We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect hideaway for 2, as billed”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Dairy Cottage

This charming little bolt-hole made just for two
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
This charming little bolt-hole made just for two
A generous bathroom that is kitted out with Molton Brown toiletries A lovely double bedroom with king size bed which can be made into two singles if you prefer.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
This charming little bolt-hole made just for two
A generous bathroom that is kitted out with Molton Brown toiletries
A lovely double bedroom with king size bed which can be made into two singles if you prefer.
In the heart of the rolling Scottish Borders countryside.
Open plan living complete with a cosy woodburning stove
we are keen to make things as easy and relaxing as we can for you.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Selkirk, Borders, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Peter H
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect hideaway for 2, as billed”
Reviewed 19 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Brilliant welcome with bread, milk, homemade jam and marmalade, eggs, butter, cake... You know you're in the country when you get a hare and not a rabbit nibbling the lawn. Great location; with a rapid EV charger down in the car park in Selkirk

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nwilly
warrington
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic cottage”
Reviewed 10 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

What can I say that isn't in the title. A beautifully finished cottage in a great location. Everything you need for a short break or longer stay. Lovely welcome by Alison the owner and some gifts to start you off, bread, milk, chocolates and the fire was on. A perfect little place and we will return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Oct 2017
Thank you for your kind words. It was lovely to welcome you both and hopefully you will be back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
footlady7
leicestershire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely perfect”
Reviewed 7 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This was such a beautiful place, very comfortable.
A lovely friendly welcome from Alison, the log burner was lit and there was enough in the welcome pack to feed us breakfast for a few days.
It was lovely to look out at countryside and see birds on the feeders in the garden, we even saw a young hare!
The location was very convenient for us too.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaycee494
Isle of Skye, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect country cottage for two”
Reviewed 22 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We were between homes, having just sold our previous house but not yet moved into our new home, and needed some rest and recuperation from the stresses of moving and Dairy Cottage met those requirements perfectly.

It is a beautiful, roomy and tastefully decorated little cottage and perfect for two people which, if you have ever tried to find self catering accommodation just for two people, is a five star rating in itself!

The owners, Brian and Alison, are welcoming, friendly and helpful and provided a useful welcome pack of basics in the kitchen for our arrival.

The Cottage is part of the owners', Brian and Alison, house but with its own separate main door entrance, parking, and use of a lovely small garden area with a couple of benches for sitting outside and enjoying the southerly aspect in an afternoon or evening.

There is a small wood burning stove in the combined lounge/kitchen which adds to the cosy country cottage character of the place and with a plentiful supply of logs and kindling courtesy of Brian even in August we couldn't resist lighting most nights!

It is located in peaceful farming countryside only 3 miles from Selkirk and also perfectly located for exploring all the other main Border towns - Galashiels, Melrose, Kelso, and Hawick - and even Berwick and Lindisfarne are only about 1 hours drive away. There are many easy local walks to explore the countryside from the Cottage as well as the walks in the countryside around the other towns.

All in all a great place for a restful countryside break in the beautiful countryside of the Scottish Borders.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Aug 2017
Thank you for such an amazing review! We are glad it was all you needed before your next adventure. Good luck and hope we have the chance to welcome you again someday. Kindest regards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret...
Rugeley
2 reviews
“Perfect!”
Reviewed 31 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Dairy Cottage was absolutely lovely. Set in lovely countryside it was peaceful and relaxing.
Alison and Brian were great hosts and had made sure that Dairy Cottage was a real home from home. They made sure that milk, bread etc were available and Alison presented us with a large bowl of fresh strawberries and raspberries which we thoroughly enjoyed.
Dairy Cottage is a good base from which to enjoy the Scottish Borders.
Thank you both. We will certainly be returning and would certainly recommend Dairy Cottage as the perfect retreat.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing