We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely weekend away.”
Review of Low Kirkbride Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dumfries
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Low Kirkbride Farm
Ranked #21 of 49 Dumfries B&B and Inns
Chester, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely weekend away.”
Reviewed 13 March 2012

My boy friend and I booked to stay here over the weekend for a relaxing break and it was lovely. With regards to the 1 star comment I must say I was shocked at this review because the women was lovely and wasn't 6ft 2 as described. From what I can gather they must have got confused with another B'n'B as the cottages aren't at that price either because we did consider going for a cottage rather than a B'n'B stay intially.

In the end we opted for stay in the double room. Everything was great, no complaints at all to make! The views were amazing and there was attention to detail. On arrival we were served tea and cakes (which we weren't expecting) and the place was very welcoming. The breakfast was great too and it included some of their own produce. You do have to drive down country lanes to get to the farm but it meant we had fantastic views and lots of peace and quiet. We also saw deer in the forest.

One of the highlights for me was because it was a working farm we actually got to see some of the lambs which were only one day old! We were actually suprised at the amount to do in the area, we went clay pigeon shooting and horse riding. The B'n'B also had Wifi so we could watch films on netflix (our own netflix account).

If you are after a warm welcoming break away this is a perfect place to go.

Room Tip: The double room had heated blankets and a massage function. Nice view of the farm here too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Isabel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    6
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
41
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2011

If you want a quiet little corner of Scotland, I would HIGHLY recommend Low Kirkbride. The breakfast was the best in our two weeks in the country -- amazing (great Haggis!). The farm is so beautiful...my wife and I took a long walk up the little road and enjoyed a couple hours of incredible views. The room was spacious -- it was nice to have a small kitchen available. We will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SJStClaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

Stopped here on the way up to Arran.

Great welcome. We were shown to a room with a good view of the farm and fields etc.

A fresh pot of tea was made and some warmed buns/malt loaf was served which was most welcoming. Shown a short but interesting walk of the farm

We had booked in for an evening food and the food was very hearty and good home cooking.It as also really good value for money. In fact got served a steak from one for thier own cattle. Which was very tasty

Room was lovely and well equiped.

Had a breakfast round a communal farm house style table which was again very nice and eggs cooked to order.

Hosts very friendly and knowledgeable.

I would most certainly go back and spend more time in the area, as the is lots to do with some big forests near by.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paolomarshall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 July 2011

We spent 3 nights at Low Kirkbride Farm, and felt very welcome from the moment we arrived. The homemade cake and a pot of tea were just what we needed, plus friendly hosts who helped with our luggage. The double bedroom was spacious and comfy, and the extra things such as the cafetiere and fresh coffee on the bedside tray, and a great pair of binoculars to watch wildlife from the bedroom window! It turned out to be the perfect place .

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silversojourners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frome
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2011

We had not been to Dumfries and Galloway before and enjoyed our stay at Low Kirkbride
Farmhouse. We were made very welcome by Zan and Joe who looked after us so well lwith their thoughtful touches. The breakfasts in the farmhouse kitchen were 5 star and there was always tea and cakes in the afternoon on return from a day out. The room we had was spacious with glorious views over the countryside, It was lovely waking up in the mornings listening to the sounds of sheep and cows.
We certainly hope to return to the area as it has much to offer and would not hesitate to stay at Low Kirkbride again

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BethFrome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dumfries
16.6 km away
Holiday Inn Dumfries
Holiday Inn Dumfries
#3 of 7 in Dumfries
1,045 reviews
23.0 km away
Days Inn Lockerbie Annandale Water
5.1 km away
Friars Carse Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 km away
Trigony House Hotel
Trigony House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Closeburn
573 reviews
14.6 km away
Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club
0.0 km away
Boreland Farm
Boreland Farm
#1 of 1 in Dunscore
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Low Kirkbride Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Low Kirkbride Farm

Property: Low Kirkbride Farm
Address: Auldgirth, Dumfries DG2 0SP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Dumfries
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Dumfries
Price range (per night): $82 - $98
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and stay in our 18th century warm, comfortable farmhouse bed and breakfast and enjoy the stunning scenery, friendly atmosphere and great home cooking. We have three ensuite rooms; one double, one twin and a family suite. Evening meals and packed lunches are available on request. Open all year round. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Low Kirkbride Farm Dumfries, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing