We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The best kept secret B&B in Scotland...until now.”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
7 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 15
Melrose, Borders, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
PatrickPr...
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“The best kept secret B&B in Scotland...until now.”
Reviewed 21 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

When looking for a place to stay in the Borders we saw Abbotsford Hope-Scott Wing but it was listed primarily as a self-catering option and we were looking for a B&B. Then my eagle-eyed wife noticed that they did offer a B&B option subject to availability. Luckily for us, a room was available and surprisingly we were the only couple there for the entire 3 day stay.

With nobody else there, we got a chance to see and use some of the common rooms that otherwise would be reserved for those reserving the whole wing. Amazing!

And the freshly made breakfast was fantastic, too. We stayed in a good sized room (Sophia) with all the modern conveniences (TV, wifi, tea, etc.) and a huge bathroom. We had a lovely view out to the River Tweed and had access to the garden.

Here's the kicker - of the 4 B&Bs in which we stayed over the course of two-weeks across Scotland, this one in the home of Sir Walter Scott was the least expensive. If you are thinking about staying within 30 miles of Abbotsford, you owe it to yourself to see if this is available. You will not be sorry.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 May 2016
Thanks so much Patrick and Patricia. Was such a pleasure to have you as our 'guest' Lord and Lady of Abbotsford for those few days! (And thanks also for sharing your fine Skye ales, and donating yr travel guides to our library!) Your review is very much appreciated, and all the v. best with everything back in the States... Marianne x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachael M
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent !”
Reviewed 24 March 2016 for a stay in December 2015

Very kindly invited by my Katie - had a fantastic week over the Christmas period. Couldn't fault it apart from no outside tap to hose the dogs down..... It was very wet !!!! A massive thanks to all concerned

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Mar 2016
Hi there, Rachael, Many thanks for your review! And I'm pleased to say that we've now made plans to be even more dog-friendly for future guests... Our newly improved facilities (for up to 3 well-behaved dogs!) include a basement seating area where dogs and owners can relax together, a 'doggie wash station' with towels, in the lower courtyard, and two lovely large wicker dog beds for those who prefer to bring a bit less clobber with them... Thanks again for reviewing us and hope to see you again some time (B&B is always a good 'stand-by' option...)! Yours aye, Marianne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
schofield...
Chorley, Lancashire
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Don't hesitate - book... You won't regret it!!”
Reviewed 15 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We were a group of family and friends, from aged 10 to aged 56.. all together to celebrate my 40th birthday. On arrival I was so impressed, every corner, every door opened just showed how amazing this place is. There was nothing missing, nothing else needed. The kitchens, living rooms, bedrooms, bathrooms are amazing... A well, a Victorian flushing toilet, drying room, two dishwashers, heated stone floors. This place just kept on giving. The bedrooms and bathrooms are huge!! No one was disappointed. No expense had been spared. Marianne is helpful and a pleasure to speak and deal with. We all had an amazing time and no one wanted to leave. Sir Walter Scott holds a piece of my heart, this man was incredible.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Nov 2015
Thank you so much for your really kind words, Sarah. I'm sorry I wasn't around when you left, but just to reiterate we loved having you all to stay and are really glad you left recharged and inspired. (Yup, surprising as it may seem on first appearances, Scott is definitely 'the Man'!) Next time - just make sure you can do the 'three nights for two'!! ;-) All the v. best, Marianne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AThomas28...
New York City, New York
2 reviews
“SCOTTISH CROWN JEWEL DISCOVERED!”
Reviewed 1 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

So it turns out Walter Scott's home at Abbotsford actually has a wing where rooms can be rented. It was built by Scott's family so they had somewhere to retreat to when Scott's fame produced an endless stream of visitors to the house. It's lovely, and in keeping with the main building, with period bathrooms, library, billiard room etc...

We had our very pleasant overnight stay in September, with a personal tour of the wing when we arrived from the lady looking after the place, who made us a superb breakfast the next morning, while also providing a lot of history on the author and the house.

A tour of the house itself is an interesting hour, and a new visitor centre up the hill provides more background on Scott himself. We were not on any organised tour and I don't think we suffered any. Rather the opposite.

Getting there was an easy taxi from the new rail station at Tweedbank, and in the evening we walked along the river to Melrose, which was also very nice - an hour and a half along the mainly flat, marked path along the pretty river.

Recommended for a better paced visit to a wonderfully historic home.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melvin G
Berwick-upon-Tweed, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absorbing history, affordable luxury and astonishing service.”
Reviewed 1 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

The combination of Scottish literary history, luxurious and beautiful surroundings and homely yet world class service made our stay at Abbotsford utterly magical.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing