We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous place!”
Review of Osso

Osso
Ranked #6 of 46 Restaurants in Peebles
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Osso is an excellent contemporary style restaurant adjacent to the High street in Peebles. At night focuses more on three course Dinner, during the day is more 'laid back' and cafe style. Has won awards.
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

What a fabulous visit we had on Saturday evening of the Easter weekend! Restaurant was full and had a great atmosphere. Service was brilliant from the girls despite several big tables taking up much of their time. Friendly, professional, knowledgeable, fun, relaxed, attentive, unobtrusive I could go on. Then we have the food....just wonderful! Wow, wow,wow,wow!A very tasty goat and lentil dish and scallops with a chicken/lemon risotto were shared by my husband and I. Delicious. Followed by 2 blade of beef. Rich, tender delicious. Shared a pineapple dessert which was very refreshing after our meal. The gap between courses was perhaps a touch long in places but the kitchen was clearly very busy and we were in no hurry. In fact it was reassuring in a respect as we knew things were being cooked freshly to order. Thanks Osso you have given us the perfect excuse to have a weekend away from the kids and return to the charming town of Peebles.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank maryeA5785VY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (489)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 61 of 489 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2018

The Sancerre is fruity when it should be minerally ( if people choose it over a list of Alberino, Sauvignon blanc, pinot grigio and gewurtztramminer, it's because they DON'T want something flabby and sweet), the Rioja is cooked (confituree), the free starters are fried fat and salt, and the head waitress interrupts conversations as if marshalling pensioners onto an excursion bus. All that said, I applaud what Osso is trying to do and everything on the menu is more or less a good enough, classical enough, execution of what it says it is. But running a good restaurant requires exhaustive exhausting attention to detail and someone has let too many elements slide here.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Polly1848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

My husband and I had an amazing meal here tonight, service 2nd to none, food out of this world, highly recommended, and didn't cost a fortune . Those who think it's expensive should not bother eating out at all..

Date of visit: April 2018
1  Thank karen401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018

While staying in Peebles for our wedding anniversary, we celebrated with dinner at Osso........from walking in the door we were made to feel special. The ambience was lovely, the service spot on & the food absolutely delicious. The staff were both attentive & professional & the presentation of the food was perfect. The evening added to our memory of a wonderful stay in Peebles.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Moorlandlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

Another superb meal last night. Quality of food is always high and staff very friendly and polite. The menu is always varied with in season local produce. Definitely recommend people to try this little gem of a restaurant.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank 256adelem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Osso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing