We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely place to stay.”
other travellers have booked this property
Beautiful original features with modern touches
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Beautiful original features with modern touches
Master bedroom Kitchen area with all modern fittings
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
Beautiful original features with modern touches
Master bedroom
Kitchen area with all modern fittings
Enter the alleyway to reach Yellow Door
Main bathroom and can be accessed direct from the master bedroom
Exterior of the Yellow Door
The original Yellow Door
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Kirkcudbright, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Ruth C
Innerleithen, Scottish Borders
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay.”
Reviewed 27 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Beautiful old house, lovingly restored to retain it's character whilst offering modern comforts.
2 en suite shower rooms, one with separate bath.
Well equipped kitchen with dishwasher. Also washing machine and dryer.
Very clean and comfortable throughout.
Minutes from the town centre but quiet and peaceful, situated down a delightful alley with an amazing, quirky garden at the bottom.
Nice patio area with table and chairs.
My only comment would be the need for another 2 dining chairs. If the weather's bad and you want to eat in the house only 2 can sit at the table. The 2 bar type stools are great for sitting at the counter looking out to the garden but too high for the table.
Not that this would stop us returning!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Aug 2016
Thank you very much for your great review. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed Yellow Door and Kirkcudbright - we love it here too. We are very sorry we forgot to mention there are two smaller stools in the house for the table and will make sure we tell everyone from now on. We will look forward to seeing you all again and thank you once again for staying at Yellow Door. Kindest regards, Neil & Patricia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham L
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Very comfortable cottage in a great center for your holiday”
Reviewed 11 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
3
people found this review helpful

A bright, freshly decorated and well equipped and historic cottage with good parking and very close to everything you need in Kirkcudbright.

There is plenty of room in this three floor cottage with large kitchen with everything you need to cook for your self. The bedrooms are a big with a spacious main bathroom - again everything bright and of good quality. We would have liked more than two dinning chairs so we couldn't all sit at the table but hopefully that can be fixed?

We visited during a great spell of weather and enjoyed the gardens - each property has a section of garden but in effect it is mostly shared. The Yellow Door section of garden was nice to sit in, but the larger section of the garden owned by 'Greengate' is a quirky, arty and (slightly spooky for our 3 year old) adventure.

Kirkcudbright and the surrounding area had a lot to offer, Broughton House & Garden were beautiful, Threave gardens were nice (the castle was closed), but avoid Galloway Wildlife Park! For those with children the nearby Cocoa Bean Company and Cream O' Galloway are good value.

Couldn't recommend this place enough, we had a great time and if you do stay here there is a good little book “Tales of the Kirkcudbright Artists” which is worth a read and helps you appreciate the history of Yellow Door and the others in this close.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: style and history
Liked least: only having two dinning chairs
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jun 2016
Thank you so much for your lovely review and we are so happy you enjoyed your stay. Please forgive us for forgetting the extra dining chairs this was an oversight on our part. Great news you enjoyed the family activities around the area too - we love this area & having Cream o Galloway & Cocoa Bean nearby is a great treat. Once again thank you & we hope you can return, kind regards Neil & Patricia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny H
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Miss”
Reviewed 7 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Yellow Door is a beautifully restored, characterful and comfortable cottage. I booked this cottage as a birthday treat for my mother and it certainly has lived up to all our expectations. The cottage had everything we needed for our week long stay. We have enjoyed the wood burning stove, modern conveniences and the patio area at the end of the lane. A perfect location within walking distance of cafes, galleries and shops. We have had a great stay and would highly recommend. Thank you Neil and Patricia for a warm welcome and great stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 May 2016
Thank you very much for your lovely review. We love Yellow Door and Kirkcudbright and are so grateful to receive such lovely comments. We would love to have you stay again and will look forward to seeing you. Kindest regards, Neil and Patricia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing