We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“5* weekend”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Gretna Green, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
alicesout...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“5* weekend”
Reviewed 14 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

My boyfriend and I have just spent a weekend in this property with 2 other couples as an opportunity to spend some time together.
We were met at the property by Tracey who showed us around and made us feel more than welcome. The house WOWed us from the outset- it's even better than the pictures!
The open plan kitchen/diner is a perfect social space and the living room was great for a chilled out afternoon with a film.
The bedrooms are all spacious and comfortable with the added bonus of smart TVs.
Great location to either stay in the local area and visit the blacksmiths or to explore. We did both and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
An added bonus was the key pad in the front door so we didn't have to worry about losing keys.
We'll definitely be back! Thanks a lot :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Aug 2017
Thank you for this lovely review Alice. Be prepared to be wowed a little more next time......we have just ordered the hot tub
I will advertise the hot tub as soon as it is installed and ready to use.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
3 Aug 2017
Thank you for your lovely review!
You were perfect guests - respected the house and left it lovely and tidy.
Welcome back anytime!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Chris G
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfection!”
Reviewed 21 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

The attention to detail and quality of this property has to be seen to be believed. We were only staying for a short stopover but will be back for a longer stay.
Don't be put off by closeness to road as triple glazing eliminates any traffic noise.
Nothing too much trouble for the owner who phoned to check we were happy - yes we were! Very!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jul 2017
Wow thank you for this review!
Makes me so happy when my guests are happy.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smilecost...
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 10 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
2
people found this review helpful

An absolutely amazing house would highly recommend to anyone the owner was lovely and helpful house is finished to such a high standard the owner really his thought of every little to make your stay great house is child friendly and so convenient to shops and Gretna green hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jun 2017
Thank you for this lovely review. You were perfect guests....100% respected the property. It's so nice when people appreciate the work that my family and I have put into this family run business.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrence...
Larbert, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent self catering house for 8”
Reviewed 22 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Ancrum House is an excellent. Holiday rental well furnished spotlessly clean. With 5 min walking distancet of Gretna Green station so trips by train to Carlise or even to Newcastle can be made. Also within walking distance the old blacksmiths shop and the Gretna outlet shopping.

The big plus is the house itself, the opener should be very proud of what she has done, out holiday was very enjoyable.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Apr 2017
Thank you for your review! You were ideal guests and I hope to welcome you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing