We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (362)
Filter reviews
362 results
Traveller rating
196
103
36
16
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
196
103
36
16
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bar lunch restaurant menu residents lounge booked a table traditional hotel border town staff were friendly and efficient rooms are comfortable superb food sunday lunch duck the sticky toffee pudding lovely town family run scottish borders open fire stayed two nights
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 362 reviews
Reviewed 12 March 2018

Would highly recommend Burts Hotel for a short break in the Borders. We loved the town of Melrose and would definitely return.

Our room on the first floor was spacious and comfortable with a super king-size bed. Dinner each evening in the bar was extremely good. We also enjoyed the extensive range of options at breakfast all of which can be recommended.

Staff were friendly and efficient. All in all a wonderful short break.

Thank you.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2018 via mobile

Located in Central Melrose, Burts Hotel provides an ideal location for exploring the rich history of the surrounding area, being a short walk from Tweedbank Railway station and having ample parking. I stayed in a small single room at the front of the hotel. The room was reasonably appointed and furnished, although it did feel a little tired in places. It could certainly do with a little redecoration and improving the speed of the hot water supply and the intensity of the shower. Despite this for the £69 per night price, the room represented good value, particularly as breakfast was included. The breakfast was top draw. Set in the restaurant towards the back of the hotel, the tables were lined beautifully and the service was discrete to match. The breakfast contained several options including cereal and continental pastries. I went for the Full Scottish Breakfast on 2 occasions and was not disappointed. The good sized portion of bacon, sausage and egg among other tasty morsels provided a hearty start to any day of walking and exploring. The ingredients were clearly locally sourced on the whole as the depth of flavour and taste from each component was significant. Overall Burts provides a good place to stay in the borders, representing good value for both the room and breakfast.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Ross2W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2018

My husband and I stayed at Burt’s Hotel to celebrate his birthday. We arrived on a cold, snowy February day and were greeted by a nice fire and a warm welcome. Although our room was on the 2nd floor it was spacious and comfortable. A large bath and plenty of hot water (which we needed after a long walk). We ate in the main restaurant each evening and the food was excellent. The service was efficient and friendly. My husband particularly enjoyed the full cooked breakfast. Would highly recommend Burt’s Hotel.

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Sophie444Stafford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2018

We've stayed at Burt's Hotel on a number of occasions.....but it's been a while. Pleased to say that we enjoyed the weekend from the moment we were welcomed on arrival. The staff were always available and helpful when needed, the room was comfortable and the food in the restaurant was delicious. We'll definitely need to visit more often.

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndyML63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2018

Stayed two nights here, winter offer dinner B&B 73 quid each per night. Decent value (though we did add on a few drinks each night) impeccable service and lovely surroundings. Well worth the trip from Edinburgh.

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank EH12_Graeme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eildons3, Owner at Burt's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2018

Thank you. Glad you enjoyed your visit. N

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews