features with modern touches
Master bedroom Kitchen area with all modern fittings
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
Beautiful original features with modern touches
Master bedroom
Kitchen area with all modern fittings
Enter the alleyway to reach Yellow Door
Main bathroom and can be accessed direct from the master bedroom
Exterior of the Yellow Door
The original Yellow Door
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Kirkcudbright, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Ken F
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 7 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Great location in the heart of Kircudbright, but in a quiet little alley. Bright cheery house, with all the facilities you would need. Ideal for a family of four and the wee woodburner came in handy on a chilly spring night. Within easy walking distance of the chip shop! and the Selkirk Arms Hotel, depending on whether you go left out of the door or right! Would recommend it, but maybe the stair flights are not for elderly people.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Apr 2017
Thank you very much for your lovely review. We are so happy you enjoyed your weekend at Yellow Door and the town of Kirkcudbright. We are very lucky to have such great places to eat and drink all within walking distance. We are sorry you had issue with the stairs as they have never been a concern. The staircases have a handrail/bannister and this should have helped. We hope you will get a chance to return and thank you once again, Neil & Patricia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Perfect Holiday Cottage”
Reviewed 28 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We are regulars to Kirkudbiright and love the area and all it has to offer by way of activities and eating out. This was our first time at Yellow Door and we were very impressed. This cottage had everything we could possibly need, including a wood burning stove ready to light and keep out the February chills! It was spotlessly clean and fitted out to a very high order. Every amenity had been thought of, indeed our teenage son so loved his attic domain with TV that he would quite happily have moved in and stayed. Thanks also for the thoughtful welcome pack and very friendly welcome. First class!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Mar 2017
Thank you very much for your lovely review. We are so happy you enjoyed Yellow Door & Kirkcudbright. We try to make our cottage a home from home and are very happy you found everything to your liking. Glad you enjoyed the local food/activities. Great news that your teenage son loved his room too. We hope you will visit again and thank you very much, Neil & Patricia.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iseabail4...
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing little getaway”
Reviewed 1 February 2017 for a stay in January 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Had a lovely stay at Yellow Door. It is a hidden gem with beautiful accommodation and a quirky history. Loved the area lots to do and explore even when the weather is inclement. Neil and Patricia made sure everything was perfect for our arrival. Would highly recommend this cottage and Kirkcudbright to anyone. Especially loved the Gin menu at the Masonic Arms just a street away.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Feb 2017
Thank you very much for your lovely review. We are so happy you enjoyed Yellow Door & Kirkcudbright. We love our cottage and are very happy you found everything to your liking. We agree the Masonic Arms is well worth a visit. We hope you will visit again and fingers crossed you will get nicer weather. Thank you again, Neil & Patricia.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pumbieman
Sandown, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Quirky yet comfortable and well equipped pet friendly cottage”
Reviewed 5 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed for Christmas 2016 and our late arrival on a wet and blustery evening was no problem. Neil took the time to show us around the property and explain how everything worked. It was beautifully decorated with classy Christmas decorations carefully placed throughout - a lovely touch - with little extra touches such as crackers and mince pies in a welcome basket. The cottage itself has been completely modernised inside, but in a good way. All mod cons were on hand and we had no problem whatsoever preparing a full Christmas dinner in the well equipped kitchen. The owners obviously respond to feedback from previous guests as earlier reviews expressed some issues with the dining table. This has now been resolved by adding a new 4-seat dining table in the kitchen area. In fact, the only thing we could have criticised is that we found the lounge furniture a little uncomfortable if used for long periods. But I'm being very picky here! Overall this is a little gem of a property in a very unusual setting close to all small town amenities and most definitely pet friendly which is a big plus for us. It's a couple of minutes' walk from the riverside and plenty of green space. We had no issues parking just outside the mews entrance. We would have no hesitation in returning and are already making plans to do so.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jan 2017
Thank you very much for your lovely review. We love Yellow Door and Kirkcudbright and are so very grateful to receive such lovely comments. We are so happy you enjoyed Christmas here and that the new table was a success. We always listen to feedback and do our best to make Yellow Door special. We loved getting the house ready for Christmas and are so glad you liked the decorations and welcome basket. We would love to have you stay again. Thank you again for your lovely review and will look forward to seeing you. Kindest regards, Neil and Patricia.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruth C
Innerleithen, Scottish Borders
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay.”
Reviewed 27 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Beautiful old house, lovingly restored to retain it's character whilst offering modern comforts.
2 en suite shower rooms, one with separate bath.
Well equipped kitchen with dishwasher. Also washing machine and dryer.
Very clean and comfortable throughout.
Minutes from the town centre but quiet and peaceful, situated down a delightful alley with an amazing, quirky garden at the bottom.
Nice patio area with table and chairs.
My only comment would be the need for another 2 dining chairs. If the weather's bad and you want to eat in the house only 2 can sit at the table. The 2 bar type stools are great for sitting at the counter looking out to the garden but too high for the table.
Not that this would stop us returning!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Aug 2016
Thank you very much for your great review. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed Yellow Door and Kirkcudbright - we love it here too. We are very sorry we forgot to mention there are two smaller stools in the house for the table and will make sure we tell everyone from now on. We will look forward to seeing you all again and thank you once again for staying at Yellow Door. Kindest regards, Neil & Patricia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing