We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful and Remote”

Review of The Mill House

The Mill House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Mill House
Lounge with picture window overlooking the river Kitchen with French doors overlooking the river
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
23 reviews
The Mill House
Lounge with picture window overlooking the river
Kitchen with French doors overlooking the river
Sunset over the Tweed from the garden
Master Family Bedroom Kingsize Bed (+2)
Kingsize Bedroom 2 with Cot
Ground Floor Double Bedroom
Playroom / Sofa Bedroom
Garden Furniture
View from the Patio
Close up of The Mill House
Tweed Valley from Cadrona Forrest
Mill House Stone
Weather Vane
Evening in the garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Peebles, Borders, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
jmcgill1
Ayr, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful and Remote”
Reviewed 16 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We had a large group of 10 staying for a 3 night weekend in October 2016. Good communication beforehand from the owner and the option to change set central heating and hot water times which he did no problem. The house is lovely and in a beautiful setting, sitting right next to the river and surrounded by beautiful countryside and stunning views, espescially from the big window in upstairs living room. The house itself was in good condition, clean and tidy, obviously a family home and we did our best to respect this. It had all the utensils we needed and towels and bedding were provided. No complaints other than the oven seemed to take a while to heat up. A great weekend away.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lisalawre...
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great week few pointers ”
Reviewed 17 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Our party had a fab week. We found there was plenty hot water. Couple of things not so good. Towels supplied were rather small so unless your child sized I would recommend taking your own. The wifi was terrible!! It only worked when you were in the kitchen. Even move to the stairwell and you lost the connection. When we arrived the "maintenance man" was there and mentioned that the swings had been damaged the week before and he would come back midweek to fix them. Never saw him again and had 2 very disappointed children with us who couldn't use them. The general appearance is lovely if you look closely yes it could do with a lick of paint and a few patio slabs could be secured down. The 3rd floor bathroom cold water tap in the sink didn't work and was very frustrating for teeth cleaning. The toilet seat in the 3rd floor bathroom is very loose also when the toilet is flushed allow at least 20 minutes for it to fill to be flushed again. The lighting in the middle floor shower room is terrible and very dim. We had a poor sighted person with us and the had great difficulty using this shower room due to the light. The down stairs toilet when flushed was like a foghorn going off and could be heard throughout the house. We had great weather except for one day but had no where outside to hang our washing out. Would we stay again? YES we would.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BecciF2
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Could be a beautiful holiday let - shame it didn't deliver!”
Reviewed 22 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015
3
people found this review helpful

We rented this house as a family base for the week prior to my wedding. After a rather challenging week prior to arrival (I broke my leg) we were all excited to finally get to the house. On first sight it is spectular and in a beautiful location. The disappointment started when we opened the front door, the entrance hall flour was dirty and there is evidently a damp problem in the down stairs toilet and hall. Again on first sight the kitchen is beautiful, it's just a shame we had to wash every piece of crockery and cookware prior to use (greasy, dirty and lipstick marks etc). Not what we needed after a long drive. As we ventured upstairs we were faced with shody paintwork and peeling wallpaper, along with dust pictures and cobwebs. Whilst the bathrooms were clean their dated suites were not helped by the mismatch of thread bare towels and bath mats. The living room offers a beautiful view its just a shame the cushions look tattie. Bedrooms well where to start, the downstairs double room off the kitchen is beautiful but feels rather damp, this is probably because of the heating issues. The third double room is large enough but the rug is very worn. The children's room with bunk beds is basic today the least with a metal frames bed that is very creaky and a basic cheap chest of drawer there is nothing matching in the room.
Overall the house was disappointing, one of our reasons for booking was there was no fuel restrictions, the rules had changed since we booked and the landlord controls the heating himself. Upon arriving the house was freezing and things didn't improve, with snow on the ground in a large house I would expect more than 0730-0900. 1200-1300, 1800-2300. After sitting for 48hrs in a cold house all with extra jumpers on we called the landlord to alter the timings, this took a lot of persuasion. He was not helpful when we suggested his property was cold and not particularly clean. Hot water, that's another issue with the house. There are two showers in the house one is electric the other is run off the boiler water tank. The tank only holds enough water to run two full bowls of water for the dishes so not enough to have a shower. The electric shower is over a bath not ideal if you have poor mobility and is on the third floor. The pressure to this shower is minimal and not sufficient. With two children under three in the property life was not fun when there wasn't enough hot water to run them. Bath.
In short this property was disappointing.
Bad points:
Cold - limited heating.
Limited hot water.
Poor shower/bath facilities.
Tired and threadbare towels and bath maths.
Dirty crockery and cookware.
Damp problems.
Worn and tired rugs and cushions.
Mix match of furniture and pictures.
Tired rooms with peeling wall paper.
Carpets tired and stained.

Good points:
Beautiful location
Soft bedding
Good selection of children's toys indoor and out.

We have stayed in many different holiday homes and this is the first one I have ever been disappointed with.

We wouldn't use this holiday let again!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruth C
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location, well equipped but needs a lot more heat and water!”
Reviewed 5 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Beautiful setting, lovely old building, fantastic well equipped play-room. Best equipped kitchen of anywhere we have ever stayed. Only criticism is similar to that mentioned by others; We didn't have anywhere near adequate hot water and the house was mostly uncomfortably cold (kids room registered 15'c on our baby monitor). Heating and water are controlled remotely by the owner. We did call to negotiate more heat and water but even with the increased settings we still didn't have enough hot water for the 4 adults in the group to each have hot showers each day (the 4 young kids shared a shallow bath each evening). We were then billed for extra fuel use. This would be a lovely place to stay in the summer; in February, with limited heating, it was chilly! There is an electric shower, so in theory there should always be hot water but we found this shower to be temperamental and had very poor pressure. If the shower was fixed (or fitted with a pump) and guests could control their own heat and hot water settings (even if we had to pay a coin meter) then I would rate this as a 5* holiday home. Would recommend it but would advise negotiating your fuel requirements in advance.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: scenery, kitchen & play room
Liked least: Being cold and unable to have a hot shower every day.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RJD73
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Peebles Invasion”
Reviewed 23 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Three generations of our family converged on Peebles for our annual weekend away.
We have visited different areas of Scotland over the years, always after checking Tripadvisor reviews.
It would be fair to say that the most recent from Claire B is a fair assessment of the property and location as things stand, so no need to add to that. We would have to agree also that the heating/hot water issue is something that ought to be addressed sooner rather than later. Bearing in mind that access to the property is not until 4.00pm, I think it reasonable to expect that the house be warm on arrival. On a bitterly cold winter's day, there was no discernible heat in any of the radiators until well after 4.30pm, which left us sitting in our overcoats till rooms were at an acceptable level.
We also had three young children in our party,so it was important that there was hot water on tap for toileting/nappy throughout the day, rather than on occasion.
Having said that we had a great time, and would be glad to return to this marvellous property, but only perhaps when temperatures are more favourable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spaciousness/location
Liked least: Heating/Hot water concerns
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing